We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bentota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amal Villa Apartments & Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Our stay in this lovely villa started off a little unconfortable,but the blame was on me because I did not read carefully the hotel rooms details.The hotel was fully booked but they offered one standard room for me.I should check that the standard room had no AC( later on I checked on the Hotel's website and they clearly say about wich room has AC) After the first night we started enjoy everything about and around the place.Bentota wasn't my No. 1 in Sri Lanka but the Hotel made it up.The garden is beautiful and well kept.The room was European standard in cleanliness.Calm and helpfull staff made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EZSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 205 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you want luxury and very helpful staff, this is for you. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, good food and a fantastic swimming pool complete the picture. One small criticism is that we'd rather have heard Sri Lankan music in the restaurant. We get plenty of the Beatles and American stuff at home!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyIslaofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Alam Villa, located in beautifull Sri Lanka, is a resort of peace and calm. The hotel, placed on a tropical garden, has a astonish swimming pool. The rooms, very large, are white and local wood in a cool minimalism way.
The people are super friendly and very dedicated to guest.
A "meditation" breakfast on the garden, looking at swimming pool and to tropical nature: you have to try it! You fell like you want to stay there all day long.
The best place in Sri Lanka so far!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

A little oasis away from the hustle and bustle - perfect spot to unwind when traveling up and down the coast. The pool and the rooms are excellent - the restaurant is ok but a little groundhog day-esq. The beach is very quite for some unknown reason however all in all a very clean slick place at a good price.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Amal Villa. (room 3)
Room was very spacious, bright and clean. The managing staffs were all very friendly.
Heard they'll have a big pool and a pool bar in Sep this year.

Their restaurant across the street serve good food. Lovely rice and curry, western meal and cocktail. Quiet, peaceful, lovely beach is only 1-2mins walk from the hotel/restaurant.
No hassling and no crowds.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wantyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

What a fantastic find! I cant rate Amal Villa enough. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the superb restaurant. Only 100 metres away from the beautiful indian ocean! Albeit you do have to cross a small road to get to the beach, this is not a problem at all and only adds to the unique location. Amal Villa make a refreshing change to the stuffy Taj and other chains of hotels dotted along the coastline. You are greeted and treated like a long lost friend. Will definately visit again (and its not often you can say that).

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojocleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Like you never left your home... :) friendly, helpful staff. Our dinners at the restaurant were outstanding. The owner is an incredible host, takes excellent care of his guests. Really makes you feel that you are AT HOME, like part of a family. The rice&curry is one of the dishes you have to try, worth waiting one hour - I'm telling you :)
If you really want to relax and enjoy your holiday -without having headaches etc- this is the place you wanna go... and just kick of your slippers and dive into the Indian Ocean......have an unforgetable holiday!!!

Thank You..... from Hungary

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank bzs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bentota hotels
0.1 mi away
Amal Beach Hotel
Amal Beach Hotel
#15 of 25 in Bentota
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.4 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rockside Beach Resort
Rockside Beach Resort
#10 of 25 in Bentota
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Paradise Road The Villa Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amal Villa Apartments & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amal Villa Apartments & Rooms

Address: 135 Galle Road | Robolgoda-Bentota, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Bentota
Price Range: $70 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amal-Villa apartments & rooms is a private-owned Boutique Hotel with a friendly family restaurant and a new spa-resort for Ayurveda treatments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amal Villa Apartments & Rooms Hotel Bentota
Amal Villa Apartments And Rooms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing