We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
ZenHotels.com
$465
View deal
FindHotel
Destinia.com
$414
View deal
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveler rating
933
125
40
5
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
933
125
40
5
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool dressing room our honeymoon sri lanka indian ocean superior suite foot massage paradise on earth location is beautiful boutique hotel set menu half board palm trees spa sea privacy promontory
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have visited Saman Villas a few times attracted by the location, the views the quiet and privacy afforded by the villas and the general ambience of the hotel and staff.
I returned in August 2011 for a weekend stay. I had the same warm efficient welcome on arrival and ever attentive but not intrusive service throughout the stay.
The villas have been refurbished I congratulate the hotel on the stylish upgrade.
The food too which was previously not a highlight has improved. The menu was certainly exciting and quality great.
I cannot wait to go back to Saman Villas for more relaxing weekends or time permitting longer . A weekend there is worth a week in other places in terms of down time for sure !

Room tip: I have stayed in many all wonderful , push the boat out for room one if very special !
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We thank the reviewer for the excellent comments and are pleased to hear that our reviewer had yet another enjoyable stay at Saman Villas .

We are delighted to hear that the reviewer liked the new look and feel of the suites after its recent refurbishment. The menus too have been transformed by our new Chef and we are very pleased that the reviewer found our food to be of high quality.

Thank you for making such favorable comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We enjoyed a lot our stay at the Saman Villas. It is a great hotel with high quality services.
We had a wonderfull Villa overlooking the Ocean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Food really good and swimming pool... breathtaking ..
The gold beaches nearby are wild and it is worth to have a walk as well as a visit to the Turtle center.. around 18.30 it might be possible to help tartle puppies in reach the Ocean

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SaraD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Saman Villas and the excellent comments.

We are delighted to hear the excellent comment made about our food and very especially about our staff.

Thank you for making such favorable comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I recently stayed ay Saman Villas with my husband and his parents and we loved every minute of our stay. The food is all freshly prepared to order, even breakfast, the service is fantastic and I would definately recommend using the spa. We stayed in the pool villas and it was worth it to have the privacy of your own pool with fantastic views down the coast, although the main pool was pretty amazing too. The hotel is in an area with easy access to restaurants, shops and places to visit during the day (if you can manage to tear yourself away from your pool!) I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes good food, great service and amazing views.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLTDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Saman Villas and the excellent comments made about the hotel.

We are delighted to hear the excellent comment made about our food and very especially about our staff.

Thank you for making such favorable comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We arrived here after a 8 day tour of Sri Lanka.The welcome was outstanding and we immediately felt at home in these beautifull surroundings .Our Villa was the basic class -upstairs with a verandah overlooking the beach and gardens. We had a loung area ,bed area, separate dressing room and a beautiful bathroom fully air conditioned. The staff are warm and friendly and eager to help you.The food on the 1/2 board menu is excellent ,snacks at lunch are first class in quality and quickly served. This is a very peaceful place almost monastic in its tranquility. The infinity pool is a spectacular place to spend a relaxing afternoon. We actually did very little else apart from walks on the beach whilst we were there. The only minor comment is that perhaps a cool cocktail bar where guest could gather before or after dinner with maybe a little music would improve the ambiance.It was low season when we were there and it was less than half full and there was not much chance to interact with other guests but perhaps Saman regular customers prefer it that way .

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steelman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myfacebook, Sales & Marketing Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

We thank the reviewer for sharing their holiday experience at Saman Villas and the excellent comments.

We are delighted to hear the excellent comment made about our food and very especially about our staff.

Thank you for making such favorable comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Some rooms may well have private pools but we didn't ned one as the beautiful infinity pool was so spectacular. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Wonderful accommodation, breathtaking scenery, fantastic food and service and the friendliest staff you could hope for. I almost wept when it was time to come home!!

Room tip: The ground floor garden room we had was perfect.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayan Ganegoda, General Manager at Saman Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Ayubowan! (May you live long!),

Dear Valued Guest,

Our sincere apologies for the late respond, Thank you for sharing the experience during your stay at Saman Villas.

We would be delighted to welcome you again and it is such a delight to know that our great location has made your stay with us more memorable and also highest service levels of our team members.

We indeed look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Stay safe!

Warm regards,
Dayan Ganegoda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews