We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great hotel, with delicious food, helpful staff and a lovely setting. We stayed for 3 nights and from arriving at the hotel (after travelling for over 15 hours) to checkout we were truly looked after every minute of our stay.

We loved the proximity to the beach, and the quirkiness of the railway line - drinking wine in the summer house as the sunset and a train rumbled past reminded you where you were.

We ate at the hotel restaurant 2 nights and Malli's 1 night, all three meals were excellent and a special shout out to Malli who went out of his way to ensure we had one of the best nights of our holiday.

Breakfast at the hotel was delicious and we managed to bag the outdoor tables, definitely worth asking for one of these for dinner, we did for our last night and it was great to feel like you were the only people being tended to, with the sounds of waves crashing in the background.

We had drinks in some of the bigger resort hotels and from what we saw they weren't a patch on Paradise Road. If considering Bentota, I'd definitely opt for The Villa Paradise Road - one of the best hotels of our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THLondon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 472 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

If u like to be spoiled with food this is the place to be, chef Nishantha was very helpful in meeting all out request, super Srilankan delicacies upon request.
The accolades end here.
Rooms, god knows Wht the owners r trying to prove as I feel they point blank cheat u. I.e. I had instects and cockroaches in plenty and I had no water for couple of hours, locks broken, shower cubicle stained, just to say a few.
My advice try Adithya or saman villas as they will let you hav a holiday rather than a pressure check.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April on the way to Galle. We landed in Colombo at 3.30 and arrived exhausted at The Villa at 7.30am to be greeted and shown straight to our bed. A very welcome gesture considering we weren't scheduled to check in until 3pm that day. The same level of service was consistent throughout our stay with staff always smiling and willing to help. Oddly the staff is entirely male which we felt created too much of a "Yang" vibe about the place but not a big deal.

The rooms are spacious, we stayed in Suite Three which had a huge balcony, and are traditionally furnished and pleasant but don't try to save the planet and turn off the aircon or the room will very quickly smell and feel damp to the point of moist books and magazines, a function of being 100 metres from the raging surf of the ocean I guess. The room was fine and the bed was comfortable but we felt the small details were missing. Little things like replacing the mosquito coils in the room, refilling the shower gel and ambient music in the bar would set this place apart, but I'm nit picking. The food here is excellent and the kitchen staff clearly know what they are doing. There is no local restaurant that can compare. I live in Singapore and can't buy food or service like this for love nor money. The menu is imaginative, the quality excellent and the service friendly, attentive but unobtrusive. Having tried almost every cocktail on the menu over the course of two days I concluded that the barman is quite skilled and I recommend having a cocktail by the pool any time of the day but particularly at dusk where you can watch the stars come out one by one. Shooting stars are easy to see here.

You'd think that having the main railroad line running across the bottom of the garden would be a bad thing but we found it incredibly charming. Old trains of all sorts chug through during the course of the day and the folk hanging off the sides of the train wave and shout hello. This coastline was devastated by the tsunami in 2004 and one of the old trains was engulfed killing hundreds so it's a wonderful sight to see them charging past again in 2012, a testament to the resilience of these people. We had an oddly scary moment when we arrived, not realising that the train was 20 yards from the bedroom and woke in a dark panic in the middle of the night as an express train approached at full speed.

The beach is beautiful but completely deserted with the exception of the usual selection of bamboozlers, flimflammers and fixers who will harmlessly disrupt your relaxing walk by tempting you to visit various local attractions, it's best to keep walking.

A charming tuk-tuk driver called Chatura lives just outside the wall of the hotel and will drive you wherever you want to go plus a few places you probably don't want to go but it's all good. There is nothing worth seeing in the local town and the herbal garden/massage centre is a bit weird but the turtle rescue centre and lunch at Lunuganga are highly recommended and you will need to make reservations for lunch there.

Overall two to three days at this place makes for an almost perfect relaxing time. P.S. Mosquitoes are evil here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Less Bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent only one night at The Villa but wish it had been more! The hotel itself is a work of art, the pool and gardens sublime, the staff could not have been more helpful, the food and cocktails delicious and our suite was superbly luxurious and comfortable. The perfect place for complete relaxation away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was our first visit to Bentota and we couldnt have asked for a better hotel than Paradise Road Villa Bentota. This is a beautiful boutique hotel, which is very well designed and is pretty well maintained. The rates are slightly steep but would totally recommend looking up for cheaper deals on agoda or expedia. Our room faced the swimming pool and the lush green gardens. We stayed here for 2 nights and simply enjoyed every bit of it. The staff is very cultured and soft spoken. The food was exceptionally good (considering i'm a vegetarian). The ravioli was out of the world. Even the breakfast was very well prepared and the museli needs a special mention here. The beach is pretty close to the property, but one needs to be careful since there is a railway line that you need to cross inorder to get to the beach, specially once it gets dark. The pool isn't very deep but is very clean. Overall a good stay.

P.S. Just a piece of advice-Commuting from one place to the other is relatively expensive in cabs, hence make sure to keep nos of a few tour operators from the airport itself. Also make sure you bargain a bit, else they would fleece you. We had a terrible experience when we took the cab from Paradise Road Villa bentota to Colombo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hospitality at its best.It was our first time to this beautiful island.Must place to go in Bentota.We stayed with friend for 5 nights at the villa.It was amazing.The food and service was excellent.All staff are very friendly and helpful.It is surprising reading comments made regarding staff English.They are spoke simple English .Some staff spoken perfect English.Try out the Ginger chicken and the Chilli martini.It is excellent.Breakfast is good.Love the curry.All in all a Beautiful Hotel.I loved the Big foot in the sitting area.Will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in December at the end of our trip to Sri Lanka and had a great time. The goal of our stay in Bentota was just to relax and this was a beautiful place to do it. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful. The room we originally booked was a bit smaller than we expected and when mentioning it to the manager, he provided us with a free upgrade to a Suite room. The Suite was very spacious and reading other reviews I can see how people think it was "dark", etc. Our plunge pool was simple and very cold as well, but we didn't mind these things as the overall feel of the hotel was very vintage. The hotel was built in the 1970s and the way it is designed is amazingly beautiful. It is old though so to stay there and appreciate it you have to keep that in mind.
As for the grounds, there is a railway line behind the pool that you pass over to get to the beach which I liked because it reminders you that you are in Sri Lanka and not just any other beach. The beach area was nice and spacious so we could take walks over the the main town without going on the road and relax without the feeling of loads of people jammed together in the sand-like some of the other Sri Lankan beaches. Also the food at the hotel was very good. We tried a couple places out-found a great seafood place in town that the hotel manager had recommended to us, but had a great meal at the hotel and snacks in the day by the pool. Try the lobster pasta-amazing!
Overall, we had a great stay, loved the vintage feel of the hotel and would definitely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Executive Suite is a bit small, so not as good of a value. If you need some space go for the Superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LNL410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Villa
Club Villa
#8 of 25 in Bentota
299 reviews
24.0 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road The Villa Bentota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road The Villa Bentota

Address: Mohotti Walauwa | 138/18 - 138/22 Galle Road, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
#2 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bentota
#4 Family Hotel in Bentota
Price Range: $114 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paradise Road The Villa Bentota 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Bentota is a unique and private beach-side hotel; Paradise Road's newest property located 2 hours south of Colombo. Offering 15 individually designed rooms and suites with all modern amenities and services, The Villa Bentota is located in the Mohotti Walauwa which was Geoffrey Bawa's first boutique hotel in Sri Lanka. Refurbished and extended with incredible sensitivity to the original design, Shanth Fernando has created yet another masterpiece to give those who stay in the city at Tintagel a new special resort option in true Paradise Road style. With sprawling coconut palm-dressed lawns opening to the sea, two swimming pools, a restaurant, The Villa Café open to all passers-by and a Paradise Road gift store, The Villa Shop and an art gallery, The Villa Gallery, The Villa Bentota is a must-stop for all those traveling down the southern coast of Sri Lanka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Paradise Road The Villa Bentota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing