We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amal Villa Apartments & Rooms
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bentota
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Mihin Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Club Villa(Bentota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
195
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noiselobsterhalf boardinfinity poolhonesty bartranquil gardensri lankagarden roomsingle trackfresh seafoodbeach barbreakfast is servedshort walkexcellent breakfastprawnshotel restaurantrailway line
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 220 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Like you never left your home... :) friendly, helpful staff. Our dinners at the restaurant were outstanding. The owner is an incredible host, takes excellent care of his guests. Really makes you feel that you are AT HOME, like part of a family. The rice&curry is one of the dishes you have to try, worth waiting one hour - I'm telling you :)
If you really want to relax and enjoy your holiday -without having headaches etc- this is the place you wanna go... and just kick of your slippers and dive into the Indian Ocean......have an unforgetable holiday!!!

Thank You..... from Hungary

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank bzs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

This lovely, friendly little hotel is situated on the other side of the road to the restaurant and beach and so is a little confusing when arriving in the middle of the night. But when you wake up and look out onto the lovely little private garden where you can watch birds and butterflies and enjoy a lovely quiet and unhurried breakfast prepared especially for you by Rouen (who looks after you so well), you realise that this was indeed the right choice in hotels on this beautiful, unspoilt strip of coastline!

You have to cross the road and take a short walk down to the outstanding stretch of white sandy beach where again, there is a friendly welcome and someone to look after you. On the way to the beach you pass the restaurant which sends cold beer and snacks down to the beach if you feel too lazy to go and get them, and serves top quality, freshly cooked dishes on their rooftop terrace in the evening. If there is a special dish you would like to try, just let the chef know in advance and it will be ready for you when you wish to dine. The staff will also prepare you a table on the beach if you want to eat under the stars! It's no wonder they are getting so many guests from the larger neighbouring hotels choosing to dine there!

Don't be put off by the fact that there is a railway line running along the back of the beach - it is the track from Columbo to Galle with a good old fashioned train passing through - you just walk over the track - it is not a problem and it is actually quite quirky! We actually took the train down to Galle for the experience and got a driver back!

We also got married whilst staying at Amal Villas - I left the organising to Amal himself (who is Sri Lankan) and his lovely wife, Andrea who is German. We had never met them before and really had no idea what to expect. Well, they could'nt have done a better, more heartfelt job if they had tried - they helped me find material and a tayloress to make my saree style dress, a jeweller for my ring (all just 3 days before the wedding day) they took us to the notary to sort out the official paperwork and to translate into english, - in fact they took care of every little detail and our day was just so perfect - a really happy day with a lovely Sri Lankan ceremony on the beach and an elephant ride along the waters edge, a lovely lunch, and a fabulous Sri Lankan feast on the beach in the evening - memories to truly treasure forever!

Thankyou so much Amal and Andrea and all your staff - we have travelled a lot over the years but I think you made this trip the best by far!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiExton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

We got rooms at Amal Villas by chance and initially the staff was very welcoming. The place is great, 75metres from the beach, has its own sea food restaurant by the beach, and the breakfast is great. But while settling the bill, we felt we were overcharged on many counts (the rooms dont have any menus or prices)and upon questioning, were told quite curtly, that "these are European prices for Europeans". We were also told by the manager that they preferred giving away their rooms to Europeans as compared to Asians to avoid such queries. So what we gathered is:
1. If you're European, you're being overcharged;
2. If you're Asian, you're only welcome if you dont question the final bill;
3. Go through the bill with a fine-tooth comb;
Having said that, the rest of the staff is very courteous. Maybe the manager needs a little holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easygoindubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We are independent travellers, and normally avoid touristy hotels if we can. We hadn't originally planned to stay in Bentoto, but thought it might be a good idea on our way back to Colombo. We chanced upon Amal Villa by accident. There are only five rooms.
We were shown the rooms and decided to stay in the first floor room with a wraparound balcony. The room was large, spotlessly clean and the finishing was of a European standard. There were two very comfortable chairs and lots of space, a lockable safe and a luxurious bathroom. The balcony doors opened out over the back garden, which in turn extended into a small wooded area. We saw a family of monkeys one evening. The garden was very restful. We agreed a price for the room (65 Euros) which was for half board.
The beach was reached down a sandy path directly opposite the hotel. Surprisingly the beach was deserted. Amal Villa had its' own private area and a 'lad' was in attendance, setting up our sunbeds and fetching us drinks and lunch.
The sea was quite rough, but fine for youngsters close to the beach, and I had some good fun with a body board which the 'lad' fetched for me.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of fruit and fresh juice and eggs whichever way one wanted. The evening meal in the restaurant by the side of the railway line was superb. We both chose from the daily special each night (three courses) and the food was excellent. One night we were entertained by some Sri Lankan drumming which included Amal himself. Amal and Andrea were perfect hosts, always tending to our needs.
Unfortunately we ran out of time and had to head off to Colombo, but on our next visit to Sri Lanka we will book straight into Amal Villas, because it was so relaxing. There are plans to build a swimming pool (although probably not in 2009) and an Ayurvedic centre was nearing completion whilst we were staying there.
This place is ideal for a peaceful break by the sea, with some good food and excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed at Amal Villas for 10 of the 13 nights (5-3-5) in Sri Lanka. While I really want to rate the Amal experience as "Excellent", I only give that if a place is PERFECT; there were a couple very minor drawbacks, that being the lack of at least a small pool (but the beach is @ 100m away!) and the proximity to the road and therefore the traffic noise a light sleeper would notice.
Three of the six rooms are spacious and air-conditioned, offering private safes and a terrace/balcony. The atmosphere is laid back and relaxing. During our stay no more than three rooms were occupied, so the house-boy and house-girl were almost like private servants! Nice, accomodating, and only too happy to help us with whatever we desired.
Breakfast was always a bountiful plate of tropical fruits, juice and eggs/toast cooked as desired. While I ate whatever was offered as meal-of-the-day for dinner, my wife specified what she wanted for the next day, even if it wasn't something on the printed menu...and they did their best to fulfill her wishes.
The Amal properties (Villa & Restraunt) are a work in the making and I anticipate a small pool being installed in the near future. I definitely won't hesitate to pick it as my choice when next in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews