We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!!!”
Review of Amal Restaurant

Amal Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 63 Restaurants in Bentota
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having looked at the good reviews on trip advisor we decided to give this restaurant a go - what a mistake!!!!

The service was extremely slow and the food was terrible! We ordered a prawn cocktail - ummm not sure what that was and the prawns just didn't taste right - doesn't seem like they'd seen a fridge in a while. I ordered lobster which came with a salad, rotti and garlic sauce and rice. The lobster was ok but the rest was stale and uneadible. My boyfriend ordered tuna steak and chips was was fine - but I guess you can't really go wrong with that. What worried me the most is the possibly of us getting ill from the prawns and lobster - they managed to mess up rice, rotti and salad - which didn't fill us with confidence when it came to the sea food.

Overpriced, tasteless tourist price!
For the same price go to Malli's where the service, sea food and ambience was just amazing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    303
    154
    67
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Decided to eat outside our hotel for a change and have traditional Sri Lankan curry. Chose Amal above a few others - mistake. Menu stated 1 hour to prepare a Sri Lankan speciality curry - when I went to order, waiter said 2 hours because a few others had already ordered it. So effectively that was the end of that. Food that we did order was mediocre at best. Would not return or recommend to anyone though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlnMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Sae food to die for! Don't miss out!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We only ate at Amal Restaurant once but wished we'd had the time to go again! What we do say is that the dinner we had here was the BEST we had in Sri Lanka in a period of 16 days. Lobster and Tiger Prawns to die for and if you miss the chance of eating here while you're in Bentota, you really won't know what you might have missed! Service and presentation were as good as "fine dining" anywhere! Excellent, truly excellent!
From the Bentota Beach Hotel, it's a round trip Tuk Tuk fare of 3 - 500 Rupees!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had two lunchtime meals. Quality on both occasions was fine.Nothing startling but reasonable value. On our first visit, service was super slow, a problem we found in numerous Sri Lankan restaurants. Gentle enquiries to check whether the chef still had a pulse were blanked. In fairness, on our second visit, we gave a deadline for service and they stuck to it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four of us had an evening meal on the upper floor here. We had a selection of types of food, European, Sri Lankan and Seafood and all were good and well presented. The sizzling steak dish was spectacular with a large flame before it reached the table. As with many places along this part of the coast the train track is next to the restaurant and the first of 3 or 4 trains certainly made us jump as it roared past. Maybe not the cheapest meals in the area but still quite good value. We found the waiters to be friendly and the service good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Planenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amal Restaurant also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Bentota, Galle District
 

Been to Amal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing