We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL AND SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Bentota
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOTEL AND SERVICE”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We Stayed here in June for both a holiday and to get married.. I cannot fault the hotel or service received. The manager of this hotel is very helpful and approachable. Marlon is brilliant he helped us with any questions we had in regards to the wedding, Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is brilliant, plenty of choice and variety, the grounds are beautiful as is the beach. The rooms are wonderful , big, clean and we had a room over looking the pool and you could see the beach.. The wedding day came and the only day that was a monsoon was the wedding morning!!! The wedding was at 3oclock so luckily time for it to clear up, which it did.. It stopped raining but the humidity was almost unbearable!!! The wedding it self was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. The ceremony was lovely, the only thing I would say is to research the meaning of everything as we did not have a clue as to what was going on, at one point we said " Are we married yet"? Its my fault I should have looked in to it but also we should have been told, I have since looked this up, as we had to pass leaves, and a coconut was smashed etc and at the time not knowing what they all meant was very confusing. It was an amazing place to get married and will recommend it to anyone wishing to do so.. The Elephant came to our wedding and we rode to the beach on her! The only thing we didnt get her name which would be nice to know.. Shalini the wedding co-ordinator was great and she to made sure the day went well for us. We have got some great pictures and dvd all to remember our great stay at Bentota Beach hotel. We met some great people whilst we were there to make our wedding day even more special.. sorry for the delay in Reviewing your hotel, but as you can imagine married life has been hectic.. Any one mad enough to use a Gym whilst on holiday (as we were), the gym at Bentota Beach is more than adequate, It has everything you need to keep yourself ticking over, and what with all the food you will be eating here you will certainly need to up them reps!!! All in all a great place for anyone lucky enough to go to Sri Lanka, we were only here a week as we left to do a week in the Maldives also, but we met a couple who were there for 3 weeks and not once got bored. Have a great time and just know this HOTEL IS THE BEST!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nixnorfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    523
    229
    96
    71
See reviews for
480
529
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed here in July 2011, was pretty disappointed with the quality of the hotel grounds and rooms. The lobby looks great and so does the restaurant but that's all. We stayed in a delux room, and it was pretty basic room. The room is not very inviting, its old and the furniture is old too. The bathroom was the worst (looks more like a 3 star bathroom). IT was dirty, had mold/grime between the tiles and the metal bin was rusty.
One other major bad point is the swimming pool area. The grounds around the pool are un-kept. Weeds are long grass growing near pool and mud everywhere on the ground. Swimming pool area needs URGENT renovation. Please make it look nice and inviting, instead of weeds, uncut grass and mud everywhere.

On the plus side, there are a lot of activities to do at the hotel, such as water sports, great access to beach, spa and other things. The staff was very friendly as well. We asked for a DVD player to be brought up to our room and it was provided very quickly.

If the rooms in the hotel, swimming pool and grounds were renovated to be modern it would be pretty good place.

We stayed in heritence ahungalle the night before and it was so much better and cheaper too! We will go back to heritence ahungalle over bentota beach hotel any day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmx001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our resort. The points that you have highlighted about the bathrooms, and swimming pool area have been noted and we will take urgent action with this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Location is just fine (at the beginning of Bentota). After a shuttle from the airport to Katunayake bus stand, then a bus (#187) from there to Pettah bus stand in Colombo (also close to Fort railway station) and then another bus (# 2) from there to Bentota - we finally got off right opposite the hotel. This took us about 3 hrs early in the morning. Enjoyed the morning sights on the road.

Hotel is lovely, got an early check-in, rooms are pretty - ours had a partial view of the river, beds are comfy, pool is gorgeous and warm with sunbeds around. Beach is a 3 min walk from the pool - albeit rough while we were there - apparently great during season (nov - apr). We opted for B & B - breakfast was always delicious with the standard international fare and local dishes like string hoppers, aapam, puttu with yummy chicken/fish/potato curries etc. Service is super - staff are very friendly and ever helpful. We were pleasantly surprised when the hotel decorated our room and made us a special cake for our anniversary - was a nice gesture. Speed of room service could definitely use improvement. Talk to Chatura at information for advice during your trip. Be wary of sandflies in the evening near the pool and beach area - carry mosquito repellent just in case.

Don't get hassled by the vendors outside the hotel - chances are you may find one you like to use. Negotiate well. Ajit (usually outside the hotel) took us on the Bentota river cruise which was beautiful. The highlight of our trip was when we rented a scooter from Nuwan (can get his details from the shop right opp the hotel on the main road) and rode down south (60 km one way) to see the rest of the attractions up until Galle & Unawatuna. We loved the gorgeous beach at Unawatuna and would recommend checking it out for swimming and good food at various restaurants there. We also stopped at Akurala beach on route - frequented by locals for some swimming (reef breaks the waves here). Roads are fantastic, directions easily navigable by tourists and we had a safe experience riding back at night as well.

There are liquor shops, supermarkets, money exchanges if you go over the bridge to Aluthgama - about 7 min walk. The Bentota railway station is 5 mins walking distance from the hotel as well. We tried restaurants outside the hotel - our best experience was at the beautiful Diya Sisila (Can call Nandana, tell him what you like and he'll pick you up and drop you back after a personalized meal - can carry your own alcohol as well) and Malli's seafood restaurant (3 mins away). Most restaurants are definitely not cheap. Picked up a local number from Dialog (1000 lkr incl talktime) at the airport which worked cheap. Tuk-tuks on the main road will negotiate better. When you're out and about - negotiate & keep a close eye on your belongings. We found that souvenirs were cheaper in some places here than in Colombo. We picked up some nice fridge magnets from the Charles's shop (below Malli's - look for a castrol sticker).

Feel free to write to us if you have questions or need further details.

Cheers
Jabb

Room Tip: 1. We booked through agoda.com & got a better rate. 2. Ask for river/sea view on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Justabeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
It is evident that you had a great holiday in Bentota and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and our famed morning breakfast buffet. Your comments on the room service timing has been noted,thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope you come back during the season to experience the calmer seas and the golden coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st petersburg
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

very nice hotel with very friendly staff and good cuisine, loved the national dishes, very tasty and good variety
garden with sunbeds large enough to find a silent space for yourself. beach just some footstep away and guarded entrance to compound, ocean was nice, good trips throughout sri lanka available.
we liked it a lot,
only drawback the sandfleas at the beach , better to use some lotion

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AH1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Bentota Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 weeks in Jun 2011
Wow Wow Wow,
Views were spectacular,
Rooms were great even with mosquito repellent plug ins just in case,
Food was great and im a fussy eater,
Staff helpful and friendly,
Pool clean and hot ie 32 c at 8am, not bad
Gardens huge and beautiful
Boat trips nicely priced, so much so we went 4 times ,
Overall amazing, so much so we are going back next year to get married.
To be honest we thought we were living in a zoo, what with squirrels(chipmunks),chameleons monitors, gehko and crocodiles 2 minutes away by boat.
There is plenty of shade if you need to get out of the sun under the palm trees in the huge gardens
Thankyou Bentota Beach for a memorable stay.
Andy & Andrea Norfolk UK

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andreak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at the resort and we look forward to hosting your wedding at Bentota Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. Food is excellent and accomodation clean and comfortable. You will only get wine in the restaraunt on All Inclusive, not the bars. This is the only down side and the reason I have marked with a four rating rather than a five.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YalaVillage, Shehara Anthony - Public Relations Executive at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I found the staff so nice and kind when we just arrived a waitress came and served us juice and we where very kindly showed to our room we have two kids and they kindly put another bed in for us so it was a triple king sized bed the pool was extremely clean the pool attendant was super kind on the day before we left bentota the pool attendant tought my daughter how to swim and we had dinner with the manger and my daughter loves roti So they kindly ordered it for her breakfast and they got my family some present but it was such a lovely exprience my daughters loved it we will definitely go back 

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Partyrockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
823 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,632 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Property: Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing