We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable luxury hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very friendly hotel. Lovely staff. Excellent room service. Lovely holiday.
Room upgrade amd cake for our anniversary. Good choice of food on buffet including several differemt curries. A la carte restaurant very good although we could only use it once every week.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephineDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in sending your feedback about our hotel. We are delighted to note that you are happy with the and its service. Our chefs have been trained to cater to the international clientele. You would be happy to note that after our renovations, this hotel will have more dining options for our guests and will offer contemporary rooms with a beautiful view of the oceans and the long inviting beaches.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    632
    207
    81
    44
See reviews for
679
942
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just done a 10 day tour of Sri Lanka with Thomas Cook and ended up at the Vivanta at Bentota for 2 nights. As it was our 30th anniversary we prebooked to stay an additional 3 days. We were made aware of the renovation work by Thomas Cook but were informed that it would just about be over by the end of October, just minor workings- painting etc. to the drilling noises as it lasts till well into the evening. We were told they stopped drilling at 6pm, The workmen will then be welding until 10pm! It will be a beautiful hotel when the renovations have been completed, but why allow guests to frequent the hotel when they risk getting hit by rubble.

Room Tip: Ask for one not near the train line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 491Alybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing to us. We share your concern about the agent not informing you about the scope of renovation while making the reservation. The hotel constantly sends detailed updates on the renovation works to all the agents and to individuals who write directly to us. We will also take the matter up with the concerned agent.
You have my assurance that all safety and security standards are maintained during renovations and there are frequents audits to ensure compliance.
We give top priority to safety and security at work place so that our guest have no cause for concern.
Once the renovations are over, we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a swell time at Vivanta by Taj, the ongoing renovation notwithstanding. Or maybe it was because of it. There were very few guests - only 30-rooms were operational - so the service was friendly and personalised. We didn't tell a soul it was our wedding anniversary, but found a lovely cake, a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. The rose petals strewn on the bed was over the top, but the towel art won us over. And when we checked out, they gave us a photo-album with memorable pictures of our stay. Nice gesture.

The room was standard hotel fare, but the toilet looked like it could do with some renovation. The food is decent - breakfast spread is good; lunch is frugal; dinner is a splurge.We tried the sea-food restaurant - limited selection but cooked to perfection. The portions are humungous - sadly it's per-person, so you end up wasting a lot of food and that's a pity. The hotel also has a Chinese restaurant but we didn't try it.

The staff was very friendly - maybe there weren't too many guests so they were relaxed and could chat with guests! A welcome change because hotels are usually very impersonal! We spoke to Chef Sonal and house-keeping manager Vaishali and got some great tips on what to see and eat in Bentota. Thank you guys.

The hotel location is fabulous - it's right on the beach. Swimming in the sea is not allowed but you can always go for a walk/run or just watch the setting sun. Locals offer fishing trips, but they don't pester much. The spa is worthing trying.

We got a good deal in terms of room tariff, but post renovation it's likely to go up significantly.

Positives: Location,friendly staff, decent food, clean beach

Negatives: Can be noisy because of renovation work; lot of construction material lying around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you rightly mentioned, the renovation work is going on and soon we will have a very contemporary hotel with excellent rooms, swimming pool and dining options. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vivanta by Taj Bentota soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went for our anniversary celebration last year along with a couple who also had their birthday and anniversary. We booked rooms at last minute. When we arrived there, we received a very warm welcome and very comfortable rooms. Got a great deal from Taj. The food was excellent and a lot of spread. To top it all they had some group tour from Gujarat, so had special food for them. What more could i have asked for since i am from gujarat.

We had a very comfortable stay and the rooms were very clean and just the way we could expect from Taj property. The staff was very prompt and nice. The only area that needs to be redone is the dining and the breakfast. It looks very old and bad in taste. Rest entire thing was really good.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the pool side. Or if you might choose the rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shweta2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for writing to us and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to note that you appreciated our service and variety in cuisine. You will be happy to note that we have chefs trained in serving cuisines from all over the world as food is one of the most critical aspect when on holiday.
We would like to also inform you that the hotel is undergoing a major renovation and very soon you will be having a beautiful, contemporary All Day Diner overlooking the renovated new pool.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Vivanta by Taj Bentota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Of all the places we stayed in Sri Lanka this was the most anticipated place we wanted to stay and turned out to be the biggest spoilsport.

For starters this seems to be only place in Sri Lanka where wifi is chargeable. Even the smallest coffee shop leave alone hotels/ guest houses in Sri Lanka boosts of a free wifi and being taj that's the least one can expect. The construction on the property is going on for long now. Swimming pool is closed. The only recreation available is a TT & carrom table. Real poor they cannot add any other facilities for guests.

The rooms have TV from the 90s generation (picture tubes) no plasma/ LCD/ LED. Yup and this is Taj.

The only good part of the hotel is the location on the beach. Apart from it, stay is the hotel is a disaster ..either it seems they are too hind handed or totally out of tune with the market.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Maniacmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are sorry to note that you had not read our notification regarding renovation.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are concerned about our guest experiences hence all our booking sites and confirmation letters carry the notification regarding the renovation. We have also kept the travel agents updated about the status of the hotel.
You will be pleased to note that the renovation will be over shortly and you will have a brand new swimming pool, dining options, bar, etc. I am sure you will carry a different impression about the hotel once you visit the hotel post renovations. Wifi is an out-sourced service hence a minimal charge. We will be glad to offer you a Wifi inclusive package during you next visit.
Looking forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yangshou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

our stay there was a complete disaster.. room that we booked for a 100$ a night wasn't even worth 20$, bad smell and very old room, constructions works everywhere, terrible noise from the early morning, a dinning experience was just terrible, the manager of the hotel didn't even try to somehow make us feel better with such a disappointment on our last two day stay in Sri Lanka, well i will never stay in Taj group again and will never recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: read all the details before you book the room on line, the hotel was just terrible, as well as the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna7sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your candid observations. A honeymoon is a very special occasion and we are distressed to note that you have missed out reading the 'Important Note" about renovation activities which is displayed in all our booking websites. In fact we had attached a similar notification along with the confirmatory mail that we had sent to you on receiving your reservation. However since you were traveling you must have not accessed your mail. We are very conscious and sensitive in conveying the renovation message to all our agents and individuals who book rooms during this period.
Once again our apologies for the inconvenience caused. You have my personal assurance that you next stay will be a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Taj bentota was one of the 3 properties in which we stayed in lanka and this was the best of the lot.the location is amazing and the service levels of the staff are very good.the various restaurants (tried the chinese and the bars) are a must try.the view from the rooms are great and the beach is a stone's throw away.
My only worry is the sometimes differential treatment of the staff towards people from the sub continent.I hope the management takes care of this.
However I Would definitely love to go back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your observations.

We are delighted to note that you are happy with the hotel and its services. You will be happy to note that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and will soon sport a new contemporary look and will have better dining options for our guests.

We would like to reassure you that we value all our guests from all regions without any bias and would not like to be perceived otherwise. You have my personal assurance that our staff is being continuously trained to ensure that we provide the best service standards to all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing