We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
410
108
22
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
108
22
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel railway line gallery cafe homemade ginger beer executive suite sri lanka geoffrey bawa plunge pool adds to the charm spa ceylon crab huge balcony restaurant service beautiful hotel passing trains pool attendant stayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 562 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If u like to be spoiled with food this is the place to be, chef Nishantha was very helpful in meeting all out request, super Srilankan delicacies upon request.
The accolades end here.
Rooms, god knows Wht the owners r trying to prove as I feel they point blank cheat u. I.e. I had instects and cockroaches in plenty and I had no water for couple of hours, locks broken, shower cubicle stained, just to say a few.
My advice try Adithya or saman villas as they will let you hav a holiday rather than a pressure check.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiyazIsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in April on the way to Galle. We landed in Colombo at 3.30 and arrived exhausted at The Villa at 7.30am to be greeted and shown straight to our bed. A very welcome gesture considering we weren't scheduled to check in until 3pm that day. The same level of service was consistent throughout our stay with staff always smiling and willing to help. Oddly the staff is entirely male which we felt created too much of a "Yang" vibe about the place but not a big deal.

The rooms are spacious, we stayed in Suite Three which had a huge balcony, and are traditionally furnished and pleasant but don't try to save the planet and turn off the aircon or the room will very quickly smell and feel damp to the point of moist books and magazines, a function of being 100 metres from the raging surf of the ocean I guess. The room was fine and the bed was comfortable but we felt the small details were missing. Little things like replacing the mosquito coils in the room, refilling the shower gel and ambient music in the bar would set this place apart, but I'm nit picking. The food here is excellent and the kitchen staff clearly know what they are doing. There is no local restaurant that can compare. I live in Singapore and can't buy food or service like this for love nor money. The menu is imaginative, the quality excellent and the service friendly, attentive but unobtrusive. Having tried almost every cocktail on the menu over the course of two days I concluded that the barman is quite skilled and I recommend having a cocktail by the pool any time of the day but particularly at dusk where you can watch the stars come out one by one. Shooting stars are easy to see here.

You'd think that having the main railroad line running across the bottom of the garden would be a bad thing but we found it incredibly charming. Old trains of all sorts chug through during the course of the day and the folk hanging off the sides of the train wave and shout hello. This coastline was devastated by the tsunami in 2004 and one of the old trains was engulfed killing hundreds so it's a wonderful sight to see them charging past again in 2012, a testament to the resilience of these people. We had an oddly scary moment when we arrived, not realising that the train was 20 yards from the bedroom and woke in a dark panic in the middle of the night as an express train approached at full speed.

The beach is beautiful but completely deserted with the exception of the usual selection of bamboozlers, flimflammers and fixers who will harmlessly disrupt your relaxing walk by tempting you to visit various local attractions, it's best to keep walking.

A charming tuk-tuk driver called Chatura lives just outside the wall of the hotel and will drive you wherever you want to go plus a few places you probably don't want to go but it's all good. There is nothing worth seeing in the local town and the herbal garden/massage centre is a bit weird but the turtle rescue centre and lunch at Lunuganga are highly recommended and you will need to make reservations for lunch there.

Overall two to three days at this place makes for an almost perfect relaxing time. P.S. Mosquitoes are evil here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Less Bugs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank epingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We spent only one night at The Villa but wish it had been more! The hotel itself is a work of art, the pool and gardens sublime, the staff could not have been more helpful, the food and cocktails delicious and our suite was superbly luxurious and comfortable. The perfect place for complete relaxation away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeR934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was our first visit to Bentota and we couldnt have asked for a better hotel than Paradise Road Villa Bentota. This is a beautiful boutique hotel, which is very well designed and is pretty well maintained. The rates are slightly steep but would totally recommend looking up for cheaper deals on agoda or expedia. Our room faced the swimming pool and the lush green gardens. We stayed here for 2 nights and simply enjoyed every bit of it. The staff is very cultured and soft spoken. The food was exceptionally good (considering i'm a vegetarian). The ravioli was out of the world. Even the breakfast was very well prepared and the museli needs a special mention here. The beach is pretty close to the property, but one needs to be careful since there is a railway line that you need to cross inorder to get to the beach, specially once it gets dark. The pool isn't very deep but is very clean. Overall a good stay.

P.S. Just a piece of advice-Commuting from one place to the other is relatively expensive in cabs, hence make sure to keep nos of a few tour operators from the airport itself. Also make sure you bargain a bit, else they would fleece you. We had a terrible experience when we took the cab from Paradise Road Villa bentota to Colombo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rashii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Hospitality at its best.It was our first time to this beautiful island.Must place to go in Bentota.We stayed with friend for 5 nights at the villa.It was amazing.The food and service was excellent.All staff are very friendly and helpful.It is surprising reading comments made regarding staff English.They are spoke simple English .Some staff spoken perfect English.Try out the Ginger chicken and the Chilli martini.It is excellent.Breakfast is good.Love the curry.All in all a Beautiful Hotel.I loved the Big foot in the sitting area.Will be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews