We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place was really lovely. It's small and was quiet both times we visited (but was low season), but the atmosphere was still nice. The waiters and manager were lovely and very friendly, chatting to us. The first time we all had large tiger prawns which were the biggest ones I've ever seen and were as delicious as they looked. The second time, the waiters remembered us and seemed happy to see us which was nice. We had fish which was fresh and tasty. The only downside is that it was right next to the railway track, so when a train passed it was deafening, but it definitely wasn't a deal-breaker! Some of the nicest meals we ate in Sri Lanka, with some of the nicest staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    245
    85
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seafood and Sri Lankan style”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was a special experience, so much so that we repeated it. If you like prawns, this is the place to eat. A range of fresh seafood was brought to the table for us to choose from the day's catch. Big prawns one day, smaller sweeter ones the next time. Malli was a great host moving around the tables chatting to his guests. The occasional train passing on the nearby tracks just added interest to a great dining experience. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were staying at the Vivanta by Taj, a five minute walk from Mali's and for the first few days this restaurant was closed for refurbishment but we went on their first night after reopening and we their first customers so were very well treated, although that seems from other reviews to be the norm. Situated at the Galle end of the railway station platform across the railway itself, it specialises in seafood but there are several non fish dishes available. We were two fish and two non-fish. The servings were plentiful and well cooked. We decided that they were very good rather than excellent and price wise our bill was about the same as we would have paid for a buffet in the Taj (two courses plus two wine and two soft drinks and coffee)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr. MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The best meal we had on our recent trip to Sri Lanka.
The seafood was fresh, well prepared and just delicious. The service was friendly and efficient and the hospitality from the owner was world class.
The restaurant is excellent in all aspects and we really enjoyed our experience.
We would recommend this restaurant as a venue that you must eat at.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good place”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Very good place, definitely worth visiting if you stay in Bentota. Close to many hotels in the area. Noise from railways a little disturbing. Very clean (important in Sri Lanka) and stuff is very friendly. Specialization - seafood : crabs, lobsters, fish. Try shark soup - very tasty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing