We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great place for Bentota in order to avoid the touristy areas”
Review of Panchi Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panchi Villa
Ranked #13 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great place for Bentota in order to avoid the touristy areas”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our two year old son and can really recommend this place!!

The hotel is small but very clean. Food is not the best but very attentive staff.

It's location is a bit off the main area however, it is only a short tuk tuk ride to the Hotel Wunderbar where you can use the facilities in order to have a lovely stay at the beach. The beach in South Bentota was one of the best on our whole trip. Mirissa in comparison is a crowed run over place!

We would have loved to stay here a bit longer but had to continue our trip to Mirissa.


Also if your are looking for masques buy them in Bentota or at the Masque Museum further south as it is the best area for this type of souvenir.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    59
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
73
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

it is my old unfulfilled task, I forgot write this review which i wanted to do. We spent a few days in Panchi Villa on november 2010. Panchi Villa has very large and clean room, with new furniture and good price. Friendly proprietress of Panchi Villa arranges for guests all wishes which they have. Very very nice place gives you the best memories of Sri Lanka. If we come back to Sri Lanka we will take room in Panchi Villa. Zdenek a Lenka, Czech Republic

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

As other reviews say, the service is pretty unfriendly. Location is about a 20 minute walk down the very long beach from Wunderbar, which is a good place for a drink and has a turtle hatchery (and great service). You do have a short 2 min walk to the beach but it isn't a problem and re previous comments on the train track, it is disused now so no train noise. Breakfast was the best we had in Sri Lanka and the room was giant with a proper shower. Overall Panchi is a good bet if you are just in Bentota for a day or two and Wunderbar is full or significantly dearer.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdofbead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We have just returned from 5 nights staying in the Panchi Villa. We stay in one of the two super luxury rooms and had a really relaxing holiday.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, sheets and towels were changed every day. The four poster bed was so comfortable we slept so well during our stay. We went half board and the food has gorgeous, breakfast was juice, english breakfast and a plate of fruit and the evening meal was 4 courses. The seafood was divine and the local curry and rice was lovely.
The biggest asset for this hotel was the staff, they couldnt do enough for us whether it was taking us places in the tuk-tuk or offering advice on where to go.
Other reviews have commented on the closeness of the main road and railway track. The railway track is a small single lane track that did not affect our holiday and the main road is far enough away to not take away from the lush green surroundings. The beach really is just across the road and is clean and quiet.
If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday with yummy food and cheap beer and helpful staff Panchi Villa is a must!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kym F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We wanted to celebrate my husband's birthday in Sri-Lanka and were careful enough with the hotel choice and we were lucky to find available room in this perfect. cozy, homelike villa on the dates required.
The hotel territory is very clean, taken care of, beautiful nature in a quite and cozy place. The beach is closely located, as well as various cafes, restaurants and personnel guys can take you to any place by tuk-tuk if needed. The hotel location is very suitable, everything is very close.
The swimming pool is clean, the rooms are being taken care of everyday, continental breakfasts are tasty enough, the food in overall is excellent if to lunch and dine in the hotel. Everything is fresh and the guys always meet your requirements in any issue you have.
Lanka people are very friendly and hard working. In this hotel you are sure to find perfect matching of reasonable and excellent service!
We spent really wonderful 2 weeks time while staying in Panchi Villa.
If you doubt, try to find such a service for such money somewhere else.
Zhanna&Zhenya

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZhannaZhenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Set amidst a serene sorrounding and beach at 5 mins proximity, this beautiful place has spacious rooms, lovely ambience and decor and gives you your own space to laze around. The staff are very courteous and non interfering and we could use the pool that was warm at any time of the day or night !
A Lovely place to just hang around with your partner or with friends for a few days. A good balcony that faces the pool where you can have a good conversation , drinks and some excellent time ! Drink options are good but limited to Beer , gin and local arrack and so if hard liquor is your taste then you better carry some with you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 803shivk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONG KONG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. The room is clean and large, with balcony overlooking the pool. Holding a glass of Arrack (Sri Lanka whisky) at the balcony and listening to the songs of birds, watching the blue sky, feeling the breeze is extremely good. Staff are friendly, helpful and smart. Enjoying sunshine and swimming at the pool in the early morning and evening is wonderful as well. This paradise is even better than home. As known, a larger restaurant and an ayuvendic treatment place is now under construction at another building next to the original one, but it doesn't cause any annoyance. In contrast, it's interesting to watch people constructing new building using basic and traditional method at the pool or at balcony. If I have chance, I'll come to Sri Lanka and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.0 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.0 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wunderbar Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#6 of 24 in Bentota
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Janus Paradise Rest
Janus Paradise Rest
#19 of 24 in Bentota
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panchi Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panchi Villa

Property: Panchi Villa
Address: #339/7a, Kurudu Watte | Wrahena, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panchi Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panchi Villa is situated in the coastal city of Bentota and nestled in the midst of a tropical setting. This peaceful Villa comprises of seven luxury rooms ans two super luxury rooms overlooking the swimming pool and the lush greenery. An ideal hideout for those seeking serene and absolute peace. Service is personalised in the true sense of the word. The best part, Panchi Villa is just 100 meteres away from the exotic beach of the Indian Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Panchi Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panchi Villa Hotel Bentota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing