We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing and happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful hotel, in idyllic surroundings, staffed by the friendliest, most helpful, staff we have ever encountered anywhere in the world. Getting around on the island, which used to be a pain, is better than in previous years, thanks to the countries investment in the transport infrastructure since the end of the war, and will, we are sure, continue to rapidly improve in the future. The rooms in the hotel, as with a large part of the hotel itself, have been recently redecorated and upgraded and the new décor is excellent. If we were really pushed to level a criticism it would be that the new décor in the Tease Bar was too dark and we found the multitude of low suspended ornate metal lights to be obstructive and oppressive. Apart from this minor irritation nothing was too much trouble for the staff and any request was greeted with happy willingness. We will be returning to Sri Lanka, and this hotel, again next year (our 4th visit) and would recommend this island, and particularly this wonderful hotel, to any couple who have already done the European, Mediterranean, America's thing and are looking to upgrade to a vacation on an island, and in a hotel, which is an elixir to the mind, and body, and leaves the aforementioned alternative vacation-al locations in the shade.
Ceretexed.

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views, most looking out onto the ocean, but the 4th and 5th floors have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. As you rightly pointed out, our Associates and Managers are our greatest assets and they take immense pride in ensuring that each and every guest have a memorable stay with us.

We have taken note of your observations regarding the lighting of the Tease Bar and looking into the possibility of resolving the matter. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Taj Group of Hotels is thankful for patrons like you who always encourage and guide the hotels in improving its product and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,465 - 1,471 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel and resort was super.
Staff very helpful nothing was to much trouble.
Food was 1st class both buffet and restaurants.

Getting to resort was a bit rough / but that will all change new as new road opened end Oct.
It was 2.5 hours for us to get to resort from Airport, had to drive through Colombo.
Will only take about 1 hour now with new road so a plus.

P.s The staff do earn their tips so be fair.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room, but you never really use the balcony. Room was big great A/C and fan if req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. our team takes great pride in ensuring that all our guests have a memorable stay with us. They are encouraged by your compliments.

You will be happy to note that the expressway from the Airport to Colombo is now functional and this has reduced the travelling time by approx. 1 hour. This has been a big boost to our guest who are travelling directly to the resort and for those departing after their stay at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The property is beyond amazing. The beach around is rather private and quite large. The staff is very helpful and service is prompt. Bentota is a quiet place so if looking for snorkeling and water activities it is best to organize with the hotel staff a day before you want to go. The food at the Shack is lovely. The F and B manager goes an extra mile to ensure that the guests get exactly what they are looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puzifood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sharing your experiences at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had memorable stay with us. As your rightly pointed out, there are lots of activities that can be experienced in and around Bentota and yet enjoy the peaceful and serene environs in the hotel.
Our Managers and Associates are our greatest assets and they take immense pride in ensuring that each of our guests have a memorable stay with us. I have passed on your compliments to our team especially the Food & Beverage Manager.

Our Chefs were delighted by your compliments for the Seafood Restaurant - The SHACK. It has great food and a breathtaking view which is appreciated by all who dine there.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent a great 10 day stay at the taj and had a fantastic time. The hotel has recently been refurbished and also has some new staff, comments from earlier reviewers may reflect that the hotel is therefore in a transition period. We ate in all the restaurants and they were all very good - don't restrict yourself to the buffet as the Chinese and Sea view restaurants are both worth a visit! the shack is seafood only. We found the spa to be excellent, so you can walk down the road and get a massage for 30% less but it depends what you are looking for. The treatments were very professional and In a beautiful setting. pool service was great - easy to get beds, free fruit kebabs each day and a quick drink service.

The one downside is the internet charge - I don't think this is a local decision but Taj group MUST take note, it's ridiculous that they treat internet as some sort of 'luxury' that should be paid for when many many other hotels offer it for free. Our family of 3 had 10 wireless devices with us (phone, iPad, kindle ....) as both my husband and I need to work on holiday - if we had used all these devices each day it would have cost about as much as the room rate! TAJ please understand if you want corporate customers you must change your approach - internet is the en-suite bathroom of 20 years ago ..... !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are also happy to note that you have had very positive meal experiences at our 4 Food & beverage outlets. This is one of the unique feature not found in all hotels in this region and it does give options to dine around for our guests especially those who are staying for longer periods. Thank you for complimenting our internationally acclaimed JIVA Spa.

Your concerns and observations regarding the WIFI has been noted. We are proactively moving in resolving this issue. As a small step we have already introduced WIFI inclusive packages. We thank you for your patience and understanding.

Thank you once again for taking some time and sending us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Being a regular visitor to most hotels and restaurants I thought I'd give this a try..... service and restaurant atmosphere was great but for 3000 ruppess for a buffet luch was on offer was little short of disappointing. This should be looked into and customers should be given value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Yaan_colombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing your views about your experience at the Palms restaurant.

We have noted your comments regarding adding value to the lunch buffet. Our Executive Chef and the Food & Beverage Manager had been appraised of your concerns and are looking into the matter. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We spent one night at Vivanta however it was really a great night . We liked the hotel very much, the stuff was helpful and friendly, the room was very good. They were kind to celebrate our small kid (LUKA) birthday at dinner. They prepared a small cake and played a birthday music and Luka really enjoyed it. The view at the hotel is fantastic , the beach, the palms and the pool - they all give you a good feeling during your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experiences at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that your and your family especially little Luka had great stay with us. We were delighted to be part of the birthday celebrations.

Thank you once again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I came to Vivanta Bentota after staying a couple of days in Vivanta Kochi and the difference is huge. It's all in the service. Taj group hotels are the by word in luxury and service but that was not the case here.
Good points - beautiful hotel; rooms are all done up to a good standard and the big rainfall showers are great. The housekeeping staff are all very good, polite and always had a smile on their face; beautiful pool and the beach is kept clean; Buffet is ok but nothing to write home about; had to phone for a doctor and the service was very prompt and medicine given right away.
Bad points - the concierge desk is utterly unhelpful and useless. They had no idea about anything. We asked whether the tennis court was clay or hard court, they had to make several calls and still did not get an answer. We asked whether there were any good restaurants and they said they did not know. I asked about a restaurant in particular called Mallis which is just over the railway line outside the hotel, I asked whether they could make a reservation on our behalf. The answer I got was that they do not do reservations outside hotel, they had never heard of Malli's and none of their computers have the internet so they can't get the details and that I should go direct to the restaurant. What a load of rubbish. We ate in the fine dining restaurant one night. It was terrible and a big waste of money! There is a great bar at the hotel called Tease where we had pre dinner drinks every night. They had all sorts of exotic cocktails. At the pool during the day I requested one of these cocktails. The other times I have requested it, it had been brought to me without hesitation regardless of the fact that they had to go down to the bar to get the drink. But that day I got the answer that there is no Martini in the whole hotel and they could not make the drink. Five minutes later I requested a Martini based drink that was on the pool menu and the same waiter got it for me. LAZY LYING STAFF.
Staying in a 5 star hotel and paying $18 a day for internet is absolutely ridiculous. There is no option of paying a decreased lump sum for the duration of your stay. Wanted to use the tennis courts. First off, the courts are in a terrible state, secondly you have to go through a building site to get to it, thirdly you have to PAY for use of tatty tennis rackets.
I do not have any children but in my opinion the infant pool is not sufficient, it's more like a big ornamental puddle.
I had a spa treatment which was good. The only thing was that the spa was very badly signposted and we had to be taken to the spa by a member of staff!
A big thing for me was that there was no Sri Lankan culture to be seen in the hotel. In the restaurants and bar there was the usual western chart music, not a lot of different Sri Lankan food except the breakfasts. I could have been in any part of the world, big negative point for me.
All in all I would never stay here again unless the Taj group came and did a big overhaul.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but the higher up you are, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,536 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $122 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing