We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Haus Berlin- You made our holidays splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haus Berlin, Bentota
Ranked #6 of 67 Bentota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I invited my Indian friends to Sri Lanka for a holiday stay and i was really lucky to find such a nice place like Haus Berlin through the net. We all stayed there for a whole week in December and such a lovely time it was! The nature friendly environment, comfortable rooms and those delicious food with that very friendly staff gave a real value for our stay throughout. Even the 2 days tour organized by Haus Berlin to hill country was marvelous and my friends embraced the beauty of our country which they say they've never seen before. Even cycling to the sea beach was really interesting and all my indian friends are yearning to come back here. They thank me again and again and I thank your team on behalf of them! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Haus Berlin is a great small family run hotel. The owner and staff at the hotel were very helpful, freindly and attentive to our needs. For a family with children this was a great choice. It is set in a lovely quiet village about 2kms from the beach, which gave the peace and tranquility in the evenings and with the hotels Rikshaw (paid separetly) and bicycles one can still travel to beach and other sites. The hotel has German influence but so does most of Bentota, so do not let this stop you. The pool is OK for relaxing and for young kids to play, it is kept clean.

The hotel is very clean and the family room was spaciaous and comfortable. As it is a small place the meals have to be ordered in advance on the day so that they can prepare. The food was great and they even cooked special Sri Lankan meal at our request. We did not use the Aurveda or the tour service offered by the hotel.

Overall a great experience, the children enjoyed the service and the attention they received. It was great value for money and would definetly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I read about a review saying the house is truely German in spirit, I really had to say that it is not true at all. Some honest, normal Sri Lankan people are working here and yes, the owner is German and so are most of the guests but what is wrong with that ? I did not feel any difference with the other guesthouses I stayed at during the last two years, all in the same area, as this is my preferred village in Sri Lanka: Almost deserted but beautiful beaches just a walk away, authentic villages surrounded by amazing paddy fields just a bicycle ride away, shops and restaurants nearby in Bentota or Aluthgama, Galle road a walk away to catch a bus or threeweeler and not too far out for a day shopping or sightseeing in Colombo. The guesthouse is just 400 meters further than another famous guesthouse, Shangri Lanka Villa, so ideally located. Staff are all Sri Lankan and as usual very friendly and discrete. Nothing is too much for them and no fake smiles but sincere interest in their guests comes for free. Only about six rooms so the grounds are mostly for yourself. The pool is not the biggest but very clean and refreshing after a day touring or a swim in the ocean. The manager was very honest about the rates and was exactly what I expected to pay. Internet is the best I have ever had in Sri Lanka, in my room with a free wireless connection. Food is good and it is cosy to come all together in the evenings with the other guests. They also have an Ayurveda center at the back of the garden which I did not use. It is no problem if you invite some local friends over to have a drink. Tours can be made with the manager himself and a driver. A tuk-tuk is also available for use. So nothing than good things about what I think an underestimated guesthouse ! When you then add the good rates of about 50 Euro a night BB, there is no complaint at all I can think of.
What an amazing country !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Nice family hotel located about 2 km from Bentota beach in the village surounded by the green. They have only 5 rooms but all of them are very large. Some of them are family rooms with 4 beds. The food is nothing special ( breakfasts are a little bit poor), but it is possible to arrange the menu for the dinner with the staff. The owner, mr. Ajit is very friendly as the whole staff. They have their own tuk-tuk, so the driver Dillum took us on the beach and in the town several times. We loved the atmosphere and the sourroundings but it is a little far away from the sea. Haus Berlin is a good value for money and is a perfect hotel to stay for a few days. I missed a Wi fi, but I noticed, that it was possible to get wired with the PC. Overall i reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

As the name suggests, it is German in spirit. But the mosquitoes are definitely Sri Lankan. It has a nice pool and just far enough from the beach to enjoy a bicycle ride from the hotel which the hotel provides for its guests. The net is not free (and it is just one PC) and there is no wireless. Breakfast is okay. Dinner also is okay. The rooms are large so are the bathrooms. We were on the ground floor and close to the pool. And the kids loved the hotel because of the cycling, swimming and the beach. One night was just right. Service was good but communication while ordering was a little difficult. A bit more oomph in the food, a few more nice touches and a bit more warmth and the place could actually be excellent. But then it would not be German in spirit.
As for the mosquitoes, definitely ask for the mosquito coils.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Danny03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank piden12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith J, General Manager at Haus Berlin, Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maask2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
2.1 mi away
Janus Paradise Rest
Janus Paradise Rest
#15 of 26 in Bentota
55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mihin Villa
Mihin Villa
#14 of 26 in Bentota
153 reviews
1 mi away
Palm Beach Inn and Sea Shells Cabanas
1.2 mi away
Hygge Resorts
Hygge Resorts
#25 of 26 in Bentota
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Berlin, Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Berlin, Bentota

Address: 213 Alvis Road | Dope, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: $37 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Berlin, Bentota 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautiful landscaped grounds, Haus Berlin offers relaxing stays in spacious rooms. Featuring an outdoor pool, it offers bike rental, Satellite TV, free Wi-Fi in rooms and public areas for free. A 5-minute drive from Bentota's sandy beaches, Haus Berlin is a 2 and 1/2 hour drive from Bandaranaike International Airport. Free parking is available. Well-ventilated rooms at Haus Berlin Bentota open out to views of tropical greenery. They come with air conditioning and a private bathroom with heated shower facilities. Guests can enjoy leisurely afternoons at the seating areas dotting the property. Other facilities include a restaurant that serves local, Chinese and international dishes. This property is also rated for the best value in Bentota! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Haus Berlin, Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing