We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea View Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sea View Restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate here one evening during our stay at the Avani, just up the road. This is their 'fine dining' restaurant. We had three courses which were very good. Well cooked, well presented, very clean, tidy and orderly. The wine was very acceptable, even though it was not our first choice. The service was very efficient, without being obtrusive.There were only two other groups of people there when we arrived and we soon had the place to ourselves. The pianist added a nice touch and didn't disappear even though we were the only audience. It was a lovely, quiet, intimate evening with excellent food. Would definitely eat there again.

Afterwards, we had a wander around the hotel. We found their buffet restaurant which looked to be the main restaurant. Looked ok but smelt of cooking fat. Don't think I'd bother going there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebel_diamond56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting Vivanta by Taj Bentota during you stay at Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a great meal experience at our Seaview Restaurant. .
We have 4 Food & Beverage outlets providing different options to our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble of giving us your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you to stay with us and have a complete experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    659
    218
    82
    47
See reviews for
728
987
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We arrived at this hotel after a long day travelling and week of touring. The welcome we were given was so wonderful. We were made to feel so very special and we thank all of the staff of the hotel for all they did for us to celebrate our anniversary. The beautiful room decorated with petals, the bouquet of flowers presented to us in reception, the gift of a bottle of wine and cake and also the offer off dinner from Mr Matthew the manager.
This hotel certainly went the extra mile and deserves high praise.
Our room on a high floor with a sea view was perfect and spotless. We dined in the buffet on our first night and whilst hectic, the choice was excellent and the staff were always checking we had what we needed. We also ate in the Chinese restaurant and had great food although it was not very busy. We had an amazing meal in the Sea Food restaurant and congratulate the wonderful chef and maître d who despite having only us as guests did not intrude but appeared and chatted at just the right time. All this accompanied by a great pianist. Such a shame that more could not be done to promote these restaurants and encourage people away from the buffet.
We would like to make special mention to Sachila Vitharana who met us on arrival and throughout our stay ensured that our needs were met, always with a smile on her face and we were amazed that she always greeted us by name.
Each day our room was cleaned so very well and appreciated all the efforts of our room boy in creating his towel sculptures each day.
The hotel pool was excellent and the attendants worked so hard to ensure everyone had beds and parasols. It was all so very relaxing and we congratulate Mr Matthew on his hotel and the calibre of his staff.

Room Tip: High floor facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your observations through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted and honored to be part of your anniversary celebrations. Our associates are our greatest assets and they take pride in offering the highest level of service at all times. We are happy to note that you have liked your Deluxe Delight Room. We are getting excellent reviews about our newly renovated hotel. This is perhaps one of the few hotels in the region which has so many food and beverage options within the hotel. Our Chefs are always there to ensure that our guests have a great culinary experience during their stay. The Chef and the Manager at the SHACK were delighted and encouraged by your compliments.

We thank you once again for taking the trouble of writing to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We decided to stop over for one night, just to check out this property on the way back from visiting Yala National Park. This gives us the opportunity to decide if we'd like to visit again for a longer duration.

This place has to be one of the best kept secrets of Bentota, since we went past the turn off twice, The hotel signage is just not visible enough from the main road. Vivanta is doing itself a disservice by not having proper hotel signs at the turn off from the new Southern Expressway and again at the turn off near the railway bridge.

We were pleasantly surprised since this is actually a star class hotel, with a great ambiance. The rooms we booked were excellent with a great view of the ocean. We booked 2 interconnecting rooms. The kids got the Superior Charm room and we got the Premium Indulgence room. The rooms however,had marked differences when it came to amenities, which was of course reflected in the price. The premium indulgence room, which was quite a large room had an Ironing board along with an electric Iron, A bathrobe, and 2 balconies. Both rooms had an abundance of toiletries along with bathroom slippers. Fresh fruit was complimentary upon request. The rooms looked and felt fresh, without reeking of of any odors, and were extremely clean, including the washrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable. Don't keep too much hope of watching any TV though, because the PIO-TV service is crap, and barely visible due to poor connections.

The food had to be the best we've had at almost any hotel we've ever been to, in Sri Lanka, and elsewhere in the world. A well balanced Continental Fare along with local Sri Lankan fare, was well received by our kids, The made-to-order stations serve delicious pastas and other local dishes. Live music completes the dinner ambiance. There were even freshly prepared 'Power Drinks' for the health conscious at Breakfast. Since it's school holidays, we've visited a couple of other hotels this August. We consider ourselves well traveled, definitely foodies, and quite critical when it comes to cleanliness, decor and comfort of rooms and the washrooms. The kids have already decided that this is where they want to come for the next long weekend, and possibly for a longer stretch for the Christmas holidays.

Had a bit of a mixup with the reservation. Make sure that they understand what card you are using to guarantee the room. We booked the rooms with a Visa (as per their reservation confirmation), but the promotion was off an American Express. Lucky for us, the hotel was kind enough to honor the room rates. Friendly helpful staff. We just might be making this our quick getaway place down south.

Room Tip: The Superior Charm rooms have two single beds good for kids and The Premium Indulgence room.has a Ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the hotel signage are are in talks with the local tourist authorities to improve the same. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Our Chefs take great pride in ensuring that all our guests have a great culinary experiences. We thank you for your compliments and comments. We are in the process of revamping the TV services and we should be able to get better results soon.

We are happy to note that you will be staying will us soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's an excellent hotel to spend a family vocation who had a young children with a great location and lots of activity and a wonderful beach and nice outdoor pool, good restaurant and close to the city only 10 minutes walking

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruqaya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are delighted to note that you and your family had a great holiday at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

The 160 room hotel is ideal for all as the layout of the hotel ensures that each of the guest have their own space, be it honeymoon couples, families, small groups, etc

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending us your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very good hospitality, MRs masha at the reception and check inn was most courteous,breakfast was great,very good spa,swimming pool water was warm should have been cold as the weather was hot, hope to come again at the earl

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mukeshbhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sending us your feedback about the hotel. We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

We are very proud of our associates as they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times. I have passed on your compliments to our associate and she is delighted and encouraged by your remarks about her service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just (1 day ago) returned from the Vivanta by Taj, before booking the holiday we looked at all the reviews on Tripadvisor. We are a family of three with a 9 year old daughter and we consider ourselves to be well travelled and well balanced therefore hope we can provide you with a fair appraisal of the hotel etc. Basically we would thoroughly recommend the Vivanta, we used the hotel as our base and had a really great holiday. The hotel has undergone some renovations and it now superb beautifully presented with a stylish decor. Great staff generally some in particular are absolutely excellent. We were upgraded to a fabulous room on the sixth floor with outstanding views. We were only bed and breakfast and used Sabu and his tuk tuk to try all the local restaurants (Wunderbar, Golden Grill Susanthia's) which were excellent - great seafood and local curries. The beach is stunning and clean but be warned that the sea is not balmy and calm but offers great surfing. Our only negative comment would be that the hotel could be abit more imaginative regarding evening entertainment there are a variety of great groups in the 'Tease' bar but some more traditional entertainment would be great - Sri Lankan dancers etc.
Please ignore some brochures who state that there is horse riding on the beach and elephant riding nearby we never managed to find either. If you wish to ride on a elephant you will need to go to Pinnawala which is quite a long trip from Bentota but we aware be careful which elephant safari place you choose. You would think that with them all being the same vicinity and in competition with each other they would be of the same standard this is not the case. We unfortunately chose a very disappointing place (can't remember the name) which offered a pathetic 10 minute safari!! along a track parallel to the road rubbish. We only went there as it was the quietest - choose the busy one there is a reason it is busy! Great leather/buffalo leather goods over the road from the railway track. Lastly be aware that the road aren't great although the government is making a conscious effort to improve the infrastructure but everywhere is a fair journey and when they tell you it takes 1 hour always add another hour on for an accurate timescale!

Room Tip: To my knowledge all rooms have a sea view although some views of the sea are restricted if you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us.We continue to get very positive reviews about the recently renovated hotel and we thank you for your compliments. Our associates are our greatest asset and they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times.

We thank you for your comments regarding the entertainment provided at the Tease bar and are in the process of reviewing the same.

Thank you once again for writing to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were 2 families that had booked the hotel rooms ahead for 3 nights. On the day of arrival, which we did very late around mid night we were told that the rooms had a king bed only to find out that this turned out to be 2 single beds.. Hence the room change # 1.
The room my friends got reeked of cigarette smoke, they managed to stay in it that night only to do another room change, along with them my hubby and I changed rooms too, room change #2.
On the 2 nd day our bathroom had a leak from the ceiling, we quickly used towels to mop up the water and left the room for maintenance, who fixed the leak but forgot to call room cleaning. By this this time we weren't going to change rooms again.
The BF buffet was another story altogether, completely packed with no place to sit, not enough Sri lankan choices in the buffet, I think I'll stop at that.
The pool area was very nice, well looked after by the staff. The beach too was lovely with a soft sand bed for a long way in, even though it was off season while we were there.
The thing that I found most strange was that our driver was given a place to sleep but no meals at all, now this I found very strange since all Sri lankan hotels how ever small they might be provide with 3 meals for the driver, unless been a Taj group hotel this might be a Indian thing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilmini d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your candid views about the hotel and its services.

It is our endeavor to provide the finest Hospitality and Service in line with the standards of Taj Group of Hotels. However, we have fallen short of your expectations in certain areas during your stay with us. I have noted all your comments with utmost seriousness and have taken it up with the concerned departments for corrective action to ensure non recurrence in the future.

Being a fairly large hotel the request for accommodating drivers becomes challenging as there are times when we have over 50 drivers who are given free accommodation. However the boarding arrangements are either looked after by the travel agent or the guests who avail their services. Smaller hotels at remote destinations may be providing both boarding and lodging. However you have my assurance that there is no discrimination in this matter.

I regret once again the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us at Vivanta by Taj Bentota and urge you to treat this experience as a one off aberration. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. All sincere feedback of a well-wisher such as yours is vital for us to improve upon our existing standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 25 in Bentota
840 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing