We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saman Villas
Nearby Hotels
$125
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
$112
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$90
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$52
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Villa(Bentota)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveler rating
731
106
31
5
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
731
106
31
5
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooldressing roomour honeymoondeluxe villasri lankaoutdoor bathroomindian oceanromantic dinnerspa treatmentslocation is beautifulsitting areaoverlooking the oceansound of the wavesrain showerperfect endlittle touchesspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 889 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After traveling all over Sri Lanka we stayed 3 nights at Saman Villas before heading back home. We enjoyed the quite and peaceful time. Our luxurious room was spacious, had a very nice outdoor shower and, to top it off, a private pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious – especially their Sri-Lankan-style one.

We had several massages during our stay in Sri Lanka and can say that their Spa was just the best. Although it is also more expensive than the standard ayurvedic Spa, their very professional and highly trained therapists are just amazingly good and really worth the extra money.

The hotel is nicely located atop of some rocks right at the sea and has very nice, secluded beaches to the north and south.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceansize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

it was by far the best holiday we had with my boyfriend. Hotel was very nice with Friendly staff, nice location, excotic room view, its a dream place to stay.. You just need to be cautious about mosquitos and insect bites! very itchy and it leaves a strange mark on your skin for a while!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burcusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I took my wife to Saman Villas as a surprise for her 30th birthday, and the whole experience was nothing short of sheer luxury and paradise! Collected at Colombo Airport by car, the drive was smooth and quick, arriving in just under two hours.

Check in was smooth.....I love the reception area at the top of the steps, surrounded by trees and water pools...after check in, a short walk up wooden stairs...and then bang! The view of the ocean and pool....a site to behold!

Our bags were dropped off at our ground floor villa, note we did not take a pool villa.....did not see the point of a pool villa, when there are only 8 other guest around the huge infinity pool...plus our villa had two sun beds out the front....even more, there are sun loungers scattered around the quiet gardens, all with view of the sea.

We were on a half board package, which WAS the right decision, as the food and service were of the highest standard. Each member of the restaurant staff knew our names, and we were treated like royalty at every encounter in the restaurant or bar! Food was of the highest standard, and expertly served by the restaurant team...you have to try the Sri Lankan breakfast....I still dream of Egg Hoppers....

We met the hotel manager, Spa manager and housekeeping, all of who, knew our names....

Housekeeping team did an excellent job of keeping our room immaculate....great little touch was the local flowers on the bed, and the fresh fruit on a daily basis....

As part of our package, we had a 90 minute Spa treatment each...The best massage I have had....plus the Spa setting is stunning and very relaxing!

We did venture out of the hotel a couple of times, once to walk the beach and visit some of the local shops, and second time to have an excellent dinner at Mali seafood restaurant (separate review)...

The highlight of our stay, was the effort that the restaurant and kitchen team went to for my wife surprise dinner, it was very very good...food, service and setting were excellent....

We loved our time at Saman villas, it was a truly memorable holiday, that could not have been any better...thank you to all that this excellent hotel!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Travel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Saman Villas after traveling around Sri Lanka. It was perfect. On our first night during dinner a man softly played a bamboo flute in a pavilion nearby and that with the sound of the ocean waves set the mood for our entire stay. Quiet, peaceful, tasteful.

The design of the lobby, restaurant, pool and garden are simple, elegant and beautifully designed in a mixture of Sri Lankan and colonial styles, as was our room. The open air bathroom and the terrace are especially nice, and everything is very light and spacious. And of course the views out to the ocean and over the beaches are amazing.

The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. The wait staff in the restaurant, the pool staff, reception and the cleaning staff... it was all smiles and perfect service. We enjoyed speaking with all of them. The rooms were always perfectly cleaned in the morning and turned down at night with wonderful details, like flowers and palm leaf decorations.

The food was excellent. Four course dinners, choice of three types of breakfast, complimentary champagne on arrival, fruit every day in our room, box of sweets on our last night...all perfect. How nice not to have a buffet for the half board meal plan!

As it was the first half of october there weren't very many guests, at most there were 5 rooms occupied. We chose an upper room because we didn't like the idea of guests above us looking down on our terrace. In the end it didn't matter because there was almost no other guests there. But if the hotel was full I'm glad we had an upper room, not having a private plunge pool didn't really matter, as we spent most of the day by the pool.

Thanks to the entire staff at Saman Villas for making our last days in Sri Lanka so perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shubhayatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon here and after 2 weeks travelling the country with lots of lovely guest houses and experiences our expectations were very high. Saman Villas delivered on every level and we cannot fault a thing. We were made to feel very special with welcome champagne, a three course candlelit dinner and a couples massage all free of charge. Our room was spotless, spacious and very modern. We slept like babies every night and relaxed by our private infinity pool. The staff were outstanding at every level, the food was excellent as were the spa treatments. It was a fantastic and fitting end to a wonderful honeymoon and I would recommend this to any couple. We're already planning a return for an anniversary in the future! Outstanding!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews