We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patience is a virtue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amal Restaurant

Amal Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 71 Restaurants in Bentota
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Horsham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Patience is a virtue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had two lunchtime meals. Quality on both occasions was fine.Nothing startling but reasonable value. On our first visit, service was super slow, a problem we found in numerous Sri Lankan restaurants. Gentle enquiries to check whether the chef still had a pulse were blanked. In fairness, on our second visit, we gave a deadline for service and they stuck to it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    292
    142
    67
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Four of us had an evening meal on the upper floor here. We had a selection of types of food, European, Sri Lankan and Seafood and all were good and well presented. The sizzling steak dish was spectacular with a large flame before it reached the table. As with many places along this part of the coast the train track is next to the restaurant and the first of 3 or 4 trains certainly made us jump as it roared past. Maybe not the cheapest meals in the area but still quite good value. We found the waiters to be friendly and the service good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Planenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This restaurant was few steps away from the place where we were staying at and as it was getting late we decided to have dinner here. The place was crowded. We ordered for crab soup and tiger fish. The food was expensive and taste was fine, nothing great. (My husband had stomach ache the next day, I doubt the food ).
I would definitely try some other restaurant if I were to revisit Bentota

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kkrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really pleasant and straightforward”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good food in a nice beach side location, excellent prawns, nice atmousphere and good value for money

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food we ordered was not what we received. We waited for nearly an hour for the food to be served. It is too pricey for what was delivered. Note when checking for fish price, it is shown per 100gms, which worked out to be 5 times more than what it costs in the market.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amal Restaurant also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to Amal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing