We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel by the Sea”
Review of Casa Siena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Siena
Ranked #17 of 66 Bentota B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to spend the night here at Casa Siena! Great private boutique rooms! The pool is gorgeous and you cross the train tracks and are right on the beautiful beach! They don't serve lunch or dinner, but do a wonderful breakfast and you can ask for a pot of tea to be served in the afternoon of you wish.
You must check out the turtle sanctuary just down the beach 100m at 'Wunderbar'- around 8pm you can release baby turtles into the sea and give a donation if you wish.

On thing I thought was a bit off was all the moth balls used in the bathroom- it is a horrible smell and not necessary! It gets in the towels and ends up smelling like a nursing home- I hope the manager can find something else to make a nice smell, because moth balls are definitely not the answer.

Other than that- we would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

What an amazing place to stay. Comfortable and airy elegant rooms, thoughtfully designed. Relaxing terrace and swimming pool. Beautiful garden with frangipani trees and calm ponds running down towards the beach. Delightful friendly service from the lovely Errol and his team and of course a super breakfast and afternoon tea! Thanks so much Errol, we will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank doghouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

our stay in Casa Siena was amazing. the setting is ideal and fully of character. the owner and his team were delightfully and charming. the best bit has to be the owners sri lankan style scrambled eggs! the pool, rooms, and outside areas were elegant and stylish. the only thing would be the air conditioning but apart from that it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a welcomed respite after a long train ride / drive from Kandy. The entire place is very tastefully decorated, well maintained and relaxing. Errol and the staff were very accommodating and flexible. The beach was fantastic with great sunsets. The surf was too strong for swimming in the immediate area, but a 10 minute walk on the beach got us to good ocean swimming. The pool was fine for swimming....we prefer the ocean. Only drawback was there weren't towels for the beach, but it appeared that was they way for all the nearby places. We were there 5 nights. The breakfasts were wonderful with a variety of fresh fruits. We had the Sri Lankan egg dish daily as it was so good even though other choices were available.

Room Tip: We had room number 3 which was large and included an extra bed upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMarMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Errol has designed and built a wonderful bijoux hotel with a glorious swimming pool. Our room had a high ceiling and perfectly adequate fan with its own delightful verandah looking straight at the coconut trees and beach.
His staff Karu and Sanjeewa are so helpful and friendly, arriving with trays of silver pots of tea and coffee with smiles.
Ask Errol for his Sri Lankan breakfast, a slightly spicy scrambled egg with fresh curry leaves and a hint of chilli. He also makes his own jam using pineapple, passion fruit and lime, it's exquisite . Errol had a five star catering business for many years. He couldn't have been more welcoming and we will definitely be back. We were driving ourselves and Karu surprised us by washing the car to send us on to the next part of our adventure in this stunning country.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockinghorseMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

A lovely place with a very charming host.
Erroll and his team were excellent, and could not be more helpful.
The place is like a delightful private home, with your own very polished team of butlers!
The pool is very warm, and stylishly lanscaped and well lit at night - a delight.
If there were anything I could change it would be AC in rooms, as our fan was not very efficient.
VERY enjoyable stay

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank BoutiqueFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at Casa Siena with my family for four nights.The property is operated with both professionalism and charm.It has great style as well as comfort at a reasonable rate , given the high standards on offer. The pool is plenty big enough and perfect for relaxing.Like many parts of Bentota, the railway line is immediately to the sea side of the property so there is some noise but it never detracted from our stay.Ideal location for a quiet get away.i recommend the Sri Lankan egg dish offered for breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.0 mi away
Taru Villas - Rock Villa
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 25 in Bentota
833 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Siena

Address: Bentota | Robolgoda, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka (Formerly Taprobana)
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range: $80 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Siena, a small boutique hotel, offers 9 individual rooms furnished with handpicked antiques or reproductions, each room with en-suite bathroom and own veranda or balcony. Facilities: well maintained pool amidst green lush garden with beautiful exotic floras and lotus ponds, restaurant, kitchen, reception, sitting lounges. Location: 50m away from the golden sandy beach of Bentota. Different possibilities for excursions or sport activities. There are plenty of dining possibilities within a stone's throw from Casa Siena suitable to all budgets from simple to fine dining. Casa Siena - we spoil you with simplicity and style. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing