We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated!!!!”
Review of Lotte Hotel Jeju

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Seogwipo
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated!!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night on vacation after having a bad experience in Jeju City. I thought staying at a 5 star hotel would be a guaranteed good time...I was wrong. Shotty Korean construction makes the hotel seem old. The AC didnt work so we slept with the balcony door open, screen door closed, but still got eaten to death by all sorts of bugs. The pool was closed, which was not mentioned on the website. The staff was friendly, but no one seems to be able to communicate well in English. Even though we were American we couldn't use the casino. The restaurants were expensive and not filling. The beach was boring...couldn't swim and the lounge chairs were terribly uncomfortable. The volcano show was a joke, nothing like a Vegas show. Jeju is just not a great place to visit for Americans. We were constantly gawked at and treated differently. We went to a nearby restaurant and the service for us was terrible...but it seemed like the Chinese and Japanese tourists were being treated like royalty. I've been in Korea for 3 years and they continue to demonstrate a shallow understanding of tourist attractions and accommodations and can't seem to hide their racist tendencies. On an International level this is not a 5 star hotel. On the outside it seems great, but they lack the details you'd see at a Four Seasons or Hilton. It's not worth the 5 star price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeoly, 매니저 at Lotte Hotel Jeju, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Greetings from Lotte Hotel Jeju!
We apologize for any unpleasant experience that you have been through.
We regret that we did not reach your expectation.
At this moment , we are renovating our facilities to ensure our customer’s satisfaction.
Also, all the best will be made to enhance the level of service.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Lotte Hotel Jeju again.
We will make your accommodations more delightful and memorable on you.
Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely
Room Manager Oh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    225
    50
    16
    9
See reviews for
315
128
26
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lotte Hotel in Seogwipo is definitely a good place to stay. Good clean comfortable rooms, a very helpful staff, good location. Although... In Vegas you loose your money on the hotel and the table. Here it goes directly to the Hotel. Besides that it looks like a Vegas hotel, Dutch windmills (?!), a German Beergarten (?!), a bombastic laser/water/fire/sound show every evening about a dragon story. And than there´s the Unavoidable Terrible Music Band (UTMB) terrorizing the grounds from 5 pm till 10 pm. All and all it wasn´t too bad, but next time another one for me. Oh yeah, I forgot, the pool was undergoing unannounced maintenance and thus not available. Nice touch when you booked for a couple of days near the pool...

Room Tip: Choose a room with mountain view instead of ocean view. You will be spared the center grounds music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for only two nights and love it so much.

Like-
-nice ocean view from room
-limousine bus to the Jeju Int.Airport
-walking distance to the beautiful beach ( Jungman Beach)
-hotel public areas, the landscaping, the building and the volcano/pool are all well-kept and clean
-kid's activities areas, outdoor camping and a private beach house lounge, a duty free shop for international travelers , fitness center and a large swimming pool, night show and nightly buffet
- centrally in Seogwipo, minutes from Jeju Teddy Bear Museum and Yeomiji Botanical Garden
-free parking


Dislike-
-no free wi-fi at room
-we tried the breakfast and very good, but very expensive about US $60 for two

Room Tip: ocean view and higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I certainly cannot complain given that I had a lovely traditional Korean room and it was clean, comfortable, the bed was nice etc. I also liked the location on the beach. However it did have a crazy Disney feel to it and it was certainly tacky on the exterior. Prices were also crazy ($16 for a beer). I'd probably stay at Seaes or the Hyatt. Or if you want to stay somewhere that is decent and 1/4 the price try Euro Resort Hotel on the other side of Seogwipo. Make sure you hike the Olle by the sea and swim at the beach. Very nice. If you are on a corporate expense account there are no real downsides.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ToxOut_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Its hard to believe you are in Korea when staying here. Its a great place to stay however be prepared, the prices are definitely steep! The hotel is lovely, has a great pool, great beach, great restaurants (we only had breakfast though) and great rooms. There is a nightly fire show (very entertaining and typically over the top!) which is best viewed from the outdoor restaurant (beware the prices at this one!) or from a room that is pool facing on the lower levels (ie 2-5). The hotel is huge - our team were spread from one end to the other with some having rooms a good 5-10 min walk from the lobby! The staff are just great, welcoming, friendly and helpful. There are a couple of other restaurants close by that are worth a look - an entertaining Korean and a great chinese. Worth noting this area is really set up for conferences - there is very little else around to make it worth your stay. Overall a great place to stay if the company is paying and you're attending a nearby conference.

Room Tip: Try for a pool facing room in the main block on a lower level or the left hand wing (when facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A nice hotel with good facilities. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the kids loved the playroom and pool and i enjoyed the free Wifi in our room.
Interior looks a little bit dated compared to the Shilla hotel but it´s clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songdocheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Lotte knows what they are doing.
The grounds are immaculate, the service is excellent, and the rooms approach western style creature comforts.
The kids loved this hotel, and I can't argue with their assessment!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deciduous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#8 of 95 in Seogwipo
882 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
0.4 mi away
Kensington Jeju Hotel
Kensington Jeju Hotel
#7 of 95 in Seogwipo
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#3 of 157 in Jeju
273 reviews
9.1 mi away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
17.0 mi away
Maison Glad Jeju
Maison Glad Jeju
#2 of 157 in Jeju
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotte Hotel Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotte Hotel Jeju

Property: Lotte Hotel Jeju
Address: 35, Jungmungwangwang-ro 72beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-808, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Business Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lotte Hotel Jeju 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotte Hotel Jeju is a luxury resort of Lotte Hotels & Resorts, opened in 2000 in the heart of Jungmun Tourism Complex. The hotel features a total of 500 guest rooms, 9 restaurants, 6banquet halls, fitness center, foreigner-only casino, duty-free shop, and diverse convenience facilities. Hotel buildings are spread across mostly on a slope of land, granting a majority of the rooms a spectacular view of the charming gardens and the open sea. The world-renowned resort hotel The Palace of the Lost City in South Africa is the model of Lotte Hotel Jeju. The hotel design firm WATG was in charge of the exterior and Wilson & Associates the interior. Their collaboration resulted in an elegant and luxurious hotel emanating Korean hospitality. The magnificence of Lotte Hotel Jeju, a reminiscence of old European castles, can be felt from the facade and has drawn many tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotte Hotel Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotte Hotel Jeju City
Lotte Jeju City
Lotte Hotel Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing