We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mihin Villa(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$20
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Susanthas(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$30
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$69
$58
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,545)
Filter reviews
2,545 results
Traveler rating
1,430
728
246
88
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,430
728
246
88
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantchinese restaurantjiva spatease barsea view restaurantsri lankasea facingseafoodmain restaurantindian oceanexecutive chefbeautiful locationelephant orphanagecolombo airportmemorable stayprivate beachspecial mention
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,085 - 2,090 of 2,545 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Enjoy this beautiful hotel and the sorroundings. worth for a few days vacation. also great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shaili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I have been meaning to write this review for a year. We stayed at the Taj in April 2008 to get married. Reading previous reviews before going we upgraded our booking to an Orchid room (No 612) which is more like a suite. This is must if your going to this hotel. The rooms are clean and well furnished and have superb views out to sea and the evening sunsets. We found the staff so helpful and kind, special mention must go to Nishaka Wijesekera the wedding co ordinator. She made our dreams come true and made the whole ceremony seamless and very special. As we went in April it tends to rain about 4pm every day so I recommend getting married in the morning as the weather is better. In the evening we hired the Shack within the grounds of the hotel. The Shack can cater for up to 20 which was the same number as our party but they told us that they wouldn't normally take a booking of 20 as they need 3 chefs and only had 2 available. But the hotel bent overbackwards to ensure they had 3 chefs for the wedding night and they cooked us the most amazing meal we all said we had ever eaten. We all gave the chefs a standing ovation at the end. The night finished with mine and my wife's names spelt out in fireworks and our bed decorated with petals. The Sri Lankan people are so friendly and travel around is easy with the Tuk Tuks which are great fun. We found some local resturants very quiet even closed but they were always willing to open and we always had lovely food, though they did struggle to cope with a large group of 20 showing up all at once. You just have to be patient and go with the flow, it's normally well worth the wait. We found a lovely resturant down by a river slightly off the beaten track about 10 mins by tuk tuk from our hotel, sorry I dont remember the name. We had our night before the wedding there and they put on dancers, fire eaters and fireworks for us, truly very special. They even made their own spicey chutney which we were able to get a jar each and bring home. We will definitely be going back and would would definitely recommend the Taj.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzz6872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Having read the tripadvisor reviews we were a little worried about the hotel. However, we really enjoyed our stay and were not disppointed with the hotel at all. The pool area is nicely laid out with plenty of beds and nice views of the beach. Also, nice and quiet and relaxing even though they do have a small childrens pool but this is near the jacuzzi which nicely keeps the noise away. Pool bar good, staff keen to layout beds and provide towels. Room was kept very clean, plenty of towel changes and a mini bar where you can keep your own drinks cool! Worth doing this as some of the drinks are a bit expensive for Sri Lanka.

As for eating, the buffet restaurant we were not very impressed with - but if you have kids or like buffet food then I suppose it was ok. The Oriental restauarant was fantastic! A nice place to dress up and be spoilt. We had king prawns and lobster which both were really really good. Wine is about £20 a bottle.

The area outside the hotel is scattered with restaurants that the tuk tuks can wiz you round to. The Amal has great lobster but also cooked us the best Sri Lankan curry we had all week. Best to let them know the day before if you want this.else you have to wait an hour. Also worth mentioning is the Wunderbar, that have turtles to view - bit touristy and more modern than other placest. The Golden Grill has a good reputation but sadly for us it was closed as Sri Lanken New Year.

Our favourite for lunch is to walk onto the beach, turn right and the next hotel along has really good pizzas that they make in front of you which you can also take away. Beer very cheap to!

Spa is a very nice relaxing experience.


Overall, bathroom a little tired but really ok - lots of hot water, nice comfy beds, plenty of clean towels, really good service, would definately recommend the Taj Exotica.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MACWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

An excellent Taj Property, right next to the beach. Its a long drive approx 3 hours from the Colombo Airport, having good security. Most of the rooms are spacious and sea-facing with a balcony. Good arrangements for sun bathing. Excellent sea food at a reasonable price at the sea food shack.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My wife, 14yo son and myself had a short stay of 4 nights at the Taj Exotica and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a 3rd floor sea-view room looking out over the beautiful and very clean beach which is perfect for swimming.
The quality of the hotel and the facilities was more than acceptable as was the food at breakfast. The seafood and chinese restaurants were top quality and the service and friendliness of the staff was always top quality.
Prices to dine at the resort was as you would expect when staying at somewhere like this, cheaper and great quality dining options are only a short tuk-tuk ride away.
We chose to stay around the resort and beach but if you want to keep yourselves busy there is lots of tourist/sports things to do.
We would recommend the Taj to couples for romance and families with children of any age.
p.s. the hawkers on the beach are very polite and will happily except your 'no thankyou' if you treat them as you would like to be treated. Be polite.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redm00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews