We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lilly Village Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 59 Bentota B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“gorgeous.”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were totally unprepared for how lovely Lilly Village is, when we got our of the tuk tuk, tired and dirty after a long train journey. We were led through the tranquil garden, to the open dining area and given tea and cold drinks. The rooms are peaceful and the ' open air' bathrooms are elegant, with all you need including a hairdryer.

Breakfast - fruit plates, toast and eggs was lovely. My only criticism is that there is no-one on the premises between 7pm and 7am so early morning or late night cups of tea etc are unavailable.
It is 5 minute walk to the 5km beach.
The staff are charming and the decor of the communal spaces is beautiful. We will be back again.

Room Tip: we preferred the room that didn't have a bathroom adjacent to the one next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    11
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for a few days over Christmas, and we weren't disappointed. Everything pleased, from the beautiful decor, garden, amazing food, outdoor bathroom, attentive staff, charming animals; would return again! Was disappointed not to have spoken with the owner.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The atmosphere in Lilly Village is one of calm, tranquility and serenity. It makes you want to relax. The grounds are fabulous and lots of places to sit, put your feet up, read a book or just be!!!!

Lilly Village has the feeling of a very secluded guest house, yet it is only 5 minutes walk to a beautiful white sandy beach. We stayed in Lilly Village for three nights over Christmas, as the first leg of our trip in Sri Lanka and it was exactly what we needed/were looking for.

On arrival the staff were very welcoming and organised a chef to cook dinner for us that evening even though we arrived late afternoon.

As a previous comment states we were taken straight in to the office on arrival, however it was not to pay upfront (as you have to do this when booking), but to fill in our details as I think is legal requirement for hotels.

Though the rooms are compact (we stayed in lily blue, room 2), the communal area makes up for it as you don't need to be in your room with such lovely surrounding other than to sleep. As I said before there are plenty of places to sit and relax in privacy away from the other guests.

The staff were excellent, very well managed and couldn't do enough to help us, without being overpowering. So polite and attentive. The manager, Indika, couldn't be more helpful and he even came in on his day off to allow us check out later than planned. The food was fantastic!! The best food we had in Sri Lanka. Delicious fresh local ingredients. Much better quality and taste than the 5 star hotel we tried at the beach front.

The only thing we could fault was the owner. She didn't communicate with us at all and didn't seem very pleasant to her staff. I don’t believe this was a cultural difference as she is French.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Me & my wife are avid travelers who started off as backpackers & now like to stay in boutique hotels every once in a while. I'm so glad we stayed at Lilly Village, a tastefully done hotel with such tranquility that I can spend time writing a book. Our room came with a nice private balcony. The owner of this place is aesthetically extremely sound, must say. The entire decor, the french lounge music, mouth-watering omelettes, fresh fruits, friendly staff made our stay a memorable one. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokamojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is an account of my stay in the Lilly Village.

We arrived on time and were welcomed by the staff then led into the office and immediately asked to pay for the two nights stay upfront. I thought at that this was unusual but, hey no problem.
So we paid and only then we were taken to the room. It was then that I understood why they ask you to pay upfront. It was absolutely tiny, No A/C ( it is an ECO Property of course) and barely room to put the suitcase in. I then went to take a shower in the outside bathroom, but there was no hot water. Upon speaking to the other guests they did not have hot water either. It was too hot to sleep in the box room.

It is worth pointing out in the interest of fairness that the grounds are elegant and stylish outside the rooms and in the common areas
Anyway, next morning I asked to fix the hot water and or change rooms but was told they were fully booked. So bad luck.
On the day of checkout. one of the staff members Indika told us that as we had had issues we could stay in the room until our checkout at 9.30pm.

Great we thought.

We went out for the day and came back at around 7.30 pm. I tried to open the door to our room and was startled to hear a woman's voice inside. I asked what they were doing in our room and she shouted back that it was her room and had been there for some time.
I went to the office and before i could say anything i was told to sit down. The chap then told me that some new guests had arrived and so they had removed our stuff and put it somewhere else. I was horrified,as we had been told we could stay till 9.30 pm we had not packed our things away or closed our suitcases. So in essence someone had come in to our room, removed our personal items without our permission and we were chucked out of our room despite being told that we could have the room until 9.30pm

I was understandably angry and told the guy that this was frankly unbelievable. He apologised and said it was his fault but he had no choice. I asked to see the manager but was told that she was unavailable.

The next part is where it gets even more incredible. This Indika then proceeded to tell me that it was actually my fault that this had happened as this was a Eco resort, I should have been sat around reading and not going out and asked me where I had been all day. None of your business I retorted. And besides I was told 9.30pm checkout so had planned accordingly. I was standing in the lobby area all covered in sand and sweat obviously expecting to take a shower before I left and was now stuck looking at this person.

Fortunately we were with other guests so we used their room to shower and change, this would have not been a problem other than the fact we were told we could stay in the room and had left our personal belongings out in the room which had been handled and moved by god knows who.

After i got ready to leave I saw that the manager ( who was unavailable apparently) was sat at the dining area eating dinner. So I told this Indika chap to go and get her. He then changed tack to the sympathy vote. Please sir I will lose my job sir, please do not speak to her. Considering myself a reasonably decent human being I decided not to, as by this stage I just wanted to get out of there.

Upon reflection I believe that this was a ruse. He was probably told to say this to avoid a confrontation in front of the other guests. As a point of order I told him again about the lack of hot water that the room was tiny with poor ventilation and he responded that there was a room plan on the website! This is clearly not the first time people had complained. so i advise you to check the floor plan carefully before deciding on this place.

So to sum up this place was poor value for money, Tiny room, with rude and unprofessional staff. Gets one star as there is no option of putting zero.

On the plus side they have a nice dog and cat that live there and unlike the other reviewer rating this' terrible' we were not held against our will.

I have traveled extensively and stayed in Bentota several times in other hotels/ lodges and this was the only bad experience I have had with the generally friendly and helpful hoteliers and people of this beautiful island. Shame.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel. Avoid Lilly Blue rooms like the black death.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Adven2ure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and husband stayed here for just a night but we were pleasantly surprised as the place actually looks as great as their website! Peaceful setting amidst a quite lane and beautifully done up. Lovely service by the staff. If you hate the typical hotel experience this is the place to be!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FBKalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AU
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent only one night at Lilly Village but was impress by the very helpful owner and staff. Interested to go diving tomorrow? – We can arrange it for you. Need wireless modem – here it is. It is not the ocean front property but very well designed and maintained. Have a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.1 mi away
White Villa
White Villa
#40 of 79 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wimala B&B
Wimala B&B
#15 of 79 in Bentota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dimuthu Tour Inn
Dimuthu Tour Inn
#25 of 59 in Bentota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Channa Villa Bentota
Channa Villa Bentota
#22 of 79 in Bentota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chitra Ayurveda
Chitra Ayurveda
#10 of 79 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chami Villa Bentota
Chami Villa Bentota
#13 of 79 in Bentota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly Village Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly Village Boutique Hotel

Property: Lilly Village Boutique Hotel
Address: Sooriyagoda, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Bentota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilly Village Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Lilly Village the vision of Marie Cassagne a vivacious and extrovert french interior designer who has decided to make Sri Lanka, especially Bentota her home. A center of well being and harmony will enchant you in every way. The tropical village surrounded by lush greenery consists of four unique stand alone properties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing