We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning hotel and country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Devon, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply stunning hotel and country”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the Bentota for 7 days to begin our honeymoon and moved on to the Maldives.
When we arrived we were exhausted and the only disappointment was that our travel agent had not communicated the honeymoon deal and it took some effort to get the upgrades we were expecting - the reception staff are easily the least friendly staff in the hotel.
We eventually got a river view 2nd floor room which was amazing, to the left we could see the sea so we were very lucky. The room are fine but the bathroom especially shower needs a little refurb but nothing awful! The hotel itself is gorgeous, the layout great. Breakfast had plenty of options, in fact for all meals it is the best all inclusive buffet we have ever had! The pool is stunning and even though it wasnt high season was very warm. The beach again is amazing. I must recommend the spa (couples amore package is amazing) and the river boat cruise!! I would definetly go back to the hotel it really started the honeymoon well.

Room Tip: A room with a view is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your review on our resort, we are pleased to find that you enjoyed your stay and tried out the spa packages on offer. We hope you would return to celebrate your 1st year anniversary with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    520
    228
    96
    70
See reviews for
478
526
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed here last year..For the price we paid we thought it was a wonderful hotel. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, everything you can expect from a 4star hotel. Food variety is good , especially breakfast was very nice. Rooms have balconies, which is very nice if you want to have some quiet time in your room after dinner..For day time, you have the choice of beach or hotel pool. We chose to swan in the sea but used the hotel grounds to sunbathe. Lovely grass grounds..and even better, free wireless internet even when sunbathing..
Bentota is 10 minutes walk away, so this hotel is also great for a cultural visit.
I'd definitely go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your response, it was a pleasure having you at Bentota Beach Hotel and we hope that you will visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had a great stay here for 7 days at the end of our Sri Lankan holiday. Lovely room & excellent breakfast, especially the egg hoppers! Good restaurants locally - in particular the Luthmin River hotel (first left across the bridge & look down the side roads til you see the red lights hanging outside), and Golden Grill.

The bar service was very disorganised and slow, and I agree with a previous review that the staff were more concerned with admin than service. The service at the pool bar was abysmal - slow & surly.

It was puzzling why draught beer was not available to guests on a non-inclusive package, although when we asked, efforts to change this were made.

The room boys were great, but our impression was spoilt when they turned up the day before our departure to "say goodbye", which actually meant "hang around until we get a tip". We would have left one anyway but to have them knock on your door effectively asking for money was poor.

If there were more umbrellas by the pool and some umbrellas on the beach the outdoors would have been perfect. It was lovely to lie in the gardens and see kingfishers, squirrels, lizards etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelTedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your response, and for the pointers that you have given to improve our service. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at out resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from October 4-8, 2011 and it was a good experience. The staff was very friendly and the facilities were pretty good. The beach was fantastic and so was the pool. We ate some meals at the hotel and went out to eat at nearby restaurants for the local experience. Make sure that you go for a walk across the bridge, and visit the nearby town. It is a 10 minute walk and worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you hoiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Just returned from spending a week here. The rooms very lovely and the room boy very obliging. We found the air con quite noisy.
If you enjoy curry, spicy food and pasta then the food is great. Unfortunately I don't so choice was very limited. However the puddings were very good. Couldn't understand why the coca cola was included in all inclusive but diet cola not! Ended up drinking a lot of soda (mineral water).
I found the reception staff totally useless and not very friendly. The rest of the staff were fine except one waiter who objected me taking two small bananas to eat later (we were all inclusive (three meals plus afternoon tea) and being diabetic I sometimes need food mid morning).
We paid our bill for laundry and emails the night before because we were leaving very early next morning. At 5.15 we heard a knock on the door. I was still lying on the bed. A 'boy' came in and started to check the minibar. Two mini tubs of Pringles were missing (not sure when they disappeared. I just know we didn't have them). He then proceeded to search through the wastebin and then lock the fridge. I think this possibly was a scam. He hoped we'd pay him for them and then the Pringles would miraculously re-appear after we left.
New visitors should beware when visiting the town. The boys who invite you into the shops do not work there. Whatever the price you pay for anything is double what it should be (the boy gets half). On one occasion I went into an apothecary and a boy inside the shop asked me what I wanted and somebody gave him the item to show me. My friend had bought the same thing the day before and was charged half what this boy quoted. I then realised he didn't even work in the shop so I left without buying anything. These boys follows you along the street trying to engage in conversation and are extremely difficult to get away from (if not impossible). It was easier to stay in the hotel compound.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodfoodloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write in your review. Thank you for bringing to our attention the comment about the room boy that checked the mini baar prior to check out, I could assure you that it is not our policy to disturb guests to perform the routine check ups, however if you could write to us on reservations@johnkeellshotels with more information on the said incident we could better understand the situation and ensure that it does not happen in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel sits in on the beach with large grounds, a great free form shaped pool with rocks embedded into the pool and a large lawn with loungers scattered about so you don’t have to sit too close to other guests, if you’re going for a relaxing holiday.

The rooms in the main part of the hotel have a great sea view and ours had a balcony, king-sized bed and shower room. The bed was comfortable and had a good pillow selection; lovely flowers were presented during the turn-down service. The TV is a little small and dated, but has plenty of movie channels and cricket of course. The air-conditioning was also welcome after a day in the sun.
We only went on B&B basis as we liked to have choice of going out, and there are restaurants outside of the hotel like the Golden Grill, Susanthas and Aida only a few minutes by foot away. The breakfast buffet was always well stocked and they do great fresh egg hoppers and omelettes for both the Asian and western palettes.

We did try the a la carte restaurant downstairs which did food to a very high standard and ranging from rs800 -1500 per dish which was reasonable although meals outside will range from rs500-1200, but the service and atmosphere are worth the extra in my opinion. Also being indoors is good when its mosquito season.

The only thing that let it down was our check-in; this had been booked over 3 months back with our arrival time clearly stated as 9am. Our room wasn’t ready and as it’s a 3hour car ride from the airport, all we really wanted was to lie down. However, making the most of our holiday, we changed in the loos by reception and lay out on the sun loungers, hotel staff found us and escorted us to our rooms at about 11am.

Quick tip for those travellers who like to do independent travel, there is a bus stop across the road that offers a regular bus service down to Galle (by air-con minivan less than £1! State run red buses halve that!).

Room Tip: From the main block as the other side rooms will be slightly obstructed views and low-down
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priscilla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for your review on Bentota Beach Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had a great holiday at the resort. We apologise for the delay in checking in, thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

i went with a group of doctors from kerala as a part of there incentive trip, as their tour manager. starting from the welcome at the lobby it was a fine arrey of hospitality they have shown, We took breakfast and dinner at the same hotel and that too was excellnt ,becouse most of the local srilankan food is similar to that of kerala. we got puttu and appam the traditionals foods of kerala there....

Room Tip: Nothing to choose, all the rooms are sea facing or river facing, with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationatkerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Bentota Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing