We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly run hotel in a beautiful location.”
Review of Saman Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saman Villas
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Arranged at short notice, we struck lucky with this hotel. Our relaxation started the minute we enter into the courtyard - the architecture, and water features are restful and uncluttered, the location beautiful and the staff the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. All the good things earlier reviewers say are true - we couldn't fault it. The other guests were either older couples or honeymooners, so no children when we were there, which added to the calmness about the place.
The food in the restaurant is fantastic and has all the best in Sri Lanka cuisine, and having tried a few other restaurants in the area, we decided they didn't come up to the Saman Villa's standard for quality and presentation, and the prices were about the same - so we chose to eat in the restaurant all the time after that. If you can, take the opportunity for a massage. At first sceptical, it was a first time for my husband, and he was amazed and delighted how deeply relaxing it was.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CjMFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendon M, Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.
We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 854 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location is stunning and the staff attentive and do their very best to cater to your every need.The service and ambiance of the place was without fault which made for a very relaxing and memorable weekend .!

Dianne

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendon M, Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

We look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fantastic start to our holiday at this lovely boutique hotel which is perched on a rocky headland between two sandy and virtually empty beaches, located about 2.5 hours drive from Columbo airport. Once the (will be no more than 2 hours once the final stretch of the Galle to Columbo Expressway is completed in August). Tranquil and relaxing surroundings with outstanding sea views, delicious food and great service. The weather will be warm but I can’t guarantee dry and sunny even in February. Little to do in the immediate locality (Bentota has few restaurants). Some excursions within easy reach (turtle hatchery; whale watching; river cruise; Galle), but it is a very long drive to the island’s top attractions. A perfect place to relax on a beach/pool holiday or to chill out for a few days before/after an island tour.

Room facilities: With the exception of the Villa, all suites very much the same (bedroom; dressing room; huge semi-outdoor bathroom with open air showers & oversize bath; small lounge area; large terrace with day bed, table & chairs). Large, comfortable bed with choice of pillows. Quiet and effective air-conditioning. Good BOSE sound system for the CD player with speakers in all rooms including the open air bathroom (could be a nuisance if neighbours are inconsiderate regarding the volume). The TV signal was a bit patchy (presumably due to the intermittent thunderstorms). As in most hotels, the hairdryer was not great if you have long, thick hair and there were no sockets in the bathroom or dressing room. I had to use my own dryer and straighteners in the lounge but without the benefit of a mirror. Umbrellas and torches in each suite. Some nice additional touches - the welcome champagne; complimentary foot massage; fruit bowl; decorated bed; fresh lotus flowers etc. Room and pool serviced thoroughly each day. Plenty of good sized towels. Complimentary bottled water provided daily. The burning coils (placed in the bathroom and on terrace) and the electric repellent seemed to keep the mosquitoes and others crawlies away on a night-time, but I managed to get bitten quite badly during the day so I recommend that you use sunscreen with a repellent).

Room types: There are five room types and the description on the hotel website is pretty accurate. With the exception of the duplex 'Villa', the hotel comprises several two storey buildings each housing two suites which are pretty much the same in terms of size and facilities. So, price aside, the deciding factors for room choice are whether you want privacy, sun or a private pool. The hotel’s main pool was never crowded and there are ample sunbeds dotted around the pool and grounds. All 27 suites are sea facing. #1-12 and the two storey duplex ‘Villa Suite’ lie to the south and catch the sun for most of the day; the other suites face north. The Superior suites are located on the upper level on both the north and south sides, some of these have the best unobstructed sea views. Ground floor Deluxe suites are on the south side and have a small front garden with sun beds but are the least private. The Deluxe suites with private (7-metre) pool are all on the north side and can be overlooked by guests staying in the rooms above. We were pleased that we had opted to stay in the Grand Deluxe Suite with pool which was located in the building furthest south. It was great to be able to dip in and out of the pool which was a good size (7m long but not wide enough for two people to swim side by side). The pool and side garden were relatively private as they weren’t overlooked by the suite above and were semi-enclosed by walls, shrubs and coconut trees. On the downside we didn’t benefit from any cooling seabreezes and the views over the beach/sea were partially obstructed. We also had a small front garden - not very private but great for catching the late afternoon sun. The Villa is larger (a duplex so no guests overhead) with superb views on both the ground and upper floors plus a completely enclosed and very private garden with pool.

Dining; There is one restaurant and a very small bar. When the weather was fine, a few tables were set up on the outside grassed terrace. Generous portions of delicious food. Fresh juices and platters of local fruit to start breakfast, followed by pastries and choice of hot/cold dishes. Good choice of European, Sri Lankan and other Asian cuisine from the a la carte lunch/dinner menu. The chef will happily adjust the strength of your curry to suit - you just need to ask. You can also choose from the daily set menu for dinner (three or four courses plus sorbet). Excellent seafood but you need to make a special request for the lobster. We really loved the romantic candle-lit dinner served by our pool on Valentine’s Day.

Lovely welcome with cold towels and refreshing drink. As other reviewers have commented, all the staff are so friendly and obliging. We were always greeted with a smile and the staff seemed genuinely interested in asking us about our day. Everyone worked really hard to make our stay special.

Room Tip: Suites #1-12 (including Grand Deluxe Suite with pool) and the two storey Villa for the more sunny so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendon M, Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website. We are in the process of upgrading our current TV channels with another service provider. We have noted down your comment with regard to the electrical sockets which will be taken up at our next management review meeting.


We look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villa in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our first time to Sri Lanka and first time at splurging on a high-end facility. It was well worth it. What a well designed property offering sea views from every building and room. The grounds are so pretty and calm, that just walking to the reception area is a peaceful experience! The staff are just incredible. Living in Calabria,Italy, we were ready for a break in menu and the chefs at Saman Villas did not disappoint - terrific varieties and all done perfectly including some special dietary requests from us. Saman Villas could easily turn into an annual pilgrimage for us seeking warmth in the winter. We liked our standard room above the private pool rooms.

Room Tip: Northside rooms have a more interesting sea-beach view. Get as close to the main pool as possible as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.
We are pleased that you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the last but one of a series of hotels we used during our recent trip to Sri Lanka. Its location is truly stunning with the roaring ocean on both sides, with its infinity pool hung in mid- air, with deserted beaches on either side for short or long walks. The staff are friendly and non- obtrusive, yet aware of your needs. The room we had, on the first floor of one of the villas, had a breath- taking view if the ocean. The restaurant had a good variety of dishes, my only slight criticism is that they could be a bit more generous with their fruit portions: after all fruit must be cheap on the island compared to e. g. London where it is imported from the four corners of the earth. Maybe they could introduce a " small" or " large" option, for those of us that adore papaya, pineapple and mango.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.


We appreciate your comment “ my only slight criticism is that they could be a bit more generous with their fruit portions”. Our reply is for the benefit of future visitors. Our breakfast portions are determined according to consumption patterns and to minimize wastage. For American breakfast there is no restriction in the quantity. If a guest wishes to have an extra portion of any item all he has to do is to request.


We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in room 3 with my partner, on the ground floor, and had a great & relaxing time.
This was our best portion of 3 weeks in Sri Lanka.
The property is perfectly manicured & scenic, and the staff are friendly, courteous, and professional. The quality of service, food, and accomodations are as nice as we have experienced, on par with Aman resorts.
Against other (similarly priced) resorts/hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka, this was the best value for money.
A tad expensive, but if you have the means, it's worth it.

Room Tip: Liked the ground floor setting, as we could walk out directly to the beach, pool, and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wix93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.

We were delighted to read the favorable comments made about the hotel and thank the reviewer for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.

While we appreciate the comparison made with similar prices hotels, our team is committed to make Saman Villas the best and not just equal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After an 11 day tour around Sri Lanka, we were tired and in need of some TLC. Saman villas was the perfect choice for a chill out before going back home to the UK. We were greeted by warm friendly smiles, a bottle of sparkling wine and exceptional service. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone in this small boutique hotel if you wanted anything you just picked up the phone or asked and it was there or done within minutes. Food was excellent, beautiful fresh fruit juices and fruit platters for breakfast and choices from the full Sri Lankan breakfast to just about anything you wanted. Dinner was just as good with a set menu or a la carte. The rooms were superb, beautifully furnished and spacious. Bathrooms that you just not want to leave, open air drench showers and egg shaped curved baths. It was the attention to detail that made this place so special, loads of little touches and staff that go that little bit further without you even noticing.
Stretches of golden beach are on both sides of the hotel and make for a good morning walk before sunbathing by the infinity pool, that is if you don't choose to have a room with your own pool.
Bentota is just up the road and you can get a Tuk Tuk (ask reception to call Susi for you) Just tell him what you want & he will take you to the best place. However why would want to leave this little bit of paradise?

Room Tip: Rooms with pools are on the ground floor and are overlooked by the Superior rooms above so if you ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheFloodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth L, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We thank the reviewer for their stay at Saman Villas and sharing their holiday experience.
We were delighted in reading the favorable comments and thank you for expressing them for the benefit of visitors to this website.
We wish you would return and look forward to welcoming you to Saman Villas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
22.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 28 in Hikkaduwa
629 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Villas

Address: Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#1 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bentota
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $378 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Saman Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saman Villas is laid out on a magnificent rocky headland dividing two long, surf-swept golden beaches. Close by is a sleepy fishing village but you would not know it, the only sounds are sea gulls' cries and the surf below. The resort is inspired by ancient Sri Lankan architecture. The restaurants, bars and villa suites are all angled to take full advantage of the sea shore vista either side of the headland. A terraced garden draws the eye to a dramatic infinity-edge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saman Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saman Villas Hotel Bentota
Saman Hotel Aturuwella
Saman Resort Aturuwella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing