We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are a vegetarian give this place a miss”
Review of Golden Grill

Golden Grill
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Bentota
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The "Golden Grill", stands nestled within Sri Lanka's first National Holiday Resort in Bentota overlooking the scenic beauty of a small lake, has a history since 1970. A variety of cuisine is available to tantalize your taste buds at this unique restaurant. Dishes from around the world including traditional Sri Lankan specialties are served with a touch of class at an affordable price. The courteous staff and imaginative decor add to its ambience promising guests an unforgettable experience.
Ilford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“if you are a vegetarian give this place a miss”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Not much Variety for vegetarian. there was a wedding party in the main restaurant so it was a bit noisy. we had to sit outside no ac in 28C

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HareshIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    281
    118
    47
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't order a portion of chips”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I used to think that the Golden Grill was a decent venue for "tourist" food until I checked my bill on my last visit to find that I had been charged 785 SLR (about £4) for a portion of frozen chips. A major rip-off compared to ANY other restaurant in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ianleatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate here several times during our two weeks stay Bentota. Every meal was very good and we couldn't fault it at all. The staff where very helpful and there was always plenty of staff. The restaurant was always busy but we never needed to book a table, they have seating both outside and inside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Korky16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place Nice setting by lake.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stumbled on this restaurant while we were waiting for a shop to open. The décor is beautiful and the waiters smartly dressed in white shirts and bow ties. We only had drinks here as we had just eaten and were in beach wear and dishevelled from the wind, but we were made to feel welcome despite our dress and the fact we only ha 2 ginger beers each. We saw the menu which was extensive and cheap prices. We would definitely eat there if we visited Sri Lanka again, alas we only discovered it on out last day. Can be accessed from the beach not far from the Bentota Beach Hotel near a cluster of shops.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Honesty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Faniced a change from all inclusive so went here one evening. More staff than diners and they were just stood watching every move which made us feel very uncomfortable. The food was OK but not great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bubbles1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Grill also viewed

 
Bentota, Galle District
Aluthgama, Western Province
 

Been to Golden Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing