We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best in Bentota”

AIDA Ala carte Restauarant
Ranked #20 of 62 Restaurants in Bentota
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A very friendly restaurant that is situated on the banks of the river that can be clearly viewed whilst dining. We serve good seafood and tasty meals from curries to sandwiches and steaks.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Probably the best in Bentota”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Unfortunately we discovered this restaurant onoly after few days - and it immideately became our favorite! Absolutely the best view (to the river), nice and comfortable outdoors sitting, excellent service - this is what makes it different from other restaurants in Bentota. Food was great - we had several meals there, and all were good, especially we enjoyed the selection of Sri-Lankan curries - but this is a huge meal, so one for 2 is just right size.
The restaurant is not easy to find - it is well hidden in the yard, you have to go through the narrow passage near Aida gems store and then take the stairs on the left.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brungilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    83
    37
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“If you don't look rich, don't go there”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The staff didn't clean our table from previous guests so we had some plates and cutlery near by. The waiter was definitely not friendly and when he heard that we'll only have juice he didn't say another word to us.
Restaurant has got free wifi and that was the only good thing about our visit. And the view maybe.
Terrible!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-manchester
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Well what can we say as a family other than a massive THANKYOU to everyone at the Aida. Kalu being our main waiter for the four weeks we were in Sri Lanka x we stayed from dec 11- 8 jan . We had visited the Aida on previous visits.This time was ultra special x All staff members are amazing x All friendly, but not overbearing and fake. The restaurant has Wifi and on the occasion it didn't work they sorted it out. They also knew we liked football and as we were walking up the stairs they were changing the Channel. Service at its best. We had a very attentive waiter in Kalu and nothing was ever too much trouble. He and the other staff always made sure we had everything we could have wanted and more too x The vegetable and cream of tomato soup were amazing. As were the huge portion of onion rings freshly made. We built up a good friendship with the staff here and they treated us like friends and not customers. Sometimes our order wouldn't be huge but that didn't matter. Whatever you want you can have if available. We had Christmas evening meal here and new year too. They were great nights and enjoyed by all of us. Our group is mixed as the youngest being my grandson who is 4 and the oldest being my mum who is 77. There's something for everyone. Maybe a few more choices especially for kids such as pizza or chicken nibbles or nuggets, would improve it further with the kids choices. The seafood was always fresh and very reasonably priced. As are all the prices on the menu. A very worthy dessert to try would be the pineapple surprise haha believe me it's a surprise. Worth every penny. Also the Ceylon cup. Devine. My daughters favourite meal was onion steak. The taste was truly amazing. The chicken in a basket is huge. Enjoy it. All in all the whole experience was fantastic. On our last night my daughter and I were given gifts. I was an emotional wreck as always when leaving Sri Lanka. But I thought this personal touch was really special x THANKYOU to everyone there x we miss u all and will see u all soon as we can x from Bernie, Amos, Mary, Rav, Rio and Ashton

Helpful?
2 Thank bernadetteantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scyohan, Manager at AIDA Ala carte Restauarant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the Lovely comment. We miss you already. It was so happy to serve you all. Please pass my greetings to your family.

See you soon and thanks again

Priyanga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We told our driver we wanted to eat seafood and he brought us to Aida Restaurant. The restaurant was by the river and romantic at night. Initially we were disappointed that we could not eat any crab(were told not in season) but were later compensated by the delicious lobster, crayfish, prawn, fish. In addition to those, we ordered jumbo prawns too. The chef did a good job grilling and cooking them....they were finger licking good! The staff were friendly and attentive...good service provided, I must say.
Before ordering, go to display fridge and see their offers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unmemorable”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is clearly catered for the West. Everything was with rice and chips. Portions were small. Food quality was OK and unmemorable. Nice settings. Service was very slow. All in all, nothing to write home about.


Helpful?
1 Thank Lun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scyohan, Owner at AIDA Ala carte Restauarant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the unexpected rush on the 1st of january eve. One of our key member in the kitchen were absent after a heavy 31st night and kitchen was not running as usual. sorry for the delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AIDA Ala carte Restauarant also viewed

Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to AIDA Ala carte Restauarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing