We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Front on the East China Sea”
Review of Hyatt Regency Jeju

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Seogwipo
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beach Front on the East China Sea”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is on the southern side of Jeju Island, about a 30-minute bus ride from the airport, and is located on the cul-de-sac of hotel row, fronting the beach. From outside, the hotel does not grab your attention, but upon stepping into the lobby, a grand vista unfolds in the form of a ten-story+ central atrium, scenic elevators, indoor garden and aquarium (filled with giant Koi fish). The rooms access the central atrium regaling you with a spectacular view , not recommended for those with fear of heights. The rooms are spacious, however, the temperature control leaves a lot to be desired - only the heater seems to work, and airconditioning cannot be turned on (solved by opening the veranda sliding door to let in the brisk 7-10 Celsius wind). I loved the breakfast buffet at their Terrace Cafe located beside the indoor garden, with views of the beach - choices included continental, korean and japanese.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adonis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    314
    100
    40
    26
See reviews for
374
234
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My experience here was excellent. From the moment we got off the airport limousine bus, the bellboys or greeters were very courteous, trying to get our bags for us, even though I insisted I can take them. The person at the check-in desk was very friendly and even tried to use some English as my Korean is not native-level. Although you can tell the hotel and the rooms are a bit dated (maybe circa 1980s or 1990s), they are still well maintained. I saw some reviews where people said they were really tired and old looking, but I thought they were fine for what you pay for. Definitely get the rooms with the ocean views as it's worth the extra money (IMHO). The view of the ocean was just spectacular and I think it's one of the few hotels that is that close to the ocean cliffs. The Lotte and Silla hotels are probably nicer inside, but they are farther away from the water, which is why I prefer this Hyatt. If you're going to Jeju, why not get a room with a close ocean view?

I did try their restaurant or grill and the service was very good and the food was satisfactory. I think most of the staff speaks some English.

Some other positives:
+ The Avis car rental located in their business center is useful and the prices are reasonable. I would recommend renting a car (they come with English navigation) versus renting a taxi driver. Actually, you can get a taxi driver for the whole day for about 110-130,000 won a day, but just use him for the first day to get comfortable with the roads and have him take you to some small lesser known places. When you get your rental car, you just put in the phone number of the attractions and it will guide you (in Korean or English) to the destination and it will cost about 2/3 less than the taxis.

+ Hotel has airport limousine buses to and from the airport.

+ Toilets were the bidet/washlet types....always useful.

Some negatives:

- The noise in the lobby with the tourists and music can be loud for some, although it didn't really bother me. But I think they stop the music by 10pm anyways.

- I don't think they maintained the pool or fountains in the back park area...near the wedding chapel. It was all dried out and looked outdated when I was there (March '13).

- The tangerine spa was fully booked for three consecutive days when we were there. Bummer...we wanted to try the spa treatment.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, even if it costs extra. It's better than getting a view of the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taichung, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went to Jeju island without a detailed plan. The staff there was really great with very good advice for our visiting schedule in Jeju island. We are from Taiwan and the Mandarin-speaking staff helped us a lot, especially for the questions of transportation from point to point. She even made a bargain with the taxi driver for island surrounding trip. Other staff were great, too. I experienced very good service with taxi pick-up, luggage carry, and so on. We also experienced the service of free-shuttle to contract restaurant of Hyatt for dinner, which was a great offer to us.

The buffet breakfast was really great, with diverse options. Both western and Asian style are excellent. You can definitely find the food you like there.

For the room, we booked two ocean view rooms (western style) and the scenery was really great and worth it. Although the hotel might be a bit out-to-date, concerning the facilities in the room, quality is still there.

The garden at beach side is very good for a morning walk after the enjoyable breakfast. The hotel has a great view to the ocean, although it's a bit away from any convenient store.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophiews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the lotte resort in 2006. It was a wonderful, modern, Las Vegas style resort. We decided to switch it up this time because we did not want to get tied up to a package.

In many ways, this hotel is well beyond your typical Asian hotel. But as a westerner paying on average 300/night, I found it to be incredibly lacking.

Upon arrival, our room smelled like mothballs. The beds were a bit stiff and small. I am only 5'4" and my feet barely stayed on the bed. The hotel is an old hotel and the remodeling was more of a redecoration.

The indoor pool was cold and the kids room was cute but tiny. The casino was sparse. Although, my entire party walked away with money.

That being said... I have to praise the staff. They are very polite and bilingual. They are accommodating. The breakfast was wonderful. I had three plates every morning. It was very delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intspyop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

What we loved - lovely ocean view (should one book the ocean view rooms), wonderful buffet breakfast spread, very pretty ocean view garden to take a stroll in.

What was nice & adequate - spacious rooms with balcony, close by to sights and attractions of the south and south western parts of Jeju.

What we did not fancy - outdated feel of Hyatt.

To be fair, this was just after coming from a three night stay at Lotte Seoul, so naturally the comparison was to compare one five star establishment to the other. But we reckon this would not be fair to Hyatt Jeju since it probably was build much earlier and harks from a different five star hotel era. This is evident from the semi-glass capsule type lifts that are common of that time, as well as the furniture, fixtures and fittings.

Nevertheless, Hyatt Jeju gives us a feel of its old charm and my wife remarked it was probably among the best on Jeju when it's doors first opened.

The hotel appears to be a favorite among couples seeking to hold their weddings there as it even has its own little Rainbow Chapel and arches for couples to walk down the aisle. A sweet touch.

The hotel garden makes for a lovely after breakfast or evening stroll and one gets a panoramic view of Jungmun beach and the ocean that stretches to the horizon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLHS-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

i didn't expect at all bc some comments saying its old hotel blah blah.. but i booked very last minute like 2 days before. but i could have upgrade room! I stayed 3nights in March and it was amazing.
they have brand new Korean tradition room with heating wood floor. it's not carpet.
The ocean view was fantastic at 5th floor. I tried also spa treatment and it's so refresh too.
Also, i had breakfast and dinner. they have special menu for dinner which is spring salad special and it SO GOOD! its course menu! around $40. i enjoyed the rice cake too at the end.
I would stay here again coming fall.

Room Tip: if you never had experience at heating wood floor then try out. I stayed at 5th floor with ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detailko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for a night last weekend at the Hyatt and had a very nice experience. The staff does go out of its way to make you feel welcome. The location on the beach is fantastic and there are shops, tourist attractions and restaurants a short walk away, keep in mind that you have to walk uphill to get there so you may also want to consider a cab. The restaurant had a nice selection of foreign and local items and was reasonably priced. The rooms are a decent size, although the one we were in was beginning to show its age and could have used a touch up. Overall this was a nice hotel and we are looking forward to staying there again if we return to Jeju.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadochicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.4 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#3 of 86 in Seogwipo
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kensington Jeju Hotel
Kensington Jeju Hotel
#6 of 86 in Seogwipo
234 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
17.4 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#2 of 152 in Jeju
260 reviews
25.9 mi away
Haevichi Hotel & Resort Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jeju

Property: Hyatt Regency Jeju
Address: 114, Jungmungwangwang-ro 72 beon-gil, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 63535, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seogwipo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
#3 Business Hotel in Seogwipo
#5 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Jeju 4.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Jungmun Resort Complex, the hotel overlooks and has direct access to Jungmun Beach. Close to all tourist attractions, the hotel is a five-minutes drive to the Jeju International Convention Centre and the Jungmun Golf Club.Accomodation - 223 spacious guestrooms and suitesMeeting & Event Space - The hotel has 665m2 of flexible event space with two meeting rooms accomodating up to 400 guests. Alternative outdoor venues offer 3,697m2 of space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jeju Hotel Seogwipo
Hyatt Regency Seogwipo
Hyatt Regency Hotel Jeju
Hyatt Jeju City
Hyatt Regency Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing