We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,804)
Filter reviews
2,804 results
Traveler rating
1,593
782
272
94
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,593
782
272
94
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palms restaurant chinese restaurant tease bar sea view restaurant sri lanka seafood sea facing beautiful hotel main restaurant indian ocean executive chef memorable stay private beach house keeping special mention colombo airport pool side
Filter
Updating list...
1,990 - 1,995 of 2,804 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Taj for 3 days in January..
The Taj is a lovely, welcoming hotel. We had upgraded to a deluxe room before we left .
Staff were first class and food was good. Room service was great.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean .

Beach area is very attractive.
All in all a great holiday, lovely place .I would highly recommend this place for honeymooners

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing and giving us your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you had and excellent stay and very happy with our services. We are also very happy to note that you are happy with our newly renovated hotel products.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went there for our son's b'day last year. As Taj properties are famous for, Vivanta too is amazing. But room which is closest to the sea was severely crammed though it was more expensive than the one which was of lower category. What I got after long flight and road trip from Colombo to Bentota was only damp bed, mosquitoes, low fan speed and very very irritating smallest room I have ever seen. Upon request they did transfer us to the room called 'Deluxe orchid' (if I am not wrong) which was amazingly open, well lit, awesome and quite large. They did beautiful arrangement of flowers, toys etc for my son with lovely cake for his bday. Food too was very good. People, staff was very very warm and helpful. They charge quite an amount for airport transfer. But I wud give 5/5 for this hotel quality. Pvt beach was superb.

Room tip: Dont take room which is sea facing. these rooms are very crammed and with irritating layout.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of sending us your feedback about the hotel. We are happy to note that you were happy with our services.

We are delighted to share the good news that the hotel is in the final stages of a major renovations. We have renovated the lobby and the lobby lounge, the All Day Diner, The swimming pool and the bar. All the 160 rooms are also getting renovated. The hotel will have a fresh contemporary look .

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited Bentota with my wife in Feb 2011.It was part of my itineray of SriiLankan Trip.We landed there in the afternoon.The rooms had an excellent view of the lawns and the Sea.
They have a couple of Good restaurants.We chose an outside restaurant with an excellent view of the sea.It was around 8 pm.Beautifully lit place.There was a guy who sang old hindi songs for us.There were a coulple of mongoose around .And we had such a beautiful time ,This was the last leg of our journey after 7 days in Sri lanka.It was heavenly.The hotel.the settings,the staff and above all TAJ.An excellent place to relax.And experience Heaven on earth

Room tip: a higher floor for a good view of the sea
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We are delighted to note that you were happy with the hotel and its services.

Yes our seafood restaurant "Shack" has a breathtaking view even in the evenings and boasts of offering the freshest seafood to our guests.

You will be happy to note that we do have a newly renovated swimming pool and a tastefully renovated All Day Diner. All our guests are delighted with the new 'avatar' and all our 160 rooms will be completely renovated and refurbished very soon.

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location of Vivanta by Taj in Bentota makes it all the more beautiful. The beachline is dotted with resorts but the beach outside vivanta is almost virgin and like your own privatebeach. The staff epitomise the caring Lankan hospitality. The terrace pool and the view from the deck is to die for. Lie back on one ofthe recliners and just gaze into the ocean. Its therapeutic. The hotel was undergoin renovations and now i believe it should be complete.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Taj Bentota Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel and your compliments about it's picturesque location and its services. This hotel has one of the finest beaches.

You will be happy to note that renovations are almost getting over. The hotel has a beautiful All Day Diner overlooking the newly renovated Swimming pool and the Indian Ocean. All the 160 rooms are getting renovated and we are getting very good reviews from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were planning to be in Bentota with our Son and daughter for new year 2013. We decided to book the Taj which we thought would be a good hotel.
The hotel as has been stated in other reviews is in the process of a major refit and rebuild. Building work starts early - even on new years day...... Our room had been refitted but still looked poorly maintained. It had a rocking toilet...In addition, electric cables could be seen hanging loosely inside and outside the room. .
Even the refurbished rooms were not to a five star standard - we have stayed in better three star hotels.
In order to stay for new years day we were forced to pay 800 dollars (200 dollars each) for their gala meal. The gala meal which was supposed to include entertainment was a real disappointment. The 200 dollars did not include any drinks ..not even water!! this had to be purchased. The entertainment was minimal and it was apparent that there was little or no planning to the extent that they even missed the new year countdown!!!The buffet itself was good, but didnt make up for the rest.
My honest opinion of this hotel is that they are trying to extract as much money as possible from their guests at all times. There is a pretense of 5 star quality which the hotel is plainly not. The staff are very polite but could do with more training. In the future i will think twice before staying in a Taj resort.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hotslough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews