We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!!!”

Malli's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The most romantic place to wine and dine in Bentota.
1 review
“Exquisite!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The waiters were very good and very attentive!! Food was brilliant and couldn't fault it. They only one thing which kind of put me was that people were allowed to smoke. Restaurants are supposed to be non smoking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    245
    85
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Little gem hidden away! Thanks goto trip advisor!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Hidden little gem - we'd walk past it twice without realising it came highly recommended! Converted railway building with a
good view of the railway track and Bentota life going past! Service was warm and friendly and the food was amazing, fresh and tasty! Clean and tidy and a bargain compared to the costly local hotels! Highly recommended !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kieran_Mander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb Food, Excellent staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the best restaurant in Bentota,I would recommend this place as a must visit place. You will get all kind of sea foods here, but in a really different taste. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is amercing..Since we are from Sri Lanka we wanted a meals to be bit more spicy and hot.They didnt have it but they tried their best to make us happy and serve for our taste. I really appreciate the effort. The owner of the restaurant , Rasika is very friendly and personally comes to every table to speak with guests which is a good quality.

The prices might be bit high for Sri Lankans but food is value for the money. Will surely visit Malli's in the next trip to Bentota...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_kamburugamuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cracking seafood restaurant”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We decided to visit here one evening having grown tired of the food in the Heritance resort and we were not disappointed. The restaurant itself is lovely and is nicely situated alongside the train tracks in Bentota. The staff here were extremely friendly and welcoming, and very knowledgeable about the food. We went for the lobster and red thai prawn curry having contemplated going for the seafood platter after seeing the platter of fish brought to our table before ordering. Both meals were of top quality with the red thai curry sauce being particularly tasty! The rotti starter with garlic was also delicious. We finished the meal with a banana split and fruit and nut ice cream which were also lovely. We found the price to be pretty reasonable for the quality of food and we would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a great meal in Bentota.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank overmarsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“You really should try Malli's”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ate at Malli's twice while we were in Bentota. The food is really very good and the service is impeccable. They bring you a platter of fish/seafood to show what is on offer that night. As it is a seafood restaurant, that's what we had and it was great, well cooked, tasty and good portion size. We were told we probably wouldn't need a starter which was good advice. The wine was very acceptable and complimented the meal well. We ate outside and could almost shake hands with the driver when a train went past, but they were few and far between and we felt it added to the charm of the place.

My partner was keen to try a traditional Sri Lankan dish that had not been toned down for the European palate. Malli promised to cook him a traditional fish curry and rice while I had my fish grilled and filleted. Two days later, we returned and that is exactly what he cooked for us. Perfect.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rebel_diamond56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malli's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Malli's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing