We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Preston UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Really nice hotel with wonderful views over the sea. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not too busy always sun chairs available. Take care with the sun which even on cloudy days is very strong.
Food good and reasonably varied. Food in specialist restuarants is excellent. Room very clean but just beginning to shown signs of wear. Certainly would go back.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Needs some refurbishment soon
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank sinbad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    644
    213
    82
    45
See reviews for
699
968
53
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

I read mixed reviews about this hotel on this site before I went, but the hotel is absolutley excellent. Rooms are clean & comfortable, the staff are very friendly & attentive,the food is really good. I can particularly reccomend the chinese restuarant in the hotel. The pool area is very comfortable,no problem with sunbeds,and like most hotels along the strip,it backs on to the beach so you can leave your gear by the pool safely,& have a swim in the sea. There was nothing in the way of entertainment in the hotel,nor in Bentota itself,this wasn,t a problem for me but might be for some.Sri Lanka itself is a lovely country,with really friendly people,can recommend getting a taxi or Tuk Tuk to the turtle hatching research centre nearby to look at that, & take a trip to Galle,and walk up to the fort which overlooks the city. For eating outside the hotel,try the Aida restaurant, Golden Grill, & the Wunderbar for superb grilled jumbo prawns.All in all I had a great experience of sri lanka,even the unseasonal rain storms couldn,t ruin it.

  • Liked — service & cleanliness
  • Disliked — no entertainment
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dazmoz1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

Just returned 18th Nov 07. Reading the reviews on this website before our visit i got very worried and now want to reassure anyone wanting to visit the Taj Exotica that it is a very pleasent place! This was our first time travelling outside of Europe and we certainly did get a culture shock when we arrived in Sri Lanka. I do agree with some reviews in respect with the star rating, in European standards, 3/4 star but in Sri Lanka a 5 star without a doubt! Our journey to the hotel we passed many hotels that looked like over sized shacks and very dated places but when we arrived we were pleasently suprised to find secruity, lots of staff and a high level of cleanliness. The pool is amazing, fresh water so no problems with stinging eyes or contact lenses.
The staff in the hotel are brilliant and will try and make your stay more enjoyable so you come back. Be warned of beach boys and random people who come up to you in the street, they will start off a perfectly normal conversation but it all ends in how much money they can get out of you. Would reccommend taking your tennis and baddminton rackets, we did and played every day (a little exhausting in the heat). There isnt much to do in the area apart from an exceptional water sports center called sunshine watersports. Some of their staff walk around the hotel advertising, not a rip off at all, good value for money. we went water skiing and wake boarding, staff at the center were very patient and good at their jobs, free taxi to and from the center with air conditioning (very important)!
Only draw back is entertainment in the eveenings. There are no local bars and it is apparently very dangerous to go out of the hotel grounds at night. The hotel can be quite boring at night enless you are in a large group that can make your own entertainment.
Hope this is helpful to people

  • Liked — the views and the pool
  • Disliked — lack of evening entertainment
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank annadonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Taj Exotica in Bentota and were delighted with the holiday. Our friends were getting married at the Eden hotel in Berewela (just down the road) but we stayed seperately, choosing the Taj Exotica for our holiday.

The hotel was fantastic, the staff were brilliant and it was certainly classed as a 5* hotel in Sri Lankan terms, however may be a 4* in European class. The food was fantastic, always a huge selection of fresh fruit, salads, vegetables and fish dishes. The entertainment was ok with live bands on every night and an evening of 'Sri Lankan Culture' with dancers once a week. The rooms had slightly dated furniture but the views were fantastic. We had a standard room with a sea view and could watch the sunset every night. Pool and restaurants were also great.

Outside of the hotel, there isn't really a great deal to do in the immediate vacinity. We did not eat outside of the hotel due to lack of restaurants in the area but visited our friends in the local Eden hotel and Club Palm Gardens in Berewela. We were able to get a tuk-tuk to a local supermarket for some provisions for 300SLR round-trip, just over £1.

We went with Virgin Holidays who work in conjunction with Walkers Tours, based in Sri Lanka. The transfer from the airport took about 3 hrs, though beware of the driving as it is like nothing I have ever seen before! We bought 2 excursions; a 1 day trip to Galle, visiting a turtle hatchery, moonstone mine and the Dutch Fort in Galle itself, which was taken over by the British about 50 years ago. Our 2nd trip was for 2 days, visiting herbal gardens, silk and wood factories, botanical gardens and the elephant orphange which I would strongly recommend. We stayed in a 4* hotel in the hill country which made the Taj Exotica look like a 7* hotel when we got back!!!

Overall a great holiday. The people were very nice though they do expect to be tipped for absolutely everything. They are really trying to increase the number of tourists to Sri Lanka so will do everything they can to make sure we come back with great reviews :)

  • Liked — Views from pool/room
  • Disliked — Staff expected tips for everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jsh13980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We have just returned from Sri-Lanka, having spent fantastic holidays there. The hotel is very nice, all in all. The only drawback consists in rooms which seem quite old, with tired furniture and small bathroom which needs refurbishing. Although we did not pay much attention to such details as the landscape around the hotel was very picturesque and all the other hotel details (breakfast and dinner buffet, pool area, reception, beach etc.) were excellent. It is worth saying the ocean is stormy there throughout the year and you should be attentive while swimming. Huge waves all the time! Nevertheless we were enjoying swimming in the ocean 5 times per day since the water was clean and very warm. Within the hotel area one can see big lizards and palm squirrels - my wife liked feeding them from hands. Our package included a 4 day tour around the country but it is also possible to order all excursions at the hotel or buy tours from beach boys which could be essentially cheaper, no problems with that. I could recommend to visit Sigiriya, Dambulla, Nuvara-Eliya, Colombo, Kandy. Many ancient monuments, temples, dagobes - all very impressive. Not far from the hotel you can try boat tours around Bentota river, we were lucky enough to see crocodiles, snakes, tropic birds, big lizards in natural conditions. Turtle hatchery near Bentota and Elephant orphanage in Pinnawella are also nice places, worth visiting. Botanic Garden in Peradenya is a must! All in all our vacation was great. The hotel can be recommended as a good value for money (now they are offering very attractive prices, e.g. price of 7 days = 3 paid days). It is not a 5 star hotel, of course (I am almost sure there are no such beach hotels in Sri Lanka at all). But it is nice for quiet and relaxing vacations near the see, close to the places of Sri Lanka's cultural heritage

  • Liked — hotel territory, beautiful landscape, reception, large room
  • Disliked — tired furniture
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SergeiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

had a lovely time at this hotel, can,t fault location.i went part of wedding party and they up-graded our rooms no problem. i had my 18mth old grandson with me and the staff where brillant in every way, nothing was too much trouble, he went off his food whilst there, due to heat etc, but, they would always provide milk or snacks when we wanted them and did not charge. i was on BB package and found the room service very good value.
yes, its not 5star but i think they are closing it in december for refurbishment.
had a wonderful experience at the turtle project, they let us release some 3day old ones back into the sea!!
did not get hassled too much, they are still recovering from the tsunami, so felt should give a little help where we could.
not much entertainment at hotel, or outside, but ideal to chill, and we met lots of nice people whilst there.
weather was stormy first few days but did not spoil the wedding as could predict when the rain was coming,2nd week was better.
the sea is abit rough with under currents so not for me, but we were happy by the pool.
the guys outside hotels with tuk tuks are friendly, just agree a price before you go anywhere.
i felt safe on my own as i went running each day and nobody bothered me, just bemused faces, friendly banter etc,
would recommend it, should be even better next year.....

  • Liked — the views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SheffieldScotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

The overall feel of the hotel is very nice hotel with a good beach area, but a bit outdated. We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in October 2007. Unfortunately, it rained the majority of the time so we didn't get to make much use of the outdoor amenities. The pool area was large and nice. The beach in front of the hotel was nice and clean. The landscape of the hotel was beautiful. The room interiors were a bit old, but in reasonably good condition. The onsite restaurants were very good. The main buffet restaurant was very good.
We were traveling as a family of 5 so we needed 2 rooms. The original booking was for connecting rooms, but the hotel was overbooked and they could not accomodate the request. We booked ocean view rooms. The rooms that they gave us were not close together. The front desk offered to put us in courtyard view rooms that were at least next to each other, but they were still not connecting and the view from these rooms was disappointing.
The hotel has some games including a pool table that were able to keep the kids entertained during the rain. All in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
7.6 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
#3 of 10 in Wadduwa
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Bentota

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Address: National Holiday Resort, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bentota
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Bentota 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sri Lanka is referred to as a ‘small miracle,’ for despite the island’s relatively small size, its natural wonders and beauty are in abundance. Vivanta by Taj – Bentota is located on the south west coast of Sri Lanka. The hotel lies over a lush hill that overlooks the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Bentota Hotel Bentota
Taj Exotica Hotel Bentota
Bentota Taj Exotica Hotel
Taj Exotica Sri Lanka
Taj Exotica Srilanka
Taj Exotica Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing