We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bentota Beach Hotel - Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bentota Beach Hotel - Awesome”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Bentota Beach Hotel is designed by Sri Lanka's famous architect Geoffrey Bawa and stands testimony to his style of Architecture. The Hotel has a very unique appeal to it in terms of its architectural style. The Reception, Dining & Bar areaa are all around an interal central rectangular water body which acts as the hotels central courtyard.
The pool area is between the Hotel and the awesome Bentota Beach and is set amidst large lush green lawns and various other faura & fauna. There is direct acess to the beach from this area.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the ground level have access to an outer small sitting area which directly opens ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishvajeet_Patil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Bentota Beach Hotel. The resort is a landmark property and rightly stated by you a testament to Geofferey Bawa's unique style of architectural design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    518
    227
    96
    70
See reviews for
476
524
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

For our honeymoon we knew we wanted to be away longer than just a week but it was too expensive to stay on longer on our first destination of Kuramathi in the Maldives and so opted for Sri Lanka to get alittle culture. We arrived at around 3pm in the Columbo Airport after an hours flight from Male. This airport was a lot bigger and intimidating than Male in the Maldives not as big as like Charles de gaulle or anything but bigger.

Outside I wanted to have a smoke and this army man walked up to us with a somewhat im cool and intimidating attitude – we however thought afterwards maby he was checking to see what I was smoking incase it was like dope or summit, as we read taking any drugs into sri lanka was punishable by death (scary stuff)

Then we were taken to our wee bus with 3 other people were there were these guys taking our bags and putting them on the bus then practically demanding, for some reason, English pound coins they didn’t seem to want their own currency and all I had was 50p, though he did spot a 5pound note in my purse which being from northern Ireland we noticed in airport, was useless as it wasn’t an English note and therefore couldn’t change it, imagine trying to explain that to this fella.

Now if like us, you are coming from another hot country do not assume like I did you should wear shorts and a vest because the wee bus was air conditioned and I was freezing.

Also be warned from the airport to Bentota Beach Hotel is a 3 hour maybe even 4 hour drive and the driving style over threr was one of many scary things a lot of heavy breaking and driving into oncoming traffic, although they do move for each other but it was crazy.

Also what scared us alittle mainly on our journey to hotel was the presence of Army, which seemed to be everywhere and the lack of countryside, it seemed like each town met one after the other at the beginning I remember thinking jeese what town are we in now after driving for an hour and a half only to be told by driver we are now on the outskirts of Columbo that place is huge and scary.

We finally arrived at our hotel when it was dark, we wern’t too long before we got to our room as we were the only ones checking in. Also because we were all inclusive we were given these like wrist bands to wear for the duration like a hospital wrist tag, which we hated. The hotel seemed nice but after the scary journey to the hotel and seeing the shanty towns next to luxury hotels we just wanted to go home. So when we got to our room we didn’t care about the fact the mini bar was not in our all inclusive we cracked open some big bottles of Heiniken and started to chill.

The hotel room was beautiful lovely bathroom huge bed and a lovely balcony looking towards the ocean. At one point for some random reason the electricity cut out for maby 2 minutes while I was on the balcony

The next morning, our first official day we met with our rep who made us ease about the place alittle and as we weren’t staying very long organised a short half day trip for us the next day which was our last day, all other trips would have taken hours on a bus to get to and I certainly was not going there again.

On our first day we lounged around the pool which was lovely, quite deep but lovely. We then decided to book ourselves into the spa for a massage which we had never done before. We booked for 3 that afternoon and were told how much this was going to cost. We then went for a stroll on the beach which was lovely, wild, but lovely the time of year we went it wasn’t safe to swim in except maybe waist deep as told by the lifeguards on the beach who seemed lovely but talked for quite a long time which made us wonder if he after a tip just for talking to us? It seemed almost like everyone was tip hunting.

When we arrived for our spa appointment a lady approached us and asked are you on your honeymoon we said yes actually we are and she said well then your massages are free, we were well pleased.

We got the stress relieving massages and were in a room together. For such small girls giving the massages they sure could put pressure on you. At times I felt like telling them eah your seriously hurting me here especially when they pressed their elbow beside your spine and rolled up the length of your back towards your neck.
I thought crap these people are going to do more harm than good as I always have lower back pain as id told them but thankfully I was wrong these were just real massages. We walked out of there like our heads were floating and our backs didn’t exist I also had been having random spasms in my lower back during the honeymoon and after the massage didn’t have any more for nearly 2 weeks. Would definitely recommend as we thoroughly enjoyed this.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner was served in the restaurant and for every meal there was a buffet style dinner. Now normally I would be not one for buffet but this one in Bentota Beach actually wasn’t too bad a lot of the food was in some way spicy with curries etc and I cant remember if I ever got anything that wasn’t except for possibly at breakfast time. Most of the foods were actually lovely and there was soooo many different dishes to choose from oh also if your all inclusive – drinks like coke are not included.

On our last official day we got up for our half day trip hoping that it was definitely going to happen as usually they need 6 -8 people for these trips and so far the rep had only 4 but would see if he could have it organised with just 4 people. Luckily we got our wish and were on our way to collect other couple at another hotel and on to our Boat trip up the river, the starting point for this was only 25mins down the road which was another relief.

On the boat trip we seen lots of wildlife, water monitors, big lizards, monkeys in the trees, kingfisher eagles and others. Cover up well on this boat as it can be VERY hot under the sun before they put the canopy up. My favourite thing on the boat trip was going under the mangrove wherever possible. After a while this narrow normal river opened up to what looked like a huge lake that had like 60something islands in it with whole communities living on them. We also got to stop on one of the islands – Cinnamon Island we were shown among different things how cinnamon sticks are made.

Back on the river the boat guy who could speak English to us and german to another lady stopped to point out big jelly fish next thing he lifts it out of the water, it was blue and alien looking, the guy who took us on the boat was brilliant.
On our way back from the river trip we got to stop at a turtle hatchery which was brill, I was handed 2 baby 1 day old turtles and then again with 3day old ones then a big mama at like 6 years old who weighted a ton.

For the rest of our last day in Bentota Beach we spent it in the swimming pool and sun bathing. There were little chipmunks running around at one point as I was reading my book I caught sight of something and assumed it was a chipmunk before looking up and seeing this huge like iguana or whatever it was called it was massive and just thumped along and walked right under my sun lounger and went on ahead about its business hehe.

On leaving Bentota Beach our impression of the place and the people had completely changed from when we had arrived. They were genuinely friendly and not just always after a buck and hotel and the grounds were really nice. Looking around again at the poverty on the way back to the airport, we even had a different opinion, with lots of children running around playing and everything, poor or not a lot of these people well the children anyway were rarely without a smile on their faces. It is still quite a shock when driving past going from luxury to bang there’s poverty again.

Bentota Beach is definitely a nice hotel to stay in and the day trip we went to was great, however I don’t think I would go back all because of the length of travel on the bus from the airport. Originally we were going there to travel around to elephant parks and such but after our arrival journey, we just couldn’t stomach it. We also got the impression that this place was more for an older crowd as for example they put on bingo in the main bar on our 2nd night there.

Interesting experience for sure and lots of culture to be viewed and after calming down I did enjoy myself, but I honestly don’t think I could hack the driving to and from the airport ever again and don’t suppose I would hurry back. However, you should also know we were probably spoilt by the island we were in before going it was an island a mile long select all inclusive was pretty much everything you could eat and drink with a villa on the beach!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your comprehensive review of Bentota Beach Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed with our group. Loved the stay here as staff is very friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Resort Manager.

We had party in the evening gala dinner at their cruise boat which came back to hotel by 10.30pm. We requested them to give a space to party further and got the space till 1.00pm. Later on hanged in a nice cozy place till 4.00pm.

Food is good and location is best. U can also enjoy water sports at bentota river.

Area of improvement is banquet hall lighting as it is very dark.

Room Tip: Take the room at beginning of the corridor as you get a better view of sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAY144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you for your review, it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, and that the staff at the resort were able to accomodate the requests. Thank you for your feedback about the lighting in the conference hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Reached Bentota Beach hotel on the evening of 3rd Nov. The hotel is a beautiful property laid out on a vast expanse of green (the largest gardens we had seen amongst Sri Lankan hotels) with a lake on one side and the beach on the other

Positives :
Staff are very friendly and warm. The staff who got our luggage, Mr Deepal was very courteous.
The beach is very clean and safe except for the odd ‘guide’ promising to take you for a boat ride or sightseeing which can be best avoided.
The garden or courtyard is spread across a very large expanse and is very well maintained, you can lounge under the sun on the many recliners laid out there playing with the many squirrels running about there.
The swimming pool is very well maintained and fairly large.
The restaurant has a generous spread with a variety of food including continental, indian, sri Lankan and an array of sweets.
A lot of sporting activities can be arranged through the hotel at the sea or the lake. They also have a clubhouse which can be used for a variety of sports though all of them are chargeable.

Areas of improvement :
The room was a bit dated, though clean, could do with a little bit of refurbishment.

Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shara_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review and comment about the rooms, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Bentota Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

a marvellous hotel u can go here for a honeymoon a family trip anything wow superb is the least word we can speak of this hotel we have superb restaurant,bar,gym,beach,swimming everything we want a beautiful expirience all through

Room Tip: rooms everywhere are superb but choose one closer to the lobby and reception area so that u can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishna16in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Bentota Beach resort is a great place to be for a holiday. The view from the rooms weather sea facing or lagoon facing both are awsome. You wake up to spectacular morning. The property is very well maintained and the staff very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is a bit risky for kids. braffast is generally a buffet and sufficient choices for all. The food could be spicy for most of the people. The king rooms are good and can take in extra bed. It is self-sufficient resort... and good for relaxing and holiday.

Room Tip: opt for king sizes room if travelling with kids.. standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pushpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review on Bentota Beach Hotel, your comments on the food being spicy has been noted;thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We just came back from Sri lanka after staying at the Bentota beach hotel.We found it on a web site called Island Escapes,it was all inclusive for £770 each with transfers at £22 each way to and from the airport.What a cracking place,you take a 5 minute boat ride to get to it as it has a lagoon on one side with the beautiful Indian ocean on the other not 2 mins walk from your room.The beach is superb and totally empty for miles.pure White sand and the warmest sea you will ever feel.The rooms are simple but nice and clean,don't expect the quality of the Hilton but the showers are good.The service is very good and everyone is very friendly as is the whole country really.The food is good with lots of choice,drinks are easily available throughout the day,liked the tea and cake at 4pm each day.I have been to a lot of far off countries and hotels and this is up there with the best.
One downside,the travel.God.The transfer was 3 hours by car,it's like travelling through London for 3 hours,fortunately they are opening a motorway in the next 2 months so it would then be a smooth hour,we only did a local tour as the elephants were 6 hours away.
My advice is go,you will love it and the country.One more thing you don't get hassled for tips or by touts or beggers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing