We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel(Bentota)(Great Value!)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Villa(Bentota)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
393
104
21
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
104
21
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelshanth fernandorailway linegallery cafehomemade ginger beergeoffrey bawasri lankaexecutive suitebaked crabplunge poolspa ceylonadds to the charmbeautiful hoteltrains passinghuge balconypool attendantstayed for nights
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 540 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here for six nights just after New Year and had a great time. If all you want to do is sit around, potter about and generally relax then this hotel is perfect. The railway line at the bottom of the garden (you have to cross it to get to the beach) was unfortunately being repaired and upgraded so we did not see any trains (other than an engineering train one morning). The beach is beautiful and quiet. It's possible to swim in the sea up to waist level (or deeper if you don't mind the gamble) but the currents were strong generally and the undertow very strong even at thigh level.

The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. Our suite was a great size with a huge balcony and nice furniture. The bathrooms are great and rather like a Clerkenwell bar from 1998 with exposed cement finish and so on. Geoffrey Bawa designed the hotel in the 1970s (I think).

Our only suggestions for improvements would be to have an iron and ironing boad permanently available in the room (hidden away, as there is plenty of space) and for better lighting in the bathroom for use when shaving or applying make-up (or both).

The staff were very friendly (but not in a prying way) and helpful. They could be a little slow and forgetful but not to any level of annoyance and apologised when they got it wrong.

The hotel is expensive and there are not many deals to be had but it is worth the experience. We booked directly with the hotel and had no difficulties with the booking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stunning place with amazing stylish rooms with the comfiest beds in Sri Lanka; beautiful grounds; great lap pool; right by the beach; and quite literally the best breakfast ever!!

Robert & Sophie

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

A return visit for me - 6 months ago I complained that while the surroundings were fantastic, chic and very very stylish, the service sucked. No longer the case - service had really been improved in the intervening period, and now I would be much more positive. Lovely rooms, extremely beautiful hotel, good food, and .... yes, finally! ... great service. Well done Shanth, and well done Villa Bentota staff and management. Highly recommended. It's small (15 rooms I think), quiet, beautifully designed, and with all comforts (and more).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I cant think of one fault for this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights, on arrival we were greeted with welcome drinks and was shown to our room which was excellent. The room was spacious and a large bathroom with a seperate bath and shower. The room didnt once smell damp which has been reported in previous reviews but there were burners with oil lit every night so maybe the management has taken note of this issue. We were in room 6 and my only suggestion to the managment would be to put a partition up on the balcony as 2 rooms have to share one balcony. The pool area was always clean and the pool was a good size for swimming lengths. There was a security guard at the entrance but never had to show id or my key to enter the property.
The breakfast was from a menu but there was plenty of choice, the waiters are very polite and accomodating. We ate at the restaurant once and found it to be pricey compared to other restaurants in Bentota.
I find 'Lawrence7777' review very hard to believe and find it odd that as he was staying at other hotels during his trip he has only ever made one review?????
All in all this is one of the best hotels Ive ever stayed in and would definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We spent two nights hers in the Mohotti Suite with our children. It was definitely the best hotel of the 4 properties in which we stayed in Sri Lanka. Service here was head and shoulders above that at the other hotels on our itinerary. One of the many things that set it part from the hotels further south was that it set back from the road so your sleep was not interrupted by the sound of car horns and tuk tuks.

The place has refurbished perfectly; with elegant modern touches complimenting a beautiful Geoffrey Bawa designed property. The gardens and landscaping are serene and the beach at the other side of the railway line is pristine. Whenever we went to the beach in the early morning or late afternoon, we almost had it to ourselves.

I had two minor issues. Firstly, the food while perfectly fine was underwhelming. Secondly, although the layout of the Mohotti Suite worked well with young children (2 bedrooms, bathroom and living room), I would not stay there again; there was no glass on the bedroom windows so noise from the restaurant and driveway travelled into the room, and I'm sure noise from the children went in the opposite direction too. Also, the steep stairs to the room was less than ideal with little children, and frankly I cannot imagine who else other than a young family, would stay in a suite in which two bedrooms shared a bathroom. We would definitely stay there again, but in one of the more modern rooms with large terrace or balcony.

We stopped off here again when passing through Bentota on our return drive to Colombo and were even more appreciative of the joys of being there having experienced the inferior service levels on the south of the island. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews