We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Saman Villas(Bentota)
$413
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa 80(Bentota)
$75
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Villa(Bentota)
$113
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$108
$99
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveler rating
391
104
21
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
104
21
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelshanth fernandorailway linegallery cafehomemade ginger beergeoffrey bawasri lankaexecutive suitebaked crabplunge poolspa ceylonadds to the charmbeautiful hoteltrains passinghuge balconystayed for nightscurry
Filter
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 538 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

From arrival to departure the hotel was excellent. The hotel has direct access to the beautiful bentota beach ( you do need to cross a cute railway track). The rooms are appointed with a lot of character as is the rest of the hotel and communal areas.

The staff were attentive and had personality. THey were also very helpful in recommending places around the villa.

The pool is small but beautiful and the grounds are maintained perfectly. My only criticism was a lack of Sri Lankan food on the in-house menu. Breakfast each morning was a highlight too

I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

(i did just also read the negative comments before my review - which surprised me. Given i Just stayed at the property I am a little lost as to the over powering negative tone. I am a very picky traveller and this hotel exceeded all my expectations. I did not have a damp room or experience poor attitude from management)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Traveler86AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is my fifth independent holiday in sri lanka. I was coming from Ceylon Tea Trails and Heading for the Naumi Hotel in Singapore when we stopped by for 2 nights at the The Villa Bentota. (these all have similar priced rooms), It was a radical disappointment with the management and reception staff having no ability to anticipate or understand the need of the guest. From the "just arrived in a nightclub" welcome from the shaved headed bouncer at reception who demanded ID before entry to the 30 minute wait for the bill even though our bags had been collected from the room and our driver was waiting. I could write 3 pages
This is a cheap hotel with pretensions, a boutique hotel past its use by date, an organisation (Paradise Road) that hangs on the legacy of Jeffrey Bawa for its own profit.
Other hotels we stayed in during this trip where the Ellerton and the Galleface Hotel both cheaper and vastly superior.
Having said all of this the housekeeping and restaurant staff where fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lawrence7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a great time and villa bentota and the only real complaint we had was the way one of the managers dealt with our room situation. Villa bentota resort is soo peaceful and a great place to relax. We arrived and were taken to suite 2, it's a great big room with a nice outside space, however the room was damp, the mould was all up the wall and on the ceiling and the sheets were a little damp, for 400usd per night you do not expect this. We decided not to say anything as we were only in the room for 2 nights (I booked late and was told we would have to move to room 2 for our 3rd night) When it was time for us to check into our new room we checked with the on duty manager at the time and he explained that he would try to keep us in the same room, we said that would be ok but we did not want to pay that rate as the room was damp, he gave us a surprised look and said he would check it out and let us know later. We waited around the pool until nearly midday and left for lunch, in our return the staff seemed a little relived to see us as we needed to move rooms immediately so new guests could move into suite 2. The manager who was dealing with it never spoke with us again, I assume he didn't think our complaint was valid and it was easier for us to move to room 2, this was a fine room but the bathroom did smell, I had seen this complaint on here before. That room was 300usd a night, definatley overpriced. Overall it's a lovely place with a peaceful feel and good food. The rooms in the condition they are in are overpriced though!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malaysausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was the fourth and final hotel we stayed at having been on a nine day tour of Sri Lanka. We picked this boutique style hotel because it looked like a small, intimate hotel and we knew we would want somewhere to relax and do nothing after a hectic nine days. It was the perfect choice! The whole place is immaculate (largely thanks to the wonderful man who tended the grounds and also the pool) and absolutely beautiful. We are not normally 'poolside' people and would usually sit on the beach but here the pool area was so peaceful (and you could hear the sea from your sun lounger!) we basically sat by the pool for three days and did nothing! Having said that, the beach that the hotel is located at is absolutely stunning (pretty much untouched other than a few restaurants 'advertising boards') and perfect for early morning walks and of course great sunsets. Most mornings the beach was empty! We stayed in a superior room (their most basic room I think) which was located above reception and we were more than happy with it - it had a huge bed and small balcony area overlooking the pool and you could (just) see the sea. The bathroom did not seem to be of as good a standard as the rest of the room but it was adequate. One nice touch was the oil burner which was in the room and meant the room always smelt heavenly!
The restaurant was really lovely and intimate. We were only there for four nights and ate outside the hotel at another restaurant one night so the fact the menu did not change was not a huge issue for us, but if you are staying for longer I imagine it could get quite repetitve. The food itself was very good and was the only hotel we stayed at where we were waited on rather than buffet which made a pleasant change but on our last night the staff did struggle because there were some people that were dining in other areas around the grounds and this meant the staff were (literally!) running around trying to serve everyone and the standards did slip. They do need to make sure that if they offer you the ability to choose where to dine that they have enough staff to handle it. Generally the staff at dinner and breakfast were a bit hit or miss and lacked consistency (it seemed to us it was a lack of training as much as anything). It is for this reason and the limited dinner menu that I have not marked this hotel a five. Every other aspect of our stay was absolutely first class and I would return in a heartbeat.
I do agree with another recent reviewer that they could make more of the bar area (we didn't realise there was one until we walked around the grounds) and perhaps do a cocktail hour in the early evening to give the guests a chance to interact with each other.
Finally special thanks to Mahen (apologies for any incorrect spelling) - due to our flight time we had to leave at 6.30am and (without prompting) offered and organised us a breakfast box in lieu of missing breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KK03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Don't know where to start....
The Villa is amazing and the staff are just as amazing! Without a doubt the best and most attentive service i have ever had. Nothing was a hassle for the staff.
As for the place itself, the location is great. a quiet little spot right on a beautiful stretch of coast line. The architecture of the building is second to none and has a nice open plan with a surprise at every corner.
A must for anyone travelling to Sri Lanka!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawrence f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews