We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taj Bentota - defining relaxation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Taj Bentota - defining relaxation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

After a rough road trip, we were delighted to reach tis beautiful hotel and immediately immersed oursleves into the Taj at Bentota. Five star on their extraordinary service! We were staying in their "Deluxe Delight" room and on request, without any hassle and, promptly we were shifted to the "Premium Temptation Suite"- this was remarkable for us as the cricket Legend, Sachin Tendulkar had stayed in this suite recently (a package offering scenery and filling my cricket fever)!
We enjoyed the tranquility of the beach whilst our stay in the hotel along with a couple of treatments at the friendly spa - true indulgence!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Logs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble of sending us your feedback about the recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

The location of this hotel is unique and we do get patrons like you who come back to this hotel year after year.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    616
    199
    78
    43
See reviews for
659
925
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel was quite simply the best we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. It’s as clean, well designed as classy as expected of a well established five star hotel but the staff were amazing.
Our journey there took over 24 hours with the run from Colombo airport taking nearly 4 hours (awful traffic and a poor road in from the expressway) but the welcome we received lifted our tired spirits. We were signed in by "Maduscar", a wonderfully friendly and professional member of the reception staff, who showed us to a beautiful room better I’m sure than the one we had booked. We got to know the reception staff from the many times they went so far out of their way to help us, thank you all.
The location is idyllic, palm trees and mangroves line a soft and clean sandy beach but the wonderful warm seas were quite rough while we were there. The flora and fauna of Sri Lanka are stunning but we loved this beach for the rare sea turtles that also enjoy it here and the lightening fast beach crabs constantly patrolling to catch some. The seas give up a generous and diverse harvest almost daily and we loved visiting the local fish market to watch it laid out as much as tasting it cooked in local syle, a first for me.
The hotel guests were predominantly a diverse mix of European and Arabic families and couples with Russian guests most numerous.
The food was diverse mix to suit all tastes but we found ourselves enjoying the excellent local and Indian cuisine almost every meal. My wife gave numerous compliments to the chef and we were taken aback when the restaurant manager "Sunny" organised cookery demonstrations by the highly qualified chefs, thank you all for that and we will think of you whenever we try to cook as well here.
We could write a much longer article praising everything we loved about our Honeymoon here but the main thing we remember will be the friendly and helpful staff in this highly organised and well run Hotel.

Warm regards and fond memories
Mr & Mrs Reynolds

Room Tip: All great but we loved our sea view balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Reynold,

Delighted to hear from you about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota! We are glad to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

Our Team of Managers, Chefs and associates are our greatest assets and they take great pride in ensuring that all our guests have a great experience. Madhusha and Chef Sunny were delighted and encouraged by your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A great place to go if you want to unwind, relax and practically do nothing. The beaches are practically deserted and you can have as much 'me' time as you want (unless of course there is a stray trio like ours that will shatter the silence and shout above the waves)... but the beach is long and large enough to move away.
The food at the sea food shack is very good... and apt for sea food lovers. Those who are not hardcore sea food eaters - may want to prepare for something else!
Service is good and prompt too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiwaniGurwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are happy to note that you and your friends had a memorable stay with us. The beaches in front of our hotel is serene and scenic.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your meal experience at The SHACK - our seafood restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

First visit to Sri Lanka made memorable by this lovely hotel! My family, including15 month old grandson stayed here for 9 days and we were so well looked after! Lovely rooms, great location for day trips, etc, good bar, smashing pool and kiddie pool and lovely unspoiled beach at our fingertips! Buffet breakfast was well up there with the best, and poolside lunches perfect.The Shack provided a great seafood dinner when we were tired after our journey.All prices most reasonable for a hotel of this calibre.


The staff were exceptional and so wonderfully kind to my grandson, who they adopted as their darling! He had just the best time!

Only criticsim. The chambermaid service was excellent but there was obviously quite a lot of changeover and everyday we were hassled for tips! The housekeeper also came and hinted for tips when she had basically done nothing! This should be discouraged as it does not encourage us to give to them!

However all in all a great hotel experience - and thank you.

Room Tip: Just make sure you are not overlooking the carpark as sea views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback about the hotel through the TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are also glad that your grandson enjoyed the hotel, its facilities and services.

I have noted with concern about your comments regarding your experiences with the chambermaids and assure you that we have taken immediate corrective measures so that such recurrences are avoided. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

One of the best beachside hotel in the world. Awesome housekeeping. Even General manager will know each and every guest by name. They made my wife's birthday a memorable one for years to come. We will definitely visit soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank arulags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences of your stay with us at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We were honored to be part of your wife's birthday celebrations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajitgarh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Staying at Vivanta by Taj, Bentota was a wonderful experience, the natural surroundings, the sea & the beach are out of this world. Hospitality & staff response is par excellence. The restaurants serve exquisite cuisine. Overall, it was a memorable stay.

Room Tip: If you are the sea going type, select a room at ground/first floor, otherwise all rooms are equally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vellah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

The unique location, the renovated property does encourage our team to put in their best efforts so that our guests have a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

For our honeymoon, my wife and I decided to take a trip Sri Lanka and stay at Vivanta by The Taj following a friend’s recommendation and we were not disappointed! The hotel was phenomenal; the location, the people, the food and the Spa were all exceptional – and Sri Lanka as a destination was magical!

The Location
Located just up from the beach, you can enjoy the sound of the sea as well as stunning views of the beach while you relax poolside. Perfect for those who want to relax but also for those who like to explore the beautiful country! There is so much to see and do in Sri Lanka such as take a ride in a tuk tuk, visit the elephant orphanage, take a safari around one of many national parks (we recommend Yala!), explore the delightful town of Galla and visit the turtle sanctuary and this hotel was the perfect base for it!

Hot tip: there is a small turtle sanctuary just up the beach (to the left, for about 15 min walk), which lets you hold the turtles while a fisherman talks to you. Definitely worth visiting!

The People
In particular, we would like to thank certain members of the team who made our honeymoon so perfect; firstly, Sudesh who works in The Tease bar. Sudesh looked after us every night we visit the bar and was extremely welcoming and made a real fuss of us! Secondly, Vishali the Head Housekeeper, she was so friendly, she always made time to come and speak with us and give us advice on places to visit and things to do and see. Next is the food team; Sunny, the Chef at The Palms restaurant (our favourite of the four restaurants, although all were off a high standard), not only cooked delicious food but also delivered exemplary service. He would go out of his way to come out of the kitchen to speak with the guests and ask what food they would like to eat, and he would make it even it if was not on the menu – what more can you ask for! Lastly, Suresh and Mohan looked after us each time we visited The Palms restaurant (so that is a lot); they are real stars and delivered the highest levels of service you could experience. Staff in all hotels could learn from them!

The Food
With four restaurants and a bar to choose from, there is plenty of choice! The Palms restaurant was our personal favourite; we love our curries! However, the fish in the other restaurants was delicious also so we would definitely recommend you try each restaurant as the quality is excellent across all of them. Also, for couples on their honeymoon, the hotel puts on a complimentary romantic meal in The Seaview restaurant which is really tasty (be sure to bring your marriage certificate as proof!).

The Spa
We had a couple of treatments during our stay and would recommend them. We had the Soma and Sukhe which were treatments for couples and really helped us unwind following the hectic weeks in the run up to our big day. One thing worth mentioning is that the Spa gets booked up very quickly so if you wish to have a treatment soon after you arrive, it is worth booking your appointment before you leave home so you are not disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrosscrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you taking the trouble of writing such an exhaustive review about your hotel experiences.

We were privileged to be the host hotel for your honeymoon celebrations and we are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

As you rightly pointed out, our managers and associates are our greatest assets and they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times. Vaishali, Chef Sunny, Sudesh, Mohan and Suresh were delighted by your personal compliments and thank you for the same.

The Food & Beverage options available at this resort is and added advantage for guests who want to enjoy the meal experiences within the hotel premises. The JIVA Spa is internationally acclaimed and is very popular. You will be happy to note that because of increasing demands we have added an additional treatment room for the therapy.. We are happy to note that were were delighted by the Spa experience.

We thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing