We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend in boutique luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The Villa Bentota is a stunning Bawa boutique hotel with impeccable service from all the staff, from the Manager to the Gardener and everyone in between. I came to relax for 2 days and the hotel delivered everything I was after. Highlights include the great new pool, a really comfortable bed, the beautifully packaged gifts from the shop, and great food. The following comments are simply to try to help this new hotel (opened in December last year) to move from a 4/5 to a 5/5 in my eyes.
(1) I stayed in Room 4 which is beautifully done up but on the ground floor and, if the doors and curtains are open, anyone can see it. It would be great to have some net curtains on the doors and windows so that you can be in the room and enjoy the great Sri Lankan sunshine but not be viewable to everyone. The outside bathroom is nice in theory but in practise, at night, it's a mosquito and moth heaven. it would be good to have some sort of net that could be shut at night. Please also don't leave the door open to the bedroom when you service the room at night. As and when you come round to refurbishing rooms, it would be great if you can think about the electrics and how to have a master switch at the door and bed side that controls the lamps rather than the rather ugly overhead light.
(2) A hotel of this standard should provide toweling dressing gowns and slippers - I was told they're on order but you've been open for 10 months. Things aren't that slow in Sri Lanka.
(3) The food was delicious but overpriced vs. other boutique and high end hotels in Sri Lanka. For example, a diet coke is Rs 120 in the shops, Rs 220 at the Light house and Rs 345 at Villa Bentota. The Lighthouse have probably got the pricing about right for your market.
(4) The hotel doesn't have a liscense currently and this wasn't made clear until I got to the hotel. It would be great if this could be presented more overtly on the website and/or in communication when confirming the booking. It actually can be a positive as you're not charging the corkage.
All of the above are simply aimed at helping the hotel move from an already excellent to an "out of this world". Thank you to everyone for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Paradise Road The Villa Bentota after your recent visit!

We take our guests' feedback seriously and therefore I would like to take the time to respond to the items you listed as shortcomings.

Room 4 is a firm favourite especially because the room opens out to the garden. Our Superior Suites definitely offer more in terms of privacy with private terraces or balconies where one can lounge in privacy and still enjoy the view.
The rainy season does bring about a fair share of insects. However during peak season weather, this special bathroom which is the only one with its own court yard, is more enjoyable.
We provide special sarongs to our residents instead of the usual bathrobes and bath slippers are now in all rooms.

For the last year, we have had a note on the foot of all reservations correspondence and confirmations stating that our property is pending liquor license approval along with information with regards to complimentary corkage etc.
Recently we also added an FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) to our website and we have stated the same information in this section.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

Thank you,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road Hotel Properties

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 482 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just visited the Villa bentota with my extended family - loved the property and the service.The food was excellent and so was the beach in front of the hotel .
Greatly recommended to anyone visiting Bentota

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adh-24364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

A lovely relaxing stay despite the rain.Excellent food and a lovely comfortable room.The villa is charming and in beautiful setting.

Luiz and Sally.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank none004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly and the hotel is charming and chic. The website does not do it justice. All the rooms are different and we had no 1 with a plunge pool. The room was excellent and clean but there is no external view other than into the private courtyard and the plunge pool didn't look v clean.

It is a small hotel and the rooms are so spread out so that it felt very private and we hardly saw any other guests and had the beautiful large main pool to ourselves (and a little resident frog who came out at night to cool his bottom on the edge of the pool).

There is a train track that separates the hotel garden from the beach but it isn't very busy and adds to the charm. You can walk along the tracks to Bentota station to catch one of the few trains a day that stops there (but are often late). The clean and empty beach is rustic with lovely palms and a few jungle type trees, the sand is sharp from the coral but the water was rough at the time of year we went so we were advised not to go swimming.

The food was awesome so don't wake up too late to miss breakfast. The food in Sri Lanka was on the whole pretty bland/much the same but the excellent chef at The Villa had put together a really creative delicious menu.

Overall a fantastic place to stay but it is relatively expensive and we were surprised they bothered to bill us for the welcome drinks we received on arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieandGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

stayed there 2 nights with friends in early september, the place the pool, the lawn, the staff, the spa treatment, everything is great,..i love the ginger beer they offer you on arrival…
we were lucky to have the place to ourselves for a day before other guest arrived and we made the most of it. the food is really good too. I stayed in suite 5 it smelled damp sure but it was not the case in the other room where my friends stayed. I love the concrete design in the bathroom. And i find the train passing by a real funny event, and very picturesque to have the railroad in the background. loved the place will definitely go back if i have a chance. Was the best posh place i stayed in during my stay in SL.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had a fabulous stay at The Villa!!!

Most of all I have to commend the staff for their very dilligent and outstandingly friendly and efficient service.

It was a pleasure to stay and I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmm1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

SUCH a strange hotel - they upgraded us to a 'suite' which smelt damp and was dirty - muddy marks on the bedcovers. The whole place felt like a hotel that had not yet opened - no-one about (we had to go to reception whenever we needed anything), no alcohol licence, all a bit dark - no comfortable areas to chill out at night and service difficult. They need a good manager in there. Such a shame as the common areas are beautiful and location stunning - it could be great but it is far from it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank agf35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2010

Dear Sir / Madam,

I am so sorry to read about your negative experience at Paradise Road The Villa Bentota!

Our bedspreads and runners at both our properties are handmade batik custom designed pieces. The markings you noticed are merely the crackled colours which are a natural part of the irregular design of these special fabrics. On the black and white covers, the crackling is a golden brown which was perhaps what you thought were 'dirt marks'.

The hotel has been quite busy since opening and especially August, so it is possibly our other guests enjoying their privacy that left you feeling 'alone' in our spaces. All public lounges and areas feature bells which may be rung to alert staff when required and the rooms have telephones which may be used to contact the front office for all requirements.
Being a private hotel our previous guests have enjoyed our discreet service and this is something which most seek when staying with us.

We have many lounges both indoor and outdoor for relaxation, 5 in fact, as well as our new spa, so I am saddened to read that you did not manage to explore the 2 acre property nor accept the invitation for a hotel tour on check in so that you would have had a chance to find your way.

Unfortunately, we are still awaiting to be awarded a liquor license by the Sri Lankan government but therefore, we inform all guests in writing of this fact and request that they bring their own at no corkage charge, we store wine / beer in our chillers and we have a fabulous bar tender who will even mix cocktails on request.

Our newest manager at the property will continue to maintain these import features of our property and I do hope we will have the pleasure and honour of welcoming you again to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota with the result of a positive and enjoyable experience!

Sincerely,

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#9 of 26 in Bentota
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $146 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing