We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for a romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked Delux double room with sea view and I simply loved this hotel for its location,for its view and for its services.I had the most romantic days of my life during my stay.
Our stay was warm ,cosy and hassle free.They made our trip hasslefree with airport pick and drop..I would like to stay again if I visit Bentota again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nandanigoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
There are newer reviews for Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,610 - 1,616 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

Overall  experience 5/10
Nice big  property that is well maintained on the outside but needs a lot more on the rooms for a memorable stay.  location is bit on the inside . Food would be very disappointing for the amount that you spend.Overall not at all worth what you pay .and worst of all is you better pay to use our internet .

Property 7/10
Huge property and nice private beach where all rooms open towards the beach .. Higher floor rooms are of course better for better views. Gym is very small according to these standards.

Location 5/10
It is a little bit on the inside and a little away from the town. 25min walk from your room or else can take a tuk tuk for around 100 rupees.
Food. 3/10 
I must admit that it is a waste spending money on food that is just ok for the money that you are spending. Prices are according to taj standards but quality is lacking . Had an upset stomach .Vegetarian choices are very limited . Palms is their main restaurant but the furniture is old and outdated and serving is not up to the mark. Pizza was on the buffet table but they want you to have cold ones rather than order a ;hot pizza.
Rooms 3/10
Very old rooms with leaking balconies. Spiders in the closet and mosquitosin the rooms  Bathrooms are small but ok. The t.v in the rooms are vintage sets. They need renovation but the management says they are not planning for one.i am not happy with the fact that they dont have fans in the bathroom or the balconies as the temp is quite humid. Balconies is a strict no no cause the mosquitos want a piece of you.

15 year old hotel with mr mattews as manager . 
And all rooms have sea view except 2.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piyush a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMathewVM, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for your candid comments. You will be happy to note that the hotel is undergoing major renovations and we will soon be able to offer new rooms and food and beverage outlets. I am sure we will be able to exceed your expectations very soon. We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Hotel is located in a wonderful location. The view from the roomss are excellent and the service is beyond compare. The best part of the Hotel is the friendliness of the staff not allowing onee to have a single compliant on the service. The food is great, One should try the barbeque night.

The location has several attractions from water sports to others nearby making the break back to hotel a quick affair. memorable and a go again place.

Room Tip: Dont remember but ask for the sea view rooms, they are great
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kum28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

moore thanks .. too all staff ... frindly & smily ... we need more care fore Hala Foods

moore thanks .. too all staff ... frindly & smily ... we need more care fore Hala Foods

regards

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank khalid a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hospitality at its best. I had spent couple of nights with my family and we have thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Right from welcome drink to check out formalities, overall a wow experience.
Very caring team, excellent rooms, good quality food, excellent bar ( and bartender).....overall best place to be.
Once, the chief chef observed my wife struggling with the buffet ( she was picking up beef without reaslising that it was beef - we donot eat beef) so he approached her and cooked a dish for her suiting her taste right infornt of us.
Also, during our stay, our kids had accidentaly locked themselves up and had slept within the room ( putting the chain latch from inside) leaving me and my wife outside. When I and wife returned back to room and inserted the swipe card, we realised the kids had put the chain latch and were fast asleep. It is then that the entire team of hotel got together to help us get into the room just to find the kids fast asleep witout reaslising what their [parents and the hotel team had to undergo......more so, it was past midnight.

Room Tip: 511 is my fav :-)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahi1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This property is located about 3 hours from the airport and does not live up to the TAJ name. The private beach is very nice for a relaxing day out and the sunset can make up for most of what is missing. The rooms are tight and the service was slow. Add to that random strangers (not a part of the hotel staff) line up with cabs at the hotel entrance, promising grand day trip to near by places where you may end up with not so good food, over priced water sports etc.Overall good place to relax at the beach but that is all there is to it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pritika_Goyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Beautiful view, amazing rooms and bathrooms that are spacious. Clean and Hygienic rooms with an awesome view if you're in the sea facing ones. Lavish Breakfast and the hotel also has a good well stocked bar. Couple of water sports activities about a 5 minute drive form the hotel(transfers available). Clean beach, safe for children. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice, clean pool.

Room Tip: explore the town. dont just stay in the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anuj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
866 reviews
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,520 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $122 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing