We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, plush, great food, amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2011

It's difficult to write about this place without gushing too much. Everything was just easy and no hassle and the hotel is very stylish without being pretentious.The staff didn't overfuss around you but anything you wanted they were there like a shot. Due to our short notice stay we actually stayed in 3 different rooms (all superior suites, i think) over our 6 night stay and they were all equally lovely. They all had huge terraces with a table and chairs and a more comfortable lounging seat.

Breakfast you could take iany time up to 11am. If you wanted it brought to your room inside or on the terrace, fine, this was no big deal or you could have it anywhere you pleased. The food in general here was outstanding. it was easy to eat great food healthily without being restricted. Don't get me wrong - you could certainly indulge if you wanted to and it was impossible to resist those desserts. The menu is incredibly varied for a smallish hotel and I was surprised they never ran out of any dishes and they were always very fresh.

The grounds of the hotel are the selling point. So chic, so picturesque. A gorgeous infinity pool with plush comfortable sunchairs and a huge gazebo padded out with cushions to lounge in if it rains or if the sun is too much.
The beach is just a few metres beyond. The currents are pretty strong so probably not great for swimming but it's a lovely beach for a stroll.

We were aware of the trainline running through the rear of the grounds before we arrived. It didn't really bother me and it was quite intriguing to watch it sailing through a fewf times a day and I would say it added to the character.

The hotel does not have an alcohol licence, however you can bring your own and either chill it in your own minibar fridge or give it to the staff to chill.

If i was going to write anything negative it would be that a couple of the rooms on the ground floor did smell a little damp and that the toilet roll holders are in a really awkward position, but that is being very picky!

We had a little look round Club Villa hotel which is next door when we accidently arrived there instead of Villa Bentota (the signs are a little confusing and they are adjacent to each other). Club Villa was similarly priced and in the same league but I personally thought Villa Bentota looked a bit cooler and it had been more rececntly refurbished.

Within walking distance of the hotel are some other places which looked like they would have been good for dinner and drinks. I normally like to try the local restaurants but in this case I couldn't bear not to eat in the hotel, the food and setting were that good.

Just down the road (5 -10mins walk, turn right onto the main road) is a spice garden. We wandered in there and an Ayruvedic doctor showed us round explaining the plants and how they are used in ayruvedic medicine. There was no charge, but we were shown the shop to buy some of the items - lotions, potions, teas, spices, herbs etc, which we did. There's also a few little antiquey / crafty shops just around the hotel which are worth a look. There's even a little buddist temple at the end of the little lane, although we were shooed away from here by a local guy when we tried to approach.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your praising review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!
The property was created with a lot of love and care and we are so happy when guests enjoy and appreciate their time spent on the premises.

We are pleased to inform you, that as of yesterday, 23 February, we have been officially awarded a liquor license, which allows us to be able to extend our full food and beverage service to all our guests which we shall commence in the next 2 weeks. Our menus will feature an extensive wine menu and cocktails like what Paradise Road is famous for at the Colombo restaurant. We are truly grateful to our guests to date who have enjoyed their time at the property despite this inconvenience.

We look forward to the honour of welcoming you back to our property!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 483 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2011

The hotel is three colonial-style buildings arranged around a garden and pool. The buildings are beautiful to look at and full of unexpected nooks, pools, statues and works of art. It is stunningly designed, but not over-cool or uncomfortable. We thought it was really charming and quirky and felt immediately at home there. The staff are wonderful.

Two major sticking points: the train line at the bottom of the garden could have been annoying, but we chose to see it as picturesque and not to get bothered about it. It's not as bad as it sounds! No alcohol licence was a bigger issue - I can't understand why they haven't got one. In the event it wasn't a problem - we just got a tuk-tuk to the liquor store, got some beers and the staff kept them cool for us. If you get the friendlier manager on duty then he may even ask one of the staff to nip out for you. But wine is pricey and a pain to carry - next time we'll definitely pick some bottles up at duty free.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandjlondon2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

It took 1.5 yrs of hard work, love and care to create the hotel as you enjoyed it, so we are truly happy when guests appreciate the spaces for you to enjoy!

The train line which runs at the end of the garden is a feature of our property, which was originally highlighted by Architect Geoffrey Bawa when he first renovated the ancestral home, Mohotti Walauwa, in the 1970s. We do inform guests of this fact on our website and on availability, we can offer our rooms which are less affected. We had a previous guests who suggested offering ear plugs, which we are in the process of sourcing!

We are still awaiting the Sri Lankan government to award us a liquor license and are hopeful that this should be in our possession within the next few months. In the meantime, we inform all guests of this fact on our website and on all reservation confirmation material. In addition, we inform all our travel agents to inform our guests so that they are prepared. Sri Lankan Duty Free is one of the cheapest in the world to purchase alcohol and as we do not charge corkage or a service charge, it ends up cheaper for our guests. Of course the inconvenience exists, so if preferred, we inform our guests to ask our staff to purchase requirements from the bottle shop nearby.

We do hope to have the honour of welcoming you back to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

An expansion of a Bawa designed boutique hotel, Villa Bentota is a true gem for anyone seeking a luxurious and gracious experience on the Sri Lanka Coast line. For architecture and design fans the property is exquisite and there are several important homes, gardens and Bawa designed hotels within easy driving distance to visit. Most importantly though, the staff are very polite and helpful, always concerned with guests comfort and the restaurant has an International menu but also includes some of the best curries I tasted while I was in SL.
I had Suite 4 an oversized room with sweeping views over the property and the palm trees all the way to the ocean. Perhaps a few more amenities in the room would be appreciated but this is so minor, the overall experience was a delight.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

The structure which was an ancestral home known as Mohotti Walauwa, was originally discovered by Geoffrey Bawa, renovated and converted into Sri Lanka's first boutique hotel in the 1970s. When Shanth Fernando of Paradise Road, took it over it was further renovated and extended. As you mentioned, 'Lunuganga', Bawa's country estate and his brother Bevis' garden, 'Brief' are short distances from the hotel and tours can be arranged. Sri Lanka does attract many tourists who appreciate the architecture and design aspect which is seen all over the island and Paradise Road does embrace design as being the core of all businesses. Thank you for valuing this.

Suite 4 is indeed a special room and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay, the service and our menu!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This a truly stunning hotel. Beautiful interiors and incredible Bawa architecture at its best. The train is a bit of a bummer. It did, indeed, wake us up in the morning which is a drag on vacation. But at the same time, it was pretty incredible. It literally runs through the hotel property. I would have actually been okay had the hotel offered ear plugs in the amenity kit in the bathroom. But, all in all, we loved the hotel and the grounds are magnicent.
They do not have a liquor license, but if you come prepared, it is no problem. It is actually really nice to bring your own alchohol. You end up paying less and there is no corkage fee.
The staff were incredibly helpful and we enjoyed many meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerkitty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

The train, which runs off the boundary of the property was a feature of the land and actually something Architect Geoffrey Bawa originally chose to highlight when he first renovated the property, Mohotti Walauwa, an ancestral home, to convert it into a boutique hotel - Sri Lanka's first in the 1970s.
However, we love your idea about ear plugs for those guests who may not be used to the many sounds of Asia in the morning, especially the train! We shall be offering them to all guests very shortly! Thank you!
Please also note, that we also inform guests in advance that we do have rooms which are not facing the sea and therefore less bothered by the noise of the train. This information is also on our FAQ link on our website.

We are hopeful to have our liquor license within the next couple of months and in the meantime, guests can enjoy the cost effectiveness of BYO at no corkage or service charge. We do inform all guests of this in advance, both on our website and on all reservation confirmations.

We will share your feedback with our team and look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise Road hotels!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

As a former travel agent and now resident of bentota for some years, I have seen many hotels in the world. The Villa Bentota is definitely one of my favorite, a masterpiece of architecture and interior decor. The service is smooth and very friendly, a great place to relax and dive into the world of Sri Lanka's unique style. The train occasionally passing by is a real adventure and not disturbing at all. We will always come back to The Villa Bentota and are very happy to have the opportunity to go there more than just once a year.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sternenstaub11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

We are sincerely grateful for your positive feedback and for appreciating the special experience we are able to offer our guests who visit (or reside in) Sri Lanka!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bentota!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at The Villa Bentota for 3 days over Christmas. A very stylish boutique hotel, we had suite 4 which was huge with a large balcony overlooking the sea. For this standard of hotel the room was not well equipped - no bathrobes, slippers, hairdryer and extremely limited wardrobe/drawer space (they chose antique style furniture for its' appearance rather than functionality). Pool is great and there are lots of courtyards and different places to sit and relax/have a drink. Really good food in the restaurant with lots of choice of both Sri Lankan and European dishes and very good breakfasts, best coffee in Sri Lanka! Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Beware the dangerous current on the beach. Trains start at 5.30am but didn't really bother us.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank OxfordHolidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

Suite 4 is one of the best suites in the property and boasts the best views of the sea being the only room/ suite on the 2nd floor!
It is true, we do not offer bathrobes to our guests, instead we offer custom woven sarongs. Hairdryers are available to all guests and are in the bathroom vanities. I am sorry that you did not ask a member of staff about this.

We are truly appreciative of the time taken to review our property and share your experience with others. We will share your positive feedback with Chef Nishantha and his team!

We look forward to welcoming you to Bentota in the future!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was told this place was "quirky" and it is - it's one of the most unusual and best hotels we have stayed in. Our room was fantastic, the gardens were truly wonderful and the food good. Staff are professoonal and helpful. The best part of the day is when the Pola Express passes by the hotel, which all the guests enjoy so much they take photos.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephendacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and for your appreciation of our special property!
We look forward to welcoming you to Bentota again!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 26 in Bentota
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $146 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing