We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect from Taj”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what you expect from Taj”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Of all the places we stayed in Sri Lanka this was the most anticipated place we wanted to stay and turned out to be the biggest spoilsport.

For starters this seems to be only place in Sri Lanka where wifi is chargeable. Even the smallest coffee shop leave alone hotels/ guest houses in Sri Lanka boosts of a free wifi and being taj that's the least one can expect. The construction on the property is going on for long now. Swimming pool is closed. The only recreation available is a TT & carrom table. Real poor they cannot add any other facilities for guests.

The rooms have TV from the 90s generation (picture tubes) no plasma/ LCD/ LED. Yup and this is Taj.

The only good part of the hotel is the location on the beach. Apart from it, stay is the hotel is a disaster ..either it seems they are too hind handed or totally out of tune with the market.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Maniacmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are sorry to note that you had not read our notification regarding renovation.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are concerned about our guest experiences hence all our booking sites and confirmation letters carry the notification regarding the renovation. We have also kept the travel agents updated about the status of the hotel.
You will be pleased to note that the renovation will be over shortly and you will have a brand new swimming pool, dining options, bar, etc. I am sure you will carry a different impression about the hotel once you visit the hotel post renovations. Wifi is an out-sourced service hence a minimal charge. We will be glad to offer you a Wifi inclusive package during you next visit.
Looking forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    644
    213
    82
    45
See reviews for
699
968
53
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yangshou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

our stay there was a complete disaster.. room that we booked for a 100$ a night wasn't even worth 20$, bad smell and very old room, constructions works everywhere, terrible noise from the early morning, a dinning experience was just terrible, the manager of the hotel didn't even try to somehow make us feel better with such a disappointment on our last two day stay in Sri Lanka, well i will never stay in Taj group again and will never recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: read all the details before you book the room on line, the hotel was just terrible, as well as the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna7sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your candid observations. A honeymoon is a very special occasion and we are distressed to note that you have missed out reading the 'Important Note" about renovation activities which is displayed in all our booking websites. In fact we had attached a similar notification along with the confirmatory mail that we had sent to you on receiving your reservation. However since you were traveling you must have not accessed your mail. We are very conscious and sensitive in conveying the renovation message to all our agents and individuals who book rooms during this period.
Once again our apologies for the inconvenience caused. You have my personal assurance that you next stay will be a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Taj bentota was one of the 3 properties in which we stayed in lanka and this was the best of the lot.the location is amazing and the service levels of the staff are very good.the various restaurants (tried the chinese and the bars) are a must try.the view from the rooms are great and the beach is a stone's throw away.
My only worry is the sometimes differential treatment of the staff towards people from the sub continent.I hope the management takes care of this.
However I Would definitely love to go back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your observations.

We are delighted to note that you are happy with the hotel and its services. You will be happy to note that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and will soon sport a new contemporary look and will have better dining options for our guests.

We would like to reassure you that we value all our guests from all regions without any bias and would not like to be perceived otherwise. You have my personal assurance that our staff is being continuously trained to ensure that we provide the best service standards to all our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked Delux double room with sea view and I simply loved this hotel for its location,for its view and for its services.I had the most romantic days of my life during my stay.
Our stay was warm ,cosy and hassle free.They made our trip hasslefree with airport pick and drop..I would like to stay again if I visit Bentota again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nandanigoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamshedpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Overall  experience 5/10
Nice big  property that is well maintained on the outside but needs a lot more on the rooms for a memorable stay.  location is bit on the inside . Food would be very disappointing for the amount that you spend.Overall not at all worth what you pay .and worst of all is you better pay to use our internet .

Property 7/10
Huge property and nice private beach where all rooms open towards the beach .. Higher floor rooms are of course better for better views. Gym is very small according to these standards.

Location 5/10
It is a little bit on the inside and a little away from the town. 25min walk from your room or else can take a tuk tuk for around 100 rupees.
Food. 3/10 
I must admit that it is a waste spending money on food that is just ok for the money that you are spending. Prices are according to taj standards but quality is lacking . Had an upset stomach .Vegetarian choices are very limited . Palms is their main restaurant but the furniture is old and outdated and serving is not up to the mark. Pizza was on the buffet table but they want you to have cold ones rather than order a ;hot pizza.
Rooms 3/10
Very old rooms with leaking balconies. Spiders in the closet and mosquitosin the rooms  Bathrooms are small but ok. The t.v in the rooms are vintage sets. They need renovation but the management says they are not planning for one.i am not happy with the fact that they dont have fans in the bathroom or the balconies as the temp is quite humid. Balconies is a strict no no cause the mosquitos want a piece of you.

15 year old hotel with mr mattews as manager . 
And all rooms have sea view except 2.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piyush a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments. You will be happy to note that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we will soon be able to offer new rooms and food and beverage outlets. I am sure we will be able to exceed your expectations very soon. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Hotel is located in a wonderful location. The view from the roomss are excellent and the service is beyond compare. The best part of the Hotel is the friendliness of the staff not allowing onee to have a single compliant on the service. The food is great, One should try the barbeque night.

The location has several attractions from water sports to others nearby making the break back to hotel a quick affair. memorable and a go again place.

Room Tip: Dont remember but ask for the sea view rooms, they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kum28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thekkady
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

moore thanks .. too all staff ... frindly & smily ... we need more care fore Hala Foods

moore thanks .. too all staff ... frindly & smily ... we need more care fore Hala Foods

regards

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank khalid a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing