We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”
Review of Panchi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panchi Villa
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A lovely villa with good size balcony leading onto the inviting, clean pool. Bed was comfortable and fully covered with a mosquito net, not that we came across many mosquito's here. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Restaurant was quiet but meals were good.

Villas on not on the sea front but it was a short walk to the beach were you could walk for some distance.

Wi-fi was patchy and if you weren't in the right area.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TnTinTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very nice hotel with great rooms with balcony. The hotel service is very good. Breakfast and dinner is very good. The Hotel has a very nice garden with swimmingpool. Only problem could be that it is a little far away from everything; so rent a car; tuk tuk or motorbike

Room Tip: The Hotel is a Little far from town; rent a car; tuk tuk or motorbike
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steendenmark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I arrived at the hotel hoping to have 2 restful hotels by the sea. Well, it has nothing to do with Bentota Beach. It is located on the other side of the road across a railway crossing. So imagine listening to the sound of a train flitting by instead of the swaying palm trees.

Received by an indifferent set of staff, I reconciled myself to 2 boring days. The staff did not have the courtesy to brief me in any way. As I said absent or unhelpful or indifferent.

The tuk tuk available for transportation will try and take you to some places where you dont want to go. I wanted to go to the city to explore it, but the driver insisted on taking me to a wood working shop which I was not interested in.

The AC did not work half the time. And the staff was not interested in even assisting in diagnosing what was wrong. And I didnt want to spoil my holiday by getting into arguments.

The room was not cleaned. I went and reminded the reception which was so disinterested and did not even understand why I wanted some towels and my room cleaned.

The room had little insects and ants which bit me all the time.

There were hardly any guests and so the hotel was lifeless least to say.

The breakfast is really not interesting. Just fruits and toasts! But the menu speaks of a Sri Lankan breakfast. Again the service in the restaurant was just awful. The staff was busy watching Television.

If you want to be near the beach or have a friendly attentive staff to lean on, please dont come here.

The room is large and nice. The place is clean.
The bathroom only has an overhead shower but no shower cap is provided.

Terrible terrible 2 days.
Bad Luck.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lata I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Panchi Villas in Dec 2013 for 7 nights. The rooms were spacious with great balconies overlooking the pool, great for relaxing in the afternoon. The food is great and they will make anything you want. The on site Ayurveda clinic is very relaxing a great way to unwind .

Just across the road is a fantastic beach, not crowded and you can take long walks and watch the local fisherman pulling in their nets. Their sister property just down the beach will welcome you and provide you with sun loungers right on the waters edge and you can have lunch there and catch a tok tok home.

Staff at Panchi can also arrange sight seeing and transfers to and from the main airport.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level, view of pool at night is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Panchi Villa for nine nights from 20th February, it was everything we expected. Our friends who were there at the same time have gone into detail so I would only be repeating their views. What I would like to highlight is the friendliness of the staff, everything we requested was supplied and organised without any problems. We really enjoyed our tuk tuk rides, experiencing the real Sri Lanka mainly around the surrounding areas of Bentota. We visited the temple, Buddha and Brief Garden. While out on our morning trip we asked if there was anywhere locally that did wooden carvings, what a treat! One place you must visit is Sunflower Arts and Crafts for exceptionally good quality wooden carvings, furniture and many more souvenirs. They have their own workshop and will take special orders, better quality than you will find in the tourist areas. The railway line runs past the hotel, we did not find this a problem. We did travel on the trains, this is an experience. Trying to find out the times can be difficult and timings are a bit hit and miss but very cheap. We went to Galle, which is a lovely place to visit. We did venture as far as The Elephant Orphanage by train but I would not recommend this journey, too far in a day, if you can face 4 hours by car (each way) then this is a better option, you would think the train would be quicker but it's not. We really enjoyed our time in Sri Lanka and did not get to do everything we would have liked.

Room Tip: We chose the super luxury room on half board basis, our room was on the top floor. Good size room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greenfingers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Panchi Villa in total 8 nights on BB. We were welcomed very friendly and could go to our room immediately. The room was very beautiful, clean and spacious. The bed was decorated very nicely with fresh flowers and the welcome drink ( fresh Papaya Juice) was absolutely delicious. As our room was on the first floor, we had a big balcony with a table, two chairs and a clotheshorse.
The first evening we went to the restaurant of Panchi Villa and the food was very tasty. Also the prices were okay.
There are some other restaurants nearby which all were very nice, the food was tasty and also not too expensive.
The beach was only a few minutes drive with the Tuktuk away at Hotel Wunderbar ( belongs to Panchi Villa). The staff there were as friendly as in Panchi and the service was very good as well.
Upon arrival we were told that we will get a free foot massage in the Spa, which we also took. It was not as expected though. We had decided not to take another massage because of that. (Apparently the other treatments are very nice as per some guests we met who had visited before).
The only thing what we had to get used to was that there is the railway directly in front of the Hotel, so that once in a while there are trains passing by which can be very loud. Luckily there are no trains in the night, so that you can have a good sleep.
The breakfast was simple but absolutely good. You got a fresh fruit juice ( Papaya, Avocado, Watermelon..), coffee or tea, a fruit plate, toasted bread, cheese, jam, butter and you were always asked if you want to have eggs, bacon or chicken sausages.
Although the Hotel was fully booked, sometimes we were the only ones at the pool. The size of the pool is completely sufficient.

All in all we really enjoyed the stay at Panchi Villa and were sad that we had to leave. We can only recommend this Hotel especially for couples, as we think for a family it is maybe too small and there are not many things to do for children. If we should go again to Sri Lanka, then definitely to Panchi Villa!!

Room Tip: We think a room on first or second floor would be very nice than the ones on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sabyzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A nice place to spend a couple of days. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious. The garden is small but the swimming pool is of a fair size. I had one dinner there and found the food good, but better eateries can be found on the main road. A few yards away you will find a nice beach with a bar serving a good selection of snacks. It is close the the train barriers. I would not hesitate on recommending the Panchi Villa.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank jean-yves c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 26 in Bentota
922 reviews
0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panchi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panchi Villa

Address: #339/7a, Kurudu Watte | Wrahena, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Price Range: $54 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panchi Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panchi Villa is situated in the coastal city of Bentota and nestled in the midst of a tropical setting. This peaceful Villa comprises of seven luxury rooms ans two super luxury rooms overlooking the swimming pool and the lush greenery. An ideal hideout for those seeking serene and absolute peace. Service is personalised in the true sense of the word. The best part, Panchi Villa is just 100 meteres away from the exotic beach of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panchi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panchi Villa Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing