We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Run by husband and wife, and food is very good and excellent presentation, can reserve and would suggest large parties do exactly that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindylo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    242
    83
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place was so good we ate here twice during our 5-day stay in Bentota. The seafood is all excellent, in particular the tuna steak and the mahi mahi fillet. Great starters too that you won't find elsewhere. The service was excellent and it was nice to chat to the owner. It was fun to watch the train pass by the door!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sliabh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a find. On arrival the waiter showed us what fish they had for the day which was lovely to choose fresh fish. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food was great and the coconut bread starter was yummy.
Prices are reasonable. Recommend here as a must do dining experience for 1 night during your stay

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants we visited. Scampering across the railway track was unusual but made the setting of the restaurant unique, a lot of fun when trains go by outside the window! The interior was stunning and we were quickly greet by friendly staff and shown to our window seats. We opted for the seafood platter for two and Malli the owner came to our table to talk us through what was on offer - a very friendly and interesting man! Our seafood platter was delicious and fresh including lobster, tuna steak cooked to perfection, giant prawns, a whole tiger fish and our favourite fresh squid in oyster sauce! A fantastic meal. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Would eat here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Dining options for tourists near the beach strip of hotels are a tad limited - but dinner there 2 out of our 3 nights was more a result of their tasty food and excellent staff.
A quick veg starter
A grilled daily fish
Thai prawn curry
And a drink each left us feeling this little restaurant by the tracks was probably our favourite SL food stop. And the next time we're nearby we will definitely be in to eat again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing