We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Nearby Hotels
$45
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota(Bentota)
$116
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$42
$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$72
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$203
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
381
103
21
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
103
21
9
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelshanth fernandorailway linegallery cafehomemade ginger beersri lankageoffrey bawabaked crabplunge poolspa ceylonadds to the charmsuperior suitepublic areasbeautiful hoteltrains passinghuge balconystayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 525 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

A truly stunning hotel with wonderful service.
A beautiful garden and pool and lots of comfortable and stylish places around the hotel to relax.
The train through the bottom of the garden is no issue, it's even rather fun.
Only 1 comment really - the beach is truly spectacular so it would be nice to have had some sun beds and umbrellas out on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We've been fortunate to stay in some very special hotels around the world. Paradise Road, The Villa, tops them all for the overall experience. Beautiful boutique hotel, fantastic architecture, brilliant interior design. Wonderful, highly trained, attentive but unobtrusive staff, who just can't do enough for you. They truly understand that 'guest comfort and experience' is paramount.
The hotel is in a wonderful location - the railway line didn't bother us at all. The food was superb and the chef even showed us how he makes curry and the trimmings. We were there for 5 nights following a wonderful two week Exodus tour, but could happily have stayed for much longer. We shall return and try out Tintagel also.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room, Room 4, on the ground floor. Lovely outside sitting area and our bathroom was an 'outside/inside' room. A beautiful spacious room - you don't need a suite.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

A nice boutique hotel - very comfortable for a relaxing stay. I suspect guests will divide into two - those who are bothered by the train line through the property and those who are not. With 6 trains before 6pm (which make the room shake, accompanied by a very loud train horn), I'm afraid it did bother me and I don't think it can be dismissed as just "quaint" - which is what my travel agent attempted to do, although it did not spoil my overall enjoyment of a very pleasant boutique hotel. Service was fine, although not quite as good as our other Sri Lankan hotels; and I would say the same about the food. As others have commented, the design and style of the hotel is superb and trains aside, it was very comfortable indeed.

Room Tip: Talk to them about the trains.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0nah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is he best boutique hotel - if not the best accommodation - I have ever stayed.
The main two attractions are the aesthetics and style and the staff and customer service. It is apparently inspired, and in some parts designed, by the famed Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa. It's sleek, chic and stylish throughout with the most beautiful gardens, 2 swimming pools, a comfortable chic bar area and al fresco restaurant area. The train line passes at the bottom of the gardens which some people may be concerned by but is another unique feature to the calm and cool surroundings. The staff are incredible. The new young manager is unbelievably attentive and an obvious perfectionist. The gardener may chop down a coconut from the garden tree for you to drink or bring you cold water as you sunbathe in the hot sun. Stepping over the train track lead into the empty white sandy beach and sea. This is not a huge 5 star hotel with thousands of staff who bow to you nor a shabby chic villa. It's a boutique high class unique villa.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the train line/gardens for the view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHOC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent a week at The Villa as a base while visiting friends locally and couldn't have had a more relaxing time. From the moment we stepped through the gates, hot and dusty after the long drive from Colombo, we were caught up in the laid back relaxing atmosphere. We enjoyed exploring the many courtyards, rooms and public spaces - everywhere is designed beautifully as an inviting corner to chill out in and make your own welcoming home for a few hours, nothing seems like a "do not touch" museum. And the little touches - such as the fresh flowers and candles around the Ganesh statue by our bedroom door. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff with perfect, discreet and friendly service - including demonstrating the secret of Sri Lankan electric sockets (a pencil in the earth hole if you must know!). Beds were invitingly comfortable, bathrooms spacious - and this was in the smaller "rooms" (as opposed to the suites). The trains running past were a novelty, but they're hardly frequent enough to be disturbing. Food was absolutely gorgeous at both dinner and breakfast - although I would like to have seen a greater emphasis on Sri Lankan rather than international, and the choice was not that varied for a stay of a week (I guess most people do not stay that long). There's not a great deal to do in the Bentota area - it seem as is most people chill out here for a few days at the end of a tour of the country and don't stray too far from their hotel - for which it's perfect. The awesome beach is only a few minutes walk away across the railway line. As I said, we were visiting friends, but otherwise we would probably have gone a bit stir crazy after a week as Bentota essentially has hotels, a beach and not a lot else. However, for my money there's nowhere better locally to relax and unwind than The Villa - we visited some of the other neighbouring hotels, which were of a similar price, and found them sterile, international and full of tour groups. We were always glad to return to the Villa's perfect, relaxed home from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard_lawrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews