We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but quite bad for Korea”
Review of Seogwipo KAL Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seogwipo KAL Hotel
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Seogwipo
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We have stayed only for one night during short trip to Jeju. Hotel was good... probably 20 years ago, but now it is very old with old facilities and bad smell... Hotel has a nice park and is located in quite place.
Comparing to other hotels in Seogwipo, price is below average and you are receiving what you pay - service is just Ok (but staff is very friendly), breakfast is quite bad (Korean style dishes only with very limited choice) and you have to pay for everything in the room!!! It is unusual for Korea where you can expect excellent service with a lot of complimentary staff. I wasn't disappointed only because it was what I expected and there wasn't any choice for that date, but for sure i will not go there second time.
I wouldn't recommend to stay unless you just need to sleep somewhere overnight...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bask83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

Room is good with balcony, hotel surrounding is quiet and beautiful; hotel location is a little far from the restaurants and supermarkets; hotel lobby is a little out of date. If you rented a car, it will be more easily reach the places you'd visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady201052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I have no complaints about the accommodations. The room was clean with a balcony, which was nice. A little small, but it would do.

However, if you are travelling for business, I would warn you that the hotel isn't very suited for business meetings. There is no business centre per se, apart from a couple of computer terminals near the restaurant. To use them, you need to alert the restaurant staff, who are often not able to communicate in English. Also, they tend to be stingy about adding enough printer paper.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank modesttraveller30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

The KAL hotel was awesome. Had a lovely suite with 2 TVs. Huge Gardens are spectacular and very private. Food was excellent and staff so courteous.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AnnV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in April, we had no choice as the Ballantines Golf Tourmament had taken over the island.

This hotel was once one of the southern part of Jeju's 5 star hotels but you only need to travel 20 minutes up the road to be amazed at how Korea and 5 Star accommodation has moved on.

Our room was expensive tiny and tired. The hotel does have lovely gardens and is set away from the town but the pool only opens for a very short holiday season.

The Concierge was helpful and we did manage to rent a car for our 5 day exploration of Jeju.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelon202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 26, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

Spent a four night stay here in March 2008. Beautiful grounds and nice lobby. Room was pretty small but had a nice view out the balcony. Hotel is a ways from downtown but short taxi ride. Service was good. Didn't eat at the restaurant as it seemed pricey. No shampoo or conditioner but was available for purchase from the minibar. Nice down comforters on the beds.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oregonsisterstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seogwipo hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Sumorum
Hotel Sumorum
#20 of 94 in Seogwipo
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Jeju Seogwipo Harbor
1.1 mi away
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
#14 of 94 in Seogwipo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Sunshine Jeju
Park Sunshine Jeju
#11 of 94 in Seogwipo
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
M-Stay Hotel Jeju
M-Stay Hotel Jeju
#22 of 94 in Seogwipo
63 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#9 of 94 in Seogwipo
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seogwipo KAL Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seogwipo KAL Hotel

Address: 242, Chilsimni-ro, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 63599, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 94 Hotels in Seogwipo
Price Range: $73 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seogwipo KAL Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seogwipo KAL Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seogwipo KAL Hotel Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing