We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to kick back and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2010

A beautiful hotel with excellent staff. The surroundings were beautiful and beach pristine. The food was nice, if a little unadventurous (and surprisingly light on Sri Lankan options). The lack of liquor license not at all a problem (in fact adds to the quirky charm).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Owner at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!
We value our guests' feedback and are grateful that you share your experience with others considering our property for their holidays!

We are truly hopeful that our application for liquor license will be approved shortly and avoid us the inconvenience we are forced to forward to our guests at the moment, although we will arrange the purchase as required on request, we appreciate your understanding on this matter.

The Villa Cafe was recently awarded the honour of one of Asia's finest restaurants by the Miele Guide for 2010 and we do have guests often make special requests for tweaking to our menu/s. In addition to a changing Sri Lankan breakfast on offer daily, our existing Sri Lankan dishes on the menu are as follows,
Soups - Sri Lankan Crab Curry Soup / Gotukola Soup / Chicken Mulligatawny / Sri Lankan Fish Head Soup
Main Courses - Sri Lankan Rice and Curry - with choices of curries as options
Dessert - Sri Lankan inspired dishes such as Jaggery Ice Cream Sundae / Jaggery Sago Pudding / Curd and Cinnamon Infused Treacle / Homemade Coconut Ice Cream, etc.
Many of our guests from overseas, although wishing to sample Sri Lankan cuisine, when staying with us for longer periods of time, yearn for more international food and therefore, our menu is quite varied. Our Chef Nishantha, who has worked for Paradise Road for many years, is ever ready to personalise dishes on request and should a guest wish for something in particular or to discuss options, this is always possible. To remind guests of this service, we do have a note in our letter to all new guests in our room folder.

We look forward to welcoming you to the property again!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 506 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2010

After an inauspicious start (the taxi we booked never appeared...and would have been double the price of the taxi we eventually just got at the airport), we arrived at the Villa Bentota to find a charming, colonial style hotel with a little train line that runs through its grounds (if you are very sensitive to noise you will probably hate this, I thought it was lovely since some of the trains were steam trains), great restaurant and a fine pool. We had some small problems with insects in our room but I imagine that is to be expected in most places.

The food is absolutely amazing (do not miss their Sri Lankan curry, it was the best we tasted anywhere) and very varied but not cheap.

Do not consider going to the spa, it is one little room with patchy electricity and my boyfriend and I both had treatments with different therapists - both were poor. In addition, at one point during my massage, I heard the manager noisily showing a family around in the tiny 'lobby' outside. While this was frustrating, I was more shocked when he opened the door...and then didn't immediately close it again and gave the family a peek of me inside. While I was uncovered down to the bum.

This incident (and the spa generally) aside I would recommend the Villa Bentota to a friend BUT I would recommend looking for cheaper accomodation first. It is eye wateringly expensive and friends have since stayed in far far cheaper places.

Bear in mind too that there is nothing else in Bentota so you will be pretty much confined to the hotel. Not a problem for us but if you're expecting masses of sightseeing you may want to choose a different area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2010

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota. Although you seemed to enjoy most aspects of your stay, we take our guests' feedback seriously and therefore would like you to know that we have investigated all shortcomings of your stay to help us improve our services!

We were indeed sorry about the absence of the taxi on arrival, but upon speaking with you, we were able to arrange the same within 10 min at the airport. You had by this time decided to take a taxi at the airport. We apologise again for this inconvenience and hoped the complimentary upgrade to the highest category suite in response, made your stay that much more comfortable.

We have employed the services of a reputed transport company to assure clean, comfortable cars with English speaking drivers which we can be confident of. Taxis at the airport are there by the dozen and we do prefer to guarantee the comfort of our guests hence the higher price tag than the many independent taxis welcoming on arrival.

We are proud of the train feature of our property and it is most definitely something which adds great charm and is greatly enjoyed by the vast majority of our guests. We do note this on our website (FAQ) and on our welcome letter that should the occasional noise of the train be something which disturbs you, we can locate you in a room which is not affected.

Insects are something we can not altogether avoid (as you rightly stated) being a tropical country. We recommend all guests to not leave their windows open past 5pm to avoid the insects being attracted to the light inside your room. In addition, in all rooms and suites, we offer both natural mosquito repellant bands, optional electric mosquito deterrants and mosquito nets.

We are so sorry for your poor experience with our spa. We have informed our spa operators of the poor quality of treatment, lack of use of 'do not disturb' signs and not having locked the door during your treatment/s.
In addition to the therapists being reprimanded for both the quality of the treatment and poor handling, we have implemented new plans of increasing the privacy and reducing disturbance levels to guests visiting the spa.
Spa Ceylon Ayurveda puts all therapists through a rigorous training programme and therefore assure us of a quality experience for all our guests. We do offer most treatments in the privacy of your room / suite as well, and should we have another suite available, they will set up the treatment in that room.

In Bentota, no doubt we do strive to be the best boutique accomodation available and with the prestigious international press we receive, we have been continuously informed that our pricing is reasonable. We can not compete with properties in the area which offer different levels of comfort and overall experience.

We do look forward to the honour of welcoming you back to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota and will no question offer you an opportunity to re-review The Villa Spa and hope for an all-round positive experience!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road Hotel Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The Villa Bentota is a stunning Bawa boutique hotel with impeccable service from all the staff, from the Manager to the Gardener and everyone in between. I came to relax for 2 days and the hotel delivered everything I was after. Highlights include the great new pool, a really comfortable bed, the beautifully packaged gifts from the shop, and great food. The following comments are simply to try to help this new hotel (opened in December last year) to move from a 4/5 to a 5/5 in my eyes.
(1) I stayed in Room 4 which is beautifully done up but on the ground floor and, if the doors and curtains are open, anyone can see it. It would be great to have some net curtains on the doors and windows so that you can be in the room and enjoy the great Sri Lankan sunshine but not be viewable to everyone. The outside bathroom is nice in theory but in practise, at night, it's a mosquito and moth heaven. it would be good to have some sort of net that could be shut at night. Please also don't leave the door open to the bedroom when you service the room at night. As and when you come round to refurbishing rooms, it would be great if you can think about the electrics and how to have a master switch at the door and bed side that controls the lamps rather than the rather ugly overhead light.
(2) A hotel of this standard should provide toweling dressing gowns and slippers - I was told they're on order but you've been open for 10 months. Things aren't that slow in Sri Lanka.
(3) The food was delicious but overpriced vs. other boutique and high end hotels in Sri Lanka. For example, a diet coke is Rs 120 in the shops, Rs 220 at the Light house and Rs 345 at Villa Bentota. The Lighthouse have probably got the pricing about right for your market.
(4) The hotel doesn't have a liscense currently and this wasn't made clear until I got to the hotel. It would be great if this could be presented more overtly on the website and/or in communication when confirming the booking. It actually can be a positive as you're not charging the corkage.
All of the above are simply aimed at helping the hotel move from an already excellent to an "out of this world". Thank you to everyone for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota after your recent visit!

We take our guests' feedback seriously and therefore I would like to take the time to respond to the items you listed as shortcomings.

Room 4 is a firm favourite especially because the room opens out to the garden. Our Superior Suites definitely offer more in terms of privacy with private terraces or balconies where one can lounge in privacy and still enjoy the view.
The rainy season does bring about a fair share of insects. However during peak season weather, this special bathroom which is the only one with its own court yard, is more enjoyable.
We provide special sarongs to our residents instead of the usual bathrobes and bath slippers are now in all rooms.

For the last year, we have had a note on the foot of all reservations correspondence and confirmations stating that our property is pending liquor license approval along with information with regards to complimentary corkage etc.
Recently we also added an FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) to our website and we have stated the same information in this section.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road Hotel Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just visited the Villa bentota with my extended family - loved the property and the service.The food was excellent and so was the beach in front of the hotel .
Greatly recommended to anyone visiting Bentota

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adh-24364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

A lovely relaxing stay despite the rain.Excellent food and a lovely comfortable room.The villa is charming and in beautiful setting.

Luiz and Sally.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank none004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly and the hotel is charming and chic. The website does not do it justice. All the rooms are different and we had no 1 with a plunge pool. The room was excellent and clean but there is no external view other than into the private courtyard and the plunge pool didn't look v clean.

It is a small hotel and the rooms are so spread out so that it felt very private and we hardly saw any other guests and had the beautiful large main pool to ourselves (and a little resident frog who came out at night to cool his bottom on the edge of the pool).

There is a train track that separates the hotel garden from the beach but it isn't very busy and adds to the charm. You can walk along the tracks to Bentota station to catch one of the few trains a day that stops there (but are often late). The clean and empty beach is rustic with lovely palms and a few jungle type trees, the sand is sharp from the coral but the water was rough at the time of year we went so we were advised not to go swimming.

The food was awesome so don't wake up too late to miss breakfast. The food in Sri Lanka was on the whole pretty bland/much the same but the excellent chef at The Villa had put together a really creative delicious menu.

Overall a fantastic place to stay but it is relatively expensive and we were surprised they bothered to bill us for the welcome drinks we received on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieandGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

stayed there 2 nights with friends in early september, the place the pool, the lawn, the staff, the spa treatment, everything is great,..i love the ginger beer they offer you on arrival…
we were lucky to have the place to ourselves for a day before other guest arrived and we made the most of it. the food is really good too. I stayed in suite 5 it smelled damp sure but it was not the case in the other room where my friends stayed. I love the concrete design in the bathroom. And i find the train passing by a real funny event, and very picturesque to have the railroad in the background. loved the place will definitely go back if i have a chance. Was the best posh place i stayed in during my stay in SL.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
943 reviews
0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 26 in Bentota
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $129 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing