We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mihin Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,541)
Filter reviews
2,541 results
Traveler rating
1,427
728
245
88
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,427
728
245
88
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantchinese restaurantjiva spatease barsea view restaurantsri lankasea facingseafoodmain restaurantindian oceanexecutive chefbeautiful locationelephant orphanagecolombo airportmemorable stayprivate beachspecial mention
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,090 - 2,095 of 2,541 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2009

This hotel was comfortable and friendly. The gardens and pool immaculate. Atlhough the sea could be rough at times the beach was beautiful and we were not too much troubled by traders.

The hotel food was good on the whole with a choice of restuarants. The staff are excellent and make a real effort to ensure you enjoy your stay.

The only downside was the very congested roads which put us off travelling inland to some of the cultural centres. That and both our credit cards were scammed - one at the airport on leaving, so if you are using cards I suggest you contact your provider on return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

From the minute you enter the light and airy entrance hall, you know you will enjoy it. Staff are professional, but friendly and helpful, rooms are spotless (get as high a room as you can afford, to give an uninterrupted sea view: they are virtually all sea-facing, but can't see sea on the low levelsdue to trees/bushes lining the garden edge directly on beach). The main, buffetstyle restaurant is very good, and the Chinese restaurant is truly excellent. The Spa is good and, generally, a wonderful place to spend a few days at the end of a tour around the island. The best in Bentota beach, by a mile. We hope to return

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Llahsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

Positives -- Great location, nice clean beach, love the big pool, lovely herbal bathsoaps in the rooms, the young Indian interns from the Taj India are very very polite and super efficient, friendly staff at the sunken bar by the pool.
Negatives -- basic average rooms nowhere close to Taj standards, poor service by the pool attendants, rubbish buffet ( all 3 meals served at the main restaurant on full board package ) food quality is awful but not as bad as the food at the Taj Samudra in Colombo.
Dont expect Taj standards and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daytripper1on1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

When the read the reviews before we went I got worried. However we had a fantastic time. I booked it late and got a good deal on a half board basis, we learnt out there that people had paid alot more than we did on an B & B basis.

The food and drink in the hotel restaurants was expensive, double the price to the local restaurants but being half board we did not have this problem. The wine was working out in excess of £20 per bottle but even outside the hotel this only reduced to £10 so it is expensive to drink in Bentota. However people were buying wine from local shops and bringing it in and the hotel made no moan to cork it for them. We ate in the buffet each day on our half board basis which had enough of a selection for us to find something to eat every day. I only had curry once! It was not gourmet but still enjoyable and not an upset stomach amongst us. Our waiter was fantastic and couldnt have been more helpful and friendly - ask for Sanjayker when you get there! If you take a trip outside the golden grill is great - dont be fooled by the outside. Also we heard good reports on the wunderbar on the beach

We stayed in an Orchid room on the 6th floor which are meant to be superior rooms. We had no problem at all it was clean with plenty of room. I have seen plenty of comments about the bathrooms on here but ours was clean with a very powerful shower. It was small but how big do you need a bathroom to be??? If I had any critism of our bathroom I would say they need a lesson in grouting but thats it.

The balcony was small but for the 2 of us to sit on and watch the sun go down each day it was great. The views from the hotel are fantastic, the beach was spotless.

We were warned about beach sellers, and tuk tuk drivers hassling you. We were two females and were very apprehensive, but by being polite and carrying on our merry way we had no problems at all. most of them just seemed interested in having a chat, and i think a good tip is to go out without a bag, putting any money in a pocket so you can say you are not shopping just walking for exercise. They walked with us a little way offering their services for another day and then they just backed off!

You will be touted for trips by hotel staff, we went with Kuoni who we booked with who were slightly more expensive but it would appear worth the little extra and we can highly recommend the turtle sanctury for a visit.

The hotel is not perhaps a 5 star but i wouldnt definitely put it no lower than 4 with the amenities and location, i beautiful settings with great staff who offered us great service.

We had a fantastic 8 days which was totally relaxing, as the hotel is quiet, not for families of big adventurers but if you want to chill then i would recommend it

so if you have booked dont panic - the holiday will be what you make it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We have just come back from 2 weeks at Taj Exotica. The hotel itself was lovely and the rooms clean and very well furnished. Staff could not have been more helpful. The pool area and the beach were fantastic and the pool guys brought you out mattresses and towels when you chose your lie out bed.

The down side was that we went all inclusive and got very fed up with the buffet every meal. Hubby doesn't like curries so he was even more fed up, we ended up going out some evenings for prawns! The Taj provided no entertainment as such in the evenings except for rather uninspiring music in the bar.

One of our party was a smoker and this meant that we had to sit outside as there is no smoking inside the hotel..There was no outside bar where you could meet people and chat and I feel that the Taj misses out there. In that sort of climate you want to make the most of the balmy evenings.

I would definitely go back to Sri Lanka again but not to the Taj. Bentota is a long way from some of the interesting places to see and involved a 2 day trip in most cases. Traffic is horrendous but great fun in a tuk tuk if you have nerves of steel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews