We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't quite deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped in Bentota for a couple of nights before flying out of Colombo.

Our first impression of the hotel was great. A lovely lobby and greeted with garlands and fresh juice. The room although clean was nothing special- ocean view room but you could only just see it if leaning over the balcony to the side. This is a big resort and feels that way when you are there. We have stayed in equally large resorts before but not felt it so impersonal. This is not something they can easily change but we felt we would have done better elsewhere at a smaller hotel perhaps.

The pool is lovely but could not see easy access to the beach (set more up on a hill than on the beach as such).

The buffet was very good quality and would recommend the Chinese restaurant. Although the setting is quite dark (basement level) the food is lovely!

Room service was very slow (40 minutes for drinks to arrive) and when it did arrive the order was wrong.

I was really disappointed that there were charges for wifi. This was the first hotel out of many in Sri Lanka where you had to pay for it as an additional. From small boutique hotels to large resorts this was always included and is necessary for my husband to have easy access to work emails. From an earlier post the response seemed as though this was now included so we chose this hotel and to find out it was an extra charge we wished we'd gone elsewhere, as there is plenty of choice along that road all with good reviews.

Sadly it was at check out we were let down even further. The gentleman checking us out was unfriendly and unhelpful. He did not ask us how our stay had been and then informed us we needed to pay for a night we had already settled the day before. (we extended by a night as we were flying in the early hours so was easier to stay than start moving hotels for the sake of a few hours). He apparently had no record of our payment but luckily I had my copy of the receipt. He did not applogise once and made us feel like we were in the wrong. When charging for the night we did owe he did this wrong and we had to make two payments, not the worst thing in the world, but again with no apology. Disappointing.

Our hotel car booked to take us to the airport was over 20 minutes late and no apology offered. We weren't told when it would be arriving and when I asked where the car was he simply said he didn't know, so I had to ask for him to call and check as we had a flight to catch.

A shame to end our stay in Sri Lanka this way. We would not stay there again and would suggest to others to look at other options available in the area- there are plenty!

As a side note Bentota is a nice place the highlight of our trip was taking a boat trip along the river and stoping off at the temple on the way. This was about 2,000 rupees each for 2 hours and well worth it! The mangroves are beautiful and we stopped off at a house on the way back to be shown a baby crocodile! The man running it met us at the temple and gave us a full tour which was fascinating and not something he had to do. Great guy and thank him for his time and explanations!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julescurtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for writing to us and giving us your candid feedback.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. To write to us giving details of the stay so that we can investigate further.

You have my personal assurance that we take utmost care to ensure that all our guest have a memorable stay.


Looking forward to welcoming you back again to Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,396 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

A fabulous hotel, the staff were outstanding, they just couldn't do enough for you. The choice of food at the buffet was suberb but even so the chef offered and cooked a meal of our chojce, a typical Sri Lankan curry and that was excellent.
The rooms were big and comfortable with fantastic views over the beach and ocean from the balcony.
One slight critisism, lack of information about events happening at the hotel.

Room Tip: Any with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathandTony27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending your feedback about Vivanta by Taj Bentota through the TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an excellent stay with us. Our associates are our greatest assets and they strive to ensure that the best of service and products are provided to our guests at all times. They are greatly encouraged by your compliments.

We have taken note about your observations regarding need of keeping updated information about the events happening in the hotel. We are taking immediate corrective measure. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for two weeks in a deluxe room, which was sea facing, the room was a great size with a smallish balcony. The sunsets every night was amazing and is it is well worth paying the extra to get a sea facing view.

The breakfast every day was very good and we could never fault any of the food, we ate in the hotel restaurant once which again was very good but the rest of the time we ventured out to the local restaurants.

During our visit we went on a trip to Kandy and Sigiriya which was well worth a visit too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. As you rightly pointed out, this hotel is beautifully located with amazing views which brings back guests year after year so that they can enjoy the Taj hospitality.

We are glad that you have liked our newly renovated rooms. Thank you for your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our 5th visit to the Taj or "Vivanta by Taj" as it is now called, and we were not disappointed. We were given a warm welcome as always. The staff were 100% professional and efficient, the service was outstanding in all areas of the hotel. Lovely room on 6th floor which had been refurbished to a high standard. Minibar restocked with free tea coffee and water daily, amazing towel art from our room boy Chamil who had a lovely personality amd made sure we had plenty of shampoo and towels etc. No problems getting sunbeds and parasols around the pool. Good food in the Chinese restaurant and the Palms. Preferred the old room service menu but new one ok. Good gym. All the staff a credit to the Taj group. Thanks for the lovely photo album which we will cherish and the memorable tree planting on environment day. I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, hospitality, the location and the lovely room and amenities. We were treated like royalty. We have stayed at other 5 star hotels in Sri Lanka which are not as good as this hotel, we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honesty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing through the TripAdvisor about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are always delighted to welcome back patrons like you who have stayed with Vivanta by Taj Bentota many times. My team was delighted to look after you are we are thrilled to note that you had a great experience at the resort..

The newly renovated resort has indeed got great reviews from patron like you and we are happy to note that you have liked the metamorphosis of this hotel into a Vivanta hotel.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Booked our holiday with a tour operator called Direct Traveller. The where very competitive and recommended this hotel, i wasnt sure at first but we loved it. It has stunning scenary and would highly recommed for a relaxing holiday. The hotel is spacious and you are looked after at all times. This is a perfect getaway for couples and friends looking to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us. We are also happy to note that you have liked the newly renovated rooms and public areas. Our associates are always looking at opportunities in delighting our patrons.

Thank you once again and looking forward to welcoming you back to Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I along with our 2 yr old son stayed here for 2 days and we only have lovely memories of our stay..the service was exemplary!! From the head chef who ensured that my little one doesn't go hungry by sending us that pizza to the housekeeping staff who were always at hand to help us out ... Everyone just had a smile and ready to help attitude.. The pub with live music and the pool table was just what we needed at the end of the day .. The music kept our son entertained while my husband and I were able to unwind after a long day
The food at the poolside restaurant was lovely.. Special mention may be made of the breakfast buffet which was awesome
The view from our room was just amazing!!
The only disappointing thing about this lovely place is an irritant called wifi which is on a charged basis.This we find is ridiculous for a hotel of this standard. We hope that something would be done on this in the future else it's quite a put off.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoshniOinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for writing back about your recent stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that you and your family had a great holiday at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

Thank you for acknowledging the services of my team. Our associates and managers are our greatest asset and they take great pride in providing the highest level of service at all times.

Our newly renovated Food & beverage outlets are being appreciated and thank you for your compliments.

We have introduced WIFI inclusive packages for our guests as a first step. We are always conscious of our guests concerns and needs.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to Vivanta by Taj Bentota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were a group of 19, family and friends, that stayed at the Bentota Taj - we had the most memorable time. The staff are the best, rooms are clean and airy, the spread of food and beverages are great, overall I would call our time in Bentota and Taj as OUTSTANDING!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NarendraC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you fro taking the trouble of writing to the TripAdvisor about your stay at Vivanta by Taj Bentota.

We are delighted to note that your group had a memorable experience during your stay at our resort. We have been constantly receiving great reviews about our newly renovated hotel and thank you for your compliments. Our Chefs are happy to note that you enjoyed the food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
895 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,556 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $160 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing