We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Our favourite restaurant in Sri Lanka. Very friendly staff - great with the kids and really lovely food! A great Sri Lankan experience watching the trains go by!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    245
    85
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We came here because of the trip advisor reviews. We arrived at 6pm and were the only people in the restaurant, given that I can't comment on atmosphere but the service was not good. There is no childrens menu and they didn't even try to accommodate my 8 and 10 year, even with smaller portions. The menu is limited and I had the Thai green curry which was very below average, the rest of the party had good meals. It seems very overpriced, no a/c which made it very uncomfortable. Right next to the railway line and no views. Our driver recommended restaurants every night to us and we were never disappointed: but he couldn't understand why we wanted to go there - I think we should have listened to him.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place will knock your socks off!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say that this was the best restaurant that I went I during my stay in Sri Lanka. This seafood restaurant is one that you really have to try if in Bentota, hell, even if you're not in Bentota! Upon arriving we looked at the menu which was a small selection of quality dishes. We at first were set on purchasing these dishes rather than the fresh fish, put off by the "day price" but we're soon reassured when the manager of the restaurant came round with a tray of all the local fish, all of which looked delicious. He then told us the prices which were all extremely good value for the quality of the fish. The fresh fish was really good but the river prawns really stole the show. With succulent and juicy meet combined with an easy to peel shell( as long as you allow it to cool) they were amazing. The thai red prawn curry was very nice and at a very cheap £7 based on it's incredible sauce. The service was so good that extra rice was provided without charge when necessary. We were also given shots at the end of the meel "on the house" which was an incredible way to top off the nice and the smiling manager made the restaurant an extremely pleasant meal which is definitely superior to any hotel food in quality and value. Will almost certainly go here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Everything you want in a fish restaurant is here. The food is outstanding, the staff are the friendliest I've meet & the Manager Malli is a gentleman & amazing host. It's a must.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine dining by the tracks”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We chose jumbo prawns and parrot fish from the selection of fresh seafood that was brought to the table. It was prepared perfectly and served with an tomato appetizer and rice. The seafood was fresh and the simple flavour was perfect after 8 days of curry. Malli and the staff were excellent hosts. Way to go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canasean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing