We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay @Taj -Bentota” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay @Taj -Bentota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at the Taj for 3 days in January..
The Taj is a lovely, welcoming hotel. We had upgraded to a deluxe room before we left .
Staff were first class and food was good. Room service was great.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean .

Beach area is very attractive.
All in all a great holiday, lovely place .I would highly recommend this place for honeymooners

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing and giving us your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you had and excellent stay and very happy with our services. We are also very happy to note that you are happy with our newly renovated hotel products.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    614
    198
    78
    43
See reviews for
658
922
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We went there for our son's b'day last year. As Taj properties are famous for, Vivanta too is amazing. But room which is closest to the sea was severely crammed though it was more expensive than the one which was of lower category. What I got after long flight and road trip from Colombo to Bentota was only damp bed, mosquitoes, low fan speed and very very irritating smallest room I have ever seen. Upon request they did transfer us to the room called 'Deluxe orchid' (if I am not wrong) which was amazingly open, well lit, awesome and quite large. They did beautiful arrangement of flowers, toys etc for my son with lovely cake for his bday. Food too was very good. People, staff was very very warm and helpful. They charge quite an amount for airport transfer. But I wud give 5/5 for this hotel quality. Pvt beach was superb.

Room Tip: Dont take room which is sea facing. these rooms are very crammed and with irritating layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank himani2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble of sending us your feedback about the hotel. We are happy to note that you were happy with our services.

We are delighted to share the good news that the hotel is in the final stages of a major renovations. We have renovated the lobby and the lobby lounge, the All Day Diner, The swimming pool and the bar. All the 160 rooms are also getting renovated. The hotel will have a fresh contemporary look .

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I visited Bentota with my wife in Feb 2011.It was part of my itineray of SriiLankan Trip.We landed there in the afternoon.The rooms had an excellent view of the lawns and the Sea.
They have a couple of Good restaurants.We chose an outside restaurant with an excellent view of the sea.It was around 8 pm.Beautifully lit place.There was a guy who sang old hindi songs for us.There were a coulple of mongoose around .And we had such a beautiful time ,This was the last leg of our journey after 7 days in Sri lanka.It was heavenly.The hotel.the settings,the staff and above all TAJ.An excellent place to relax.And experience Heaven on earth

Room Tip: a higher floor for a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kns56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We are delighted to note that you were happy with the hotel and its services.

Yes our seafood restaurant "Shack" has a breathtaking view even in the evenings and boasts of offering the freshest seafood to our guests.

You will be happy to note that we do have a newly renovated swimming pool and a tastefully renovated All Day Diner. All our guests are delighted with the new 'avatar' and all our 160 rooms will be completely renovated and refurbished very soon.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location of Vivanta by Taj in Bentota makes it all the more beautiful. The beachline is dotted with resorts but the beach outside vivanta is almost virgin and like your own privatebeach. The staff epitomise the caring Lankan hospitality. The terrace pool and the view from the deck is to die for. Lie back on one ofthe recliners and just gaze into the ocean. Its therapeutic. The hotel was undergoin renovations and now i believe it should be complete.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel and your compliments about it's picturesque location and its services. This hotel has one of the finest beaches.

You will be happy to note that renovations are almost getting over. The hotel has a beautiful All Day Diner overlooking the newly renovated Swimming pool and the Indian Ocean. All the 160 rooms are getting renovated and we are getting very good reviews from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were planning to be in Bentota with our Son and daughter for new year 2013. We decided to book the Taj which we thought would be a good hotel.
The hotel as has been stated in other reviews is in the process of a major refit and rebuild. Building work starts early - even on new years day...... Our room had been refitted but still looked poorly maintained. It had a rocking toilet...In addition, electric cables could be seen hanging loosely inside and outside the room. .
Even the refurbished rooms were not to a five star standard - we have stayed in better three star hotels.
In order to stay for new years day we were forced to pay 800 dollars (200 dollars each) for their gala meal. The gala meal which was supposed to include entertainment was a real disappointment. The 200 dollars did not include any drinks ..not even water!! this had to be purchased. The entertainment was minimal and it was apparent that there was little or no planning to the extent that they even missed the new year countdown!!!The buffet itself was good, but didnt make up for the rest.
My honest opinion of this hotel is that they are trying to extract as much money as possible from their guests at all times. There is a pretense of 5 star quality which the hotel is plainly not. The staff are very polite but could do with more training. In the future i will think twice before staying in a Taj resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hotslough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night on new years eve and attended the new years eve party here. We were quite dissappointed with this hotel, it was extremely overpriced for the standard of the rooms and the place is pretty run down even in the areas where staff claim that the renovations have already been completed e.g. wires sticking out of walls, incomplete floor tiling etc. The new years eve party was a complete rip off in terms of the entertainment for the most part it was juvenile and borderline sexist with a beauty competition being the main event. Having said that there was a live band at the beginning was quite good and the food was very good, heads up to the chefs who seemed to have worked very hard.....I am not sure that this justifies the 200 pound a head charge though. I would definitely recommend that anyone staying here around this time next year books into the new years meal at one of the nearby hotels as they were cheaper and were offering what seemed to be exactly the same deal.

On a more positive note the staff were very helpful and there were lots of people around to help you.

Overall, if you get a cheap deal while the renovations are going on then there is nothing wrong with this hotel, the rooms are clean, the pool is ok and the food is excellent. However, DO NOT PAY FULL PRICE for this hotel,it is definitely not worth it. It is nowhere near as nice as a majority of the other 5*s we have stayed in for similar or lower prices and having seen what the planned renovations are I doubt it will ever meet 5* expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just had a 3 night stay after checking out of our booked hotel which was very poor. Although under going a massive refit we had a wonderful stay, the staff are fantastic and made our stay. Yes the hotel is looking a little tired but when the work is complete I am sure it will shine again. The breakfasts were great, thanks to all the staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexWhitefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Compliments of the season!

Thank you for taking the trouble and sending us your feedback. We are happy to inform you that the swimming pool and the All Day diner overlooking the pool and the Indian ocean is now open for our guests. We are getting excellent reviews.

We are happy to note that you are going back from Sri Lanka with happy memories and we look forward to your visit back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#2 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#4 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#8 of 30 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing