We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mihin Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,579)
Filter reviews
2,579 results
Traveler rating
1,448
739
248
90
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,448
739
248
90
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms restaurantchinese restaurantjiva spatease barsea view restaurantsri lankasea facingseafoodmain restaurantindian oceanexecutive chefbeautiful locationelephant orphanagecolombo airportmemorable stayprivate beachspecial mention
Filter
Updating list...
1,723 - 1,728 of 2,579 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed there for 7 nights. We had a super time at the hotel. All the staff were very helpful and always willing to go an extra mile to look after us. Food quality was excellent in fact chef Sunal made extra effort in preparing delicious dishes which were not on the menu for us. General Manager Manoj Mathew actually came to meet us on the day we checked in. what a welcome garlands, cold towels and a welcome drink on arrival. The hotel had a lovely spa worth pampering yourself. Avanthi sorted the excursion tours. Vaishali made us feel at home. swimming pool attendents always ready to help.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms is advisable. we were on the 6th floor sea facing room. the view was magnficient
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HareshIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback through TripAdvisor about your stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. Chef Sunal takes great pride in ensuring that all our guest have unique culinary journey while on a holiday. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that the highest level of service is provided always.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Going by the previous reviews we were little worried when we got our bookings done for this property, but this is as gorgeous as any Taj property can be. Agreed the building architecture reminds one of the lavish properties of 80’s and 90’s but the facilities, luxury and service was top notch.

This is last among the 4 property on the main Bentota resort strip. The resort has two sea fronts separated by a small cape. The beach on the main side is much even as compared to the other.

The resort in itself is huge, a little confusing when you walk the alleys in trying to reach the terrace where they have their main restaurant (serving Sri Lankan, Indian, Continental cuisine) which overlooks a beautiful pool. The temperature in the pool was perfect for an evening swim, even though it was raining with high intensity winds. They have 3 other restaurants and a Bar lounge. The rooms are big and guess most rooms have the beach view. They have a Spa attached beside the property which we used and was very relaxing, the resort also has a Fitness centre with free Sauna and Jacuzzi which we couldn't use.

The staffs at the restaurant, pool, front office all were ever smiling and courteous as you would expect and they try to make your stay pleasant and memorable.

We were there on my wife’s birthday and the hotel sent us a large cake (unexpected) making it extra special.

They could probably use the grounds leading to beach much better, it wasn't manicured properly, only sore sight in this beautiful property.

Room Tip: Most rooms should be good, the higher you go, the better views and lesser walk in reaching the restaurants.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddharthchats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback about Vivanta by Taj Bentota through the TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We have been receiving excellent reviews about the hotel and its services after the renovation and we thank you for your compliments.

Our associates are our greatest asset and they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times.

You will be happy to note that the hotel signages are now in place and the hotel landscaping work is progressing steadily.

We look forward to your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this property recommended to us by our travel agent in Colombo.We had a warm welcome,check in was smooth,We were approached by the hotel's GM and Head chef as well, which was quiet hospitable. we traveled in off season so it was raining the first day. The following 2 days were bright and sunny. Bentota is a very relaxed resort, so a hotel which has a lot of add on services and activities is a must, so one doesn't get bored, Taj had quiet a few add on services for you.Their fitness had running shoes for you to borrow If you weren't carrying your own. Their JIVA spa was very good. Food quality for in-room dinning or Breakfast/Dinner International buffet was very good with wide variety of food selection. The hotel has a private long stretched beach as well.Overall a very relaxing and comfortable stay at Vivaanta by Taj. Would look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kavneet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of giving your feedback about our hotel through the TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Our Chefs take great pride in ensuring that all our guest have a great culinary experience while in Sri Lanka and our four Food & Beverage outlets give lot of dining options to our guests.

Our stunning location and great beaches makes our guests come back and we do have a lot of patrons like you who have been coming back to this hotel almost every year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Three cheers to the GM Mr. MANOJ and Vaishali Chatterjee for superb hospitality!!! The hotel is excellent. Food sumptuous and the warmth of the people added to the wonderful ambience of the hotel. A must visit for all !!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sudhanshu52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are delighted to note that you had a great experience at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

Thank you for your generous compliments. You will be happy to note that the renovations have been completed and the hotel is now fully operational.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We travel all across Asia this is the first time I have given maximum points for a Hote,l all the staff without exception take personal responsibility and give excellent committment to the customer. Chef takes a pride in his food
Yes a fabulous time we would recommend Vivanta by Taj to anyone ! Chris from West Yorkshire

Room Tip: High floor with excellent view of the sea and the Sunset
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mr Chris,

We are delighted to receive your compliments and very happy to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

Our associates are our greatest asset and they take pride in providing the highest standards of offerings and services to our guests. Our Chefs are very eager to ensure that all our guests have a great culinary experience.

Thank you once again for taking the trouble of writing to TripAdvisor about you stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews