We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow and wow again”
Review of Suhada Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suhada Villa
Reviewed February 19, 2014

As it was my 50th birthday I wanted something really special and that is what we got in bundles and what a welcome.
The staff were so warm and lovely, the house was so clean a and beautiful I did not want to leave.
Great trips and visits where organized in a safe and fun way and the weather.....what can I say mmmm wonderful.
All 7 of us had the best holiday ever and that is saying a lot as we all travel a lot but this place was unbelievable, and when I got home I had withdrawn symtoms ha ha ha.
We were only able to stay for 6 nights as but wanted to and would have stayed for more.
So excited about next year as it is my birthday again and I have already booked here again, but even more of my friends want to come, so may have to sleep in the garden ha ha ha

Room Tip: Let the them organize and change your money as they are so honest and really look after you. Great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnett510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Suhada villa for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay, during our visit we had the pleasure of meeting the owner Ravindra and his brother Kamal and were both inviting and warm. The swimming pool has a fantastic garden especially if you love wildlife, there were so many various species of birds and lizards. The swimming pool itself was great as it has a separate area for children, perfect for our 2 year old!
The food was amazing, we had a few different types of curry including a delicious crab curry, worth coming back just for that! The service was superb, and anything you asked for was accommodated, we had a great tuk Tuk ride to the Brief Gardens with Kamal and anywhere you wanted to go he would arrange.
The rooms are lovely, clean, very modern with four poster beds, very comfortable. and air conditioning also available as well as fan. The bathroom very nice, clean and has a great shower/wet room. A cot is available on request also.
I would definitely recommend Suhada Villa and we would come back again in a shot, thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you are going to Bentota staying at Suhada Villa is a must, I've just returned from a stay with friends, the villa is fabulous and the setting beautiful. The staff are wonderful they can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable, they are courteous, professional and friendly. The chef prepared delicious food for all meals and catered for all tastes. The whole stay was a joy and a credit to Rav & Lisa the owners, I will certainly recommend to friends and hope to return myself before too long - Sri Lanka is a beautiful country and with lots more to see Suhada Villa is the perfect base :-) Enid

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryEB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are family of 4 adults and two children aged 7 and 11 who stayed at Suhada during August 2013. Our reservation was made at the very last minute and the owner, Lisa, was very helpful, obliging and efficient.
We requested arrangements for a safe and comfortable vehicle to transport us from Kandy to Bentota .The driver, Anu, was careful and helpful and we felt very safe during the journey, and he continued to provide helpful local advice during our stay.
We had chosen the Suhada Villa in order to spend some time with our daughter and family from Ireland. Kamal and his friendly, helpful staff provided excellent service, a high standard of accommodation and sparkling pool in peaceful surroundings which contributed to an experience beyond our expectations. The chef his staff catered for our vegetarian tastes with delicious meals and special requests.It was a most enjoyable and memorable stay and we can confidently recommend the Suhada Villa.
Locon and Dawn Wall
Maleny
Australia

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank locon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would highly recommend Suhada Villa to anyone contemplating visiting Sri Lanka or for those of you who just need to get away and enjoy a little pampering. We recently spent 8 days at the villa and were treated as guests instead of paying clients. The owners and staff were so welcoming and ensured that all needs were met including day trips and tours. The pool and the gardens are lovely and a peaceful way to wind down from a hectic life. The rooms are very private and the whole villa extremely clean. The food turned out to be the best we experienced during our entire trip, exquisite flavors and made with care, a true highlight. We were even treated to live entertainment on more than one occasion :) Such was our time at Suhada Villa we’ve declared it the honeymoon we never had. Thank you to all and we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We found it hard to get a booking as the Villa is getting very popular but it was well worth juggling our plans to get a few nights there. The Villa continues to be well maitained and is spotless. The food was good as ever. My husband is still talking about the pancakes at breakfast.
The owner helped us with onward transport which proved most reiable. If onlt all the places we stayed at it in Sri Lanka had been of this standard then we would be booking for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Suhada Villa. 7 adults and a baby meeting in Sri Lanka (from UK and Singapore) as a surprise 30th birthday for my husband. We arrived to a traditional masked dancer and drummer who 'danced' us down the driveway to the gorgeous villa. What a lovely welcome and additional fuss for my husband's surprise birthday. Ravi and the rest of the villa staff then looked after us incredibly well for the next 5 days - preparing fantastic meals for us every evening (seafood feast, curry night, BBQ) and kicking off each day with delicious fruit platters, pancakes and omelettes on the fantastic big outdoor terrace overlooking the pool. Indoor space was less comfortable with a lack of soft seating but we didn't spend all that much time indoors.

Despite being a little unlucky with the weather (often overcast with periods of rain), we spent much of our time in the glorious pool, being served ginger beer and lion beer to our hearts content! The large garden is attractive and well maintained and occasionally Spot, the resident Dalmatian, comes out to play.

The rooms lack much character but are cool and perfectly functional. Big alfresco bathrooms but unfortunately not much hot water or water pressure throughout our stay.

Ravi, the villa owner, was incredibly helpful and obliging everyday with advising us on activities, places to go/eat, etc. He arranged an early morning deep sea fishing trip for the boys and kindly allowed us to rearrange at the very last min when one of the party wasn't well. The staff also arranged transport for us, whether this be tuk tuk or mini bus, whenever we wanted to go out. We had also pre-arranged with Lisa (Ravi's wife with whom we arranged our holiday in the UK) a minibus to take us all to Nuwara Eliya at the end of our stay and remain with us for our 2 days there, returning us to Colombo at the end of our trip. Jagger, our driver, navigated us up the challenging hairpin bends of the mountains expertly (if not a little scarily at times). The driving in Sri Lanka is pretty terrifying but we soon learnt that Jagger would keep us safe (just about!). We also had a great driver Jintek who took us for a day trip to Galle.

The staff at Suhada villa were also so very kind and hands-on with the 7 month old baby who was part of our group and this was so appreciated.

It was also really valuable to have much input and communication with Lisa before we even arrived on Sri Lanka. Lisa was always on hand to and willing to answer any queries we had or help advise on plans. This gave us real peace of mind too as many other villas which we researched did not provide easy direct access to the villa owner - and fortunately for us, the villa owners were (at the time) split between the UK and actually at the villa which gave us the best of both worlds.

All in all, we found Suhada Villa to be great value for money, with friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, comfortable rooms and well situated with a short tuk tuk drive to a beautiful Bentota beach. We had a wonderful stay and would like to thank everyone who made our holiday so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsty_Stancombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
1.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Saman Villas
Saman Villas
#1 of 25 in Bentota
825 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 25 in Bentota
881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suhada Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suhada Villa

Address: Kommola, Bentota, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful small hotel set in lush tropical gardens situated in the heart of a typical Sri Lankan village offering the traveler a tranquil hideaway. However, only 5 minutes walk to beach/Bentota. Accommodation: 5 ensuite bedrooms,two with air conditioning. All bathrooms have semi-open showers so if showering under the stars ticks a romantic box on your boulevard then you will love this. Fabulous food both western and Sri Lankan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing