We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Nearby Hotels
$144
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mihin Villa(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$20
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,544)
Filter reviews
2,544 results
Traveler rating
1,429
728
246
88
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
728
246
88
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantchinese restaurantjiva spatease barsea view restaurantsri lankasea facingseafoodmain restaurantindian oceanexecutive chefbeautiful locationelephant orphanagecolombo airportmemorable stayprivate beachspecial mention
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 2,544 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks very nice. The room was big and functional, with quite little balcony. Service very good, and fast. Swimming pool well maintenance, nice choice of food. The hotel is worth recommendation. For the family with kids, are perfect- as a Taj they are very flexible and willing to prepare all the dishes for the baby due your instructions.
The only minus was, that outside hotel there is not much to do, do if you are planning to spend couple of days within the hotel facility only- Bentota is perfect for this purpouse.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for writing to us and sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for complimenting the hotel and its services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week with the whole family and even though i had the courtesy to write in advance they couldnt give us adjacent rooms.

decent rooms and the property is more 4 star than actually 5 star (the rebranding to Vivanta should have been a give away) however the staff more than make up for it.

Chef Sunny (Satyanarayan actually) was very courteous and seemed to be in every corner of the hotel which i guess is what an exec chef should do.

Food in the main coffee shop and the fine dining was very good. At the Shack which serves only freshly caught seafood it was absolutely divine while at the chinese restaurant it was downright awful - more sino-ludhiyana than actual Cantonese

the beach though is not crowded and absolutely lovely....simply unspoilt and worth the cost of rooms anyway.

Another thing that makes this unique is the towel art that the housekeepers make each day without fail..... the pig and the hanging monkey were the best


And finally when, oh lord WHEN will the management read the customer reviews and provide free wifi..... when you charge upwards of 200$ a room it cant be asking for much.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your views about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

First of all my sincere apologies for not being able to provide inter-connecting rooms fo your choice. During high occupancies it is sometimes difficult to accommodate requests however happy to note that you were given adjacent rooms.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed The Palms restaurant and the Shack - our seafood restaurant. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our Chinese Restaurant. We have a Chinese Chef who specializes in Schewan cuisine. I have informed the Chef about your observations.

Chef Satyanarayan is an asset to our organization and he takes great pride in ensuring that all the guests have a memorable stay with us. He is encouraged and delighted by your compliments and thanks you for the same.

We hope to resolve the WIFI issue soon and we thank you for your patience and understanding.

We thank you once again for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was excellent, and I must congratulate the manager Manoj Mathew.From the moment we stepped inside this modern ,friendly,and clean hotel we were treated extremely well and nothing to was too much trouble for the Manager and his lovely Staff. We loved the location, our room 603, the view, the restaurants, the bar,the spa, the pool, the room service and just about everything else. I have hesitation in recommending this hotel.It was our anniversary and they made the day very special for us. Special mentions must go to Vaishali Chatterjee the housekeeper and Sisil in the palm restaurant. We had a lovely stay thank you.

Room Tip: Our room 603 was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andersjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for choosing Vivanta by Taj Bentota and also for sharing your experiences about your recent stay with us. We were glad that we could be part of your Anniversary celebrations.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed the services and facilities at the hotel. Ms Vaishali Chatterjee adn Sisil were encouraged and delighted by your compliments and we thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Describing Beauty that too with Class is as difficult as walking on Water . Vevanta by taj is such a God's meeting point, where u get world class hospitality. yummy Indain foods with range of selctions, lightning fast room service. Good clean hotel, with individual balcony all faciing Sea. world class swiming pool. and a well trained, staff , they never let ur mind diveret , in the night the song of sea water keeps ur miind releax. if there is any award it should be given to the Taj Group for these Property. My text dictionry is virtually strugling how to pen down my feelings, if u want to enjoy , releax, once in life time should visit Bentota and Stay at Taj, i would be definatly planning for next year again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: try to stay at second floor. so u are more nerar to beach and swiming pool .
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suyash2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you also for your generous compliments. My team of Associates, Managers & Chefs take great pride in striving to provide the highest level of service at all times.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Vivanta by Taj (used to be called Taj hotel & resort few years ago) is located in very good location at Bentota sealine.

This resort offers all you need and wish to have whenever you decide to spend a vacation on one of the best beaches in the world, it offers a typical Indian theme that makes you feel as if you like in Taj Mahal in India and it gives you the real meaning of its brand name.

hotel facilities are very good and you can find whatever you are looking for, the staff are well experienced and they are very helpful and kind.

one of the remarkable features is the Spa, that is located outside the hotel near the beach (still in side the hotel land). that offers you a unique Indian therapy and message that is managed by well experienced certified physiotherapist that sets with you and explain every single feature and service provided there with a great nice smile.

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms/suites
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AK-Abouasleba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your views through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our hotel and its services.

Our internationally acclaimed JIVA SPA is enjoyed by most of our guests and we thank you for your compliments.

Thank you once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews