We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful small boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful small boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the end of november and stayed in suite 3. This hotel is literally right next door to club villa hotel. The hotel is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed, the room was beautiful and massive, the bar area and pool so beautifully designed. The hotel is not on the beach, you need to walk over the railway line and then you walk a hundred metres or so and you are there, but you need to walk along further to swim in the sea. You can't see the sea from the hotel. The railway line runs right along the bottom of the garden, this was unique and added some enjoyment whilst sun bathing, the noise was Ok and didn't interrupt our sleep.

We ate at the hotel for lunch and dinner and the food was expensive comparatively and really really not good, the worst food we had in Sri Lanka, If you stay here I would recommend you eat out. I appreciate this could be what we ordered and am not one to complain but the chicken tandoori I had was absolutely awful.

Overall beautiful setting and this is why i scored highly, but if you want a hotel on the beach then this isn't for you and finally hotel was let down by awful food which is a shame as with the setting it could be amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GemmaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    85
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
96
250
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I paid to stay here , going by the fantastic reviews, but when I reached there it turned out to be a scary damp and dark old house.
I had paid sgd 700 for 2 days but this place was so bad that we gave up the money and bought ourselves another place.
I wouldn't stay here even if you paid me to, so I didn't mind losing my 700$ , they obviously did not refund a cent, which is ok. But then this really is a warning for all those who go by the reviews on trip advisor, for some reason this Place does not live up.
The good reviews might be of club villa which is another property next door.
But paradise road villa is totally avoidable.
And btw there is no beach view at all.
And the beach itself is inaccessible. You need to cross the rail line and the bushes to get to the beach.
The balcony is infested with big red ants.
We were bitten by mosquitoes within 15 mins of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nimisha1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for three nights the end of October. Before you even enter the hotel, just stopping at the gate, you are filled with a sense of style. You can feel that you are entering into a luxurious and elegant venue. However, nothing would have prepared us for what we saw once inside. Every corner of this hotel is decorated with various art pieces, statues, chandeliers, wall hangings, etc. The Rooms are fresh yet rustic, with huge balconies overlooking the lush gardens and endless ocean. The food? Let us just say that we had the tastiest red snapper ever, with delicious sauces and side orders. Everything we had was amazing, and the service was even better. We would definitely return here and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with balconies overlooking the garden and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Villa Bentota is the best resort we've ever stayed at, and we travel quite frequently. The design of the whole villa is utterly breathtaking and magical, with such care and foresight put into every nook and cranny. There isn't one view that hasn't been carefully and artfully designed.

Its peaceful, as you drive in through the big black gates, you feel a sense of peace of calm. You're greeted by smiling staff, and offered a refreshing ginger beer and cold towel on arrival. The rooms are utterly gorgeous, and I have to mention the divine sheets on the bed! God they were comfortable.

The food - AWESOME! The chef is a maestro, with every bite bursting with flavour. Order the Sri Lankan breakfast at least once, its beautiful.

The beach is over the railroad tracks, (which has a train go through btw, but its quite charming). Beautiful beach, very private, and fantastic water. Bentota is also a lovely little village and we just fell in love.

I should point out that Bentota is NOT 1.5 hours away from the airport (as we were first advised), it took about 3 hours what with traffic etc.

But well worth it, the staff are gorgeous, everything here has just been utterly beautiful. We are so in love with this place. Special thanks to Mahen and the waiters for their attention. Mahen was kind enough to even hunt down some aloe vera for me to help with the mosquito bites (definitely pack repellant btw).

The owner deserves a special mention for how utterly beautiful the design of this place is - its uplifted us. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aarathi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our second stay at The Villa and it was every bit as lovely as we had remembered it being. The architecture and design of the hotel is spectacular giving the whole place from the front entrance to the bars, lounges, pool and rooms a feeling of being in paradise. The service is attentive and professional - and the food and drinks are world class.

We were lucky enough to hold our wedding reception here and we can't praise the Paradise Road team highly enough for their professionalism and dedication not only to pulling off the perfect event but to making all of our guests feel like royalty during their stay at The Villa.

I can't recommend the Villa highly enough for a large event or for a quiet relaxing holiday by the pool. If you are thinking of booking The Villa, don't hesitate any longer.

Thank you to all at The Villa!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a unique design and are all just divine. If your budget allows it then go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Being a hotelier I am always over critical.. could not fault this gem of a place in anyway at all. I have stayed in a number of 'boutique' style properties over Asia, and this really is the best one ever !! The kitchen is amazing, service spot on, cleanliness and a good location. We were so pleased at finding this place and really shoudl be kept a secret, well that is till I was in Uk and picked up conde nast and there is a 3page spread on the place !!! well done, deserved... we will be seeing you again soon at THE VILLA !!

Room Tip: Book one of the suites, a lot brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during February 2012. The hotel property is very beautiful, and it has direct access to an excellent beach. The overall atmosphere is very relaxing and was perfect for us, considering we had just spent a very hectic few days discovering Sri Lanka.

There was only 1 things that slightly bothered us: the rooms weren't so clean. There were some stains on the sheets and the bathrooms were a little scummy, especially the shower area.

Otherwise, it's a great hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beirut29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#9 of 23 in Bentota
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 23 in Bentota
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Property: Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing