We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHEER BLISS!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiyaSisila Restaurant

DiyaSisila Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Bentota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Romantic and clean place on river Bentota. We can arrange amazing dinner, lunch or tea party (max. 4 persons.) on catamaran on the river, with candles. Our boat man will take you around Dedduwa lake and lagoon. We organize business parties and birthday parties - maximum 20 pax. We prepare village tour - tour + lunch (the best Sri Lanka Rice and Curry) 20 € and bicycle riding.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SHEER BLISS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

What a beautiful place by the lake..appropriate time to visit is during dusk when the colours of the setting sun make the surrounding very picturesque..
Ordered chilli garlic tossed prawns with herbed rice..JUMBO prawns..succulent..burst of flavours in the mouth..
It seems the owner has done up the place very passionately..it reflects in the food and the overall ambience..amazing staff..ever smiling and inviting to the core..
was pleasantly surprised to get two complimentary helpings of cashewnut honey vanilla ice-cream at the end of the meal..fantastic flavours again..pure bliss!
MUST VISIT..have atleast one meal here if visiting Bentota..

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sukti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    74
    23
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Romantic place by the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We had an excellent dinner here. If you book the table ask the romantic pavillion by the lake. The smile of the personnel is so welcoming, charming and natural. We had shrimps and fish, both where well prepare and not over cooked, which is so often problem in Asia. White wine was excellent and decent priced. Really excellent experience.

Tuk tuk drivers are saying its far away, but it takes only 7-10 minutes from Bentota.
As we had such a nice dinner we desided to return for next day for curry. It was the best curry our 2 weeks tour, it's fresh cooked. it's an authentic mom/mama cooking of the wife of the owner.

This is truely the best restaurant in Bentota, we checked most of them.

Timo

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tes183u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Not much food to choose from on the menu but the prawns we had were the tastiest prawns we have ever eaten. Only two members of staff and so very friendly. The food was served to us quicker here than other restaurants where they had more staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Its my second review, everytime im in my home country I go to Betota just to eat at this place. This time I had to write again simply because the chef has out done himself again. We get all sorts of seafood here in Hong Kong and the locals love freshness, but this right here is hands down the best western style seafood meal you will have

The fish steak was cooked to perfection, fluffy and full of flavour. The meal was good we had 4 main courses to share between 2. All of it was perfect.

Its the care he takes with each dish, everything was perfection, even the carrots were done perfectly

He should be on TV, on radio on anything to show the world how to cook like him. Truly a talented maestro of the seafood

The only bad thing I have to say is that his food is so good it makes the 2nd place look so average in comparison and I had both one after the other

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmoorthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went there following the Tripadvisor Tip. It's a very nice place, if you can eat in the table above the lake it's perfect and very romantic.
We have eaten lobster. Was very good, but we had to wait 1 hour for it.
We went there with a boat combining the river-safari with Diya Sisilia. We went with Chan (+94 77 9821312), a very nice men and cheep to do river-safari, fishing, and Adan's pick excursion . You can find him in the middle of Bentota Brigde over Bentota's river

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiyaSisila Restaurant also viewed

Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
 
Bentota, Southern Province
Bentota, Southern Province
 

Been to DiyaSisila Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing