We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Shilla Jeju
Nearby Hotels
$260
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Jeju(Seogwipo)
$194
$140
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$304
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jejueco Suites(Seogwipo)
$121
$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
391
189
49
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
189
49
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsband playingoutdoor poolbeach accesskorean restaurantyoung familiespool sideteddy bear museumsea viewgreat resortbreakfast buffet isairport busplaystationshillaislandgymconferencesamsung
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 660 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed 4 nights. Booked via internet.

The hotel architecture is with litte local charm, but pleasantly designed in a western way.
Our room was over 30-40m2 mountain side with balcony as booked.
So did not expect to have sea view but actually it was partial seaview once out on the balcony. They probably gave such a nice room because of LHW membership?
Quiet as requested except one busy WE night. Maybe the wall is not thick enough, but they may have vacated next doors for the quiet nights?

Facilities such as indoor and outdoor heated swimming pool as well as sauna and public bath (not hot spring) are excellent, especially nice as we had not much luck with weather.

Our booking plan was breakfast inclusive. We tried both buffet and Korean,two mornings for each. Breakfast at the Korean restaurant was savoury. The buffet was also nice.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel restaurants. Three choices to eat in dinner : western buffet, Korean and Japanese restaurant, room service. We ate out two nights. and ordered room service two other nights. We did not dine at the hotel restaurant because we dislike buffet for dinner, the other restaurant menu did not attract us (felt can not eat light).

Room service was very good, Korean grilled pork especially. Western lamb was not upto my taste.

We took a taxi to have dinner within the same Jungmung resort area one night. Taxi fare is reasonable enough for eating out within such distance.

We did some walking along the coast two mornings and liked it. We hope to trek in Mt. Halla, but the weather did not allow biginners like us to dare. We instead hire a car with driver for sightseeing. Concierge helped to arrange it with itinerary and even with the non English speaking driver, it went very well.

We also went to the hotel casino, but it was almost empty so left quickly. Casino is not allowed for Korean nationals and few foreign guests then.

English speaking staff are concentrated in the reception and concierge area. We experienced some difficulties at the swimming pool area and when ordering room service. Better to ask for an English speaking staff before it becomes too complicated.

In-room Internet is at a charge.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Only one word to describe this hotel: WOW. The rooms are simply amazing! The bathroom is huge, even has a window giving into the room (this is not a good thing although if you travel with a collegue or a friend). The service is also perfect and the restaurants are very good. However it is very expensive. I strongly recommend the Shilla Jeju if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I went to the Lotte hotel too and the shilla is much better. Clean and big rooms. Not really close to anything so if you're looking to relax at the hotel this is great. I rented a driver for $130 000 won to drive me around to all the popular sites for 8 hrs, highly recommend this, the hotel will give you more information. Beautiful hotel. Hotel food is expensive so bring some snack of your own and don't eat at the hotel they will arrange for you to go to nearby restaurants that send a car free of charge to pick you up and drop you off. only go in the summer months or it is too cold.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Our stay at the Shilla didn't get off to the best of starts as we were offered a room with a King size bed instead of the twin room we had confirmed. But we were put into a Korean style room (heated flooring, no chairs) with a queen and single for our first night and promised a Western style twin room for the next two should we wish to move. We did, largely because we found the Korean room a little too warm, but it was comfortable and I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere that "blacked out" so well. The western room was fine and as we'd also been upgraded to a seaview, rather than mountain view as booked, we were very happy. The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was sumptuous, as was the evening buffet. It was also helpful that we could use breakfast coupons towards other meals, since our early departure on the last day precluded us having breakfast at the hotel. Given that the weather was appalling throughout our stay, we had a real chance to appreciate the hotel's attractions and comforts. In summer it would be really fantastic I'm sure.

We were able to walk to a few nearby attractions, but without a car it was difficult to get further afield. Internet was free for first half hour, and could be accessed at different times of the day and evening.

This is a 5 star hotel and the prices reflect this. But as a special getaway it has a lot of appeal, and there are enough other quality hotels nearby that you can have a change of scenery restaurant-wise should you wish.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janem25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We went to the Jeju this past weekend to spoil our 3 year old boy -- we checked in on Friday and departed Sunday.

We wanted as little stress as possible, so we booked the best hotel. Shilla has a very good reputation in Korea, especially the one in Seoul. The quality of the rooms, the quality of service at the restaurants were all within expectations - very high level in both respects. Room service menu was somewhat bare (no dessert???) but if you ask for ice cream, they make one for you. The pizza, Cobb salad and Beef with Veggies over Rice were all very good.

However, there were some additional surprises that were nice. They had a neat program on Sunday to take families orange picking at an orchard run by the local district government - great for kids. We picked a box of organic oranges and shipped it home to Seoul. Plus, the indoor/outdoor pools were open (in November) and swimming trunks were available to borrow. The kicker was when we had lunch at the Japanese restaurant, and my son started to get tired of the food after only a few mouthfuls. We were stunned when the waitress whipped out a balloon and shaped it into a dog and gave it to my boy in return for him promising to finish his lunch. As wiley as my young one is, this floored him and we had a very nice peaceful lunch. It's these types of touches that really make the place stand out. The Saturday evening buffet was also great.

The only down side for the hotel was the bed. We booked under our Korean names and that may have led the hotel to give us a room with a very hard bed. I understand some hotels in Korea have different rooms for locals and foreigners, with the former getting hard beds. I encountered this with another hotel in Inchon. I sould make sure to ask for the "Westerner" bed the next time I book at a hotel in Korea. Other than this, no other issues.

OK. There was one more. With the flu going around, more and more couples in Korea are taking the safe route and taking their honeymoon in places like this hotel. So, be warned if you are up late, there may be some *private* noises you may hear through the balcony from a room above or next to you...

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammedyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews