We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine & luxurious hotel with kind and fast service”
Review of The Shilla Jeju

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shilla Jeju
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Seogwipo
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine & luxurious hotel with kind and fast service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been in this hotel with my family, not with business purpose.
Je-ju island is one of famous resort places in East Asia region.
Though there are many hotels and resorts in Je-ju island, Shilla hotel is definitely one of best luxurious hotels. Facilities are well organized. Room is little bit old but cozy. Employees are kind and response customer very fast. For example, when I order meal at pool side, it usually takes quite long time at some hotels in South-east Asia. But I got impressed fast service in Shilla hotel. It may due to Korean’s diligent and favorable character.
Hotel Shilla has a private beach. It’s calm and beautiful but very difficult to approach. Especially in case of coming back to hotel, People have to climb cliff and long stairs.
Hotel Shilla has a beautiful coastal walk path. I recommend taking a walk in morning.
The breakfast menu of Shilla hotel is quite good. Never get up late nor miss breakfast.
For someone who wants to have pleasant vacation with family, I can delightingly recommend Shilla hotel.

Room Tip: Don't need to insist ocean view room. mountain view room is also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    172
    46
    13
    14
See reviews for
237
142
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at The Shilla for 2-nights in November. Since it was the beginning of winter, the weather was rather windy and cold, and it was quite a shame because we noticed there are many outdoor activity options provided by the hotel. Location wise, its quite far from the city centre, about 40mins drive. However, its just walking distance to the chocolate museum and the teddy bear museum (which have nothing to shout about actually). The land area of the hotel is HUGE, and its located on a cliff by the sea. Walking to the beach would take a little bit more effort. Since im travelling with a toddler, i find the hotel quite baby-friendly. They have a mini zoo/farm that displays rabbits, chipmunks, chickens, ducks etc. My 2-year old loved it. The outdoor camping area is also something that needs mentioning, because this is the first that I've come across. They have about 6 modern tents built around a modern bonfire, and you can have BBQ in the evening. Its also brilliant to have a playground area nearby, where kids can keep themselves busy while the adults enjoy their evening. They have a game centre for kids which included Gymboree, cooking lessons, mini wall climbing, WII games, etc. (some need some prior reservations though). It has an indoor swimming pool, but it was quite odd because everytime we passed by, the access is closed (even though we see some ppl swimming inside). We tried the sauna, and was quite surprised that it was chargeable (usually saunas are free in the hotels we've stayed in...). oh, and you also have to wear their provided "uniform" in the gym.

The room was just average, nothing spectacular. Their breakfast spread was very good, and its quite worth the price if you're a heavy breakfast eater. We tried the room service menu, and the food was not bad, however vegetarian/seafood options are quite limited for us.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would not hesitate to check-in again if we visit Jeju Island next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azahn-aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went there during winter was fun. I thought it wouldnt be as fun, but thanks to Shilla Jeju that they have so many activities during winter.

The heated pool was great, open air jacuzzi with a TV, cool band playing cool songs, etc.

The room was good but not great, spacious, and clean. The view was fantastic overlooking the garden and sea.

The breakfast was GREAT! So many selections of food and the restaurant is huge.
The staffs were great.

Too bad the casino was not ready when i was there, but overall i love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suryo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Shilla Jeju for 3 nights. We were accommodated in the new wing of the hotel, on the top floor, our rooms facing the sea. The view was great. The room itself was quite spacious, and comfortable, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge and seemed modern.

The swimming pool and the surrounding area was decked out in a cozy, and thoughtful way.

The buffet is supposed to be famous, and we weren't disappointed at all.

Service was great, staff were very friendly, and spoke English well.

The only complaint we had was with the animals that were caged in the animal viewing area. . The area was not cleaned on a daily basis. The turtles seemed to be bummed out with this.

Overall, a very pleasant trip.

Room Tip: Book a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed the Jeju Shilla hotel about 3days and i would say it was a pleasant experience to my family. Because the room was clean warm enough and the sea view was very nice. I think they were trying to hard to impress us because the hotel constantly offer event, which was the wine event. The event was good and of course it was free to us. The view from my room was fantastic i can't forget that because the winter sea was good. But, i say the price was a bit expensive. Yeah. If you go to thr island, you may consider you stay at the Shilla hotel. That's it.

Room Tip: You should insist you get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seungchul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed 3 nites at The shilla Jeju . Our rooms were a deluxe double, facing the sea. However, coming from Lotte Hotel Seoul where we stayed for 4 nites, the rooms at The shilla were instantly disappointing. Even our teenaged children commented "This hotel feels very cheap n basic !) I know this is a resort hotel n the furnishings , I supposed, r supposed to reflect resort living but the furniture n bed, tables, lounge chair all didnt look luxurious, very unbecoming of a luxury-class hotel. ( Hey I know what expensive rattan furniture shd look like!). The toilet accessories r a bare minimum- no tooth brushes, no shaver. For a hotel charging more than $USD 500 a nite, the room n ungenerous toilet accessories came as an unpleasant shock. This hotel is v busy n u hear noisy guests talk along corridors. The hotel reception looks pretty luxurious but dont be fooled. What was worse was the hotel booklet describing the hotel facilities etc r ALL in Korean, causing us to wonder what we r missing out. N we did missed the complimentary wine tour because we didnt know that the tour is only in the evening ! (lost on us!!!) Even the toilet bidet is in Korean. The tv channels r mainly Korean with no translated channels unlike those at The Lotte. Since it has been around for a long time, it just tells u that English-speaking travellers are not welcome there.
I would never trust The Shilla brand ever again!

Room Tip: English-speaking travellers- just keep away if u dont want to be miserable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mordecai12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been in the Shilla hotel Jeju in the beginning of December, this year, only for 3 days, but I have a feeling of a long-long total relax!
The ambiance was so unforgettable! Everything was perfect! I loved the place, the staff attitude, the room (the simplest one, but very spacious, with mountain view, in the main building). The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Everything is so thoughtful for the perfect rest, and even in the beginning of winter - the hotel was
full of Korean just married couples (loving Jeju isle and visiting it by tradition), families with children, grandmothers and grandfathers, Japanese tourists and a small quantity of western people who know the secret of the place.
The territory around the hotel is so beautiful! - Sea, mountains, sand beach, tropical garden, open swimming pool (the indoor swimming pool is nice also), jacuzzi, sauna, a lot of place to relax. Incredible views! The tangerine trees full of fruits (the season)! You can enjoy tangerines for free - in the lobby of the hotel, every day.
The WI-FI is free, easy and efficient.
The music near the open swimming pool area was not disturbing and not late.
The choice of food was very large, eastern and western, even in the buffet - everything was delicious! I discovered and enjoyed the Korean breakfast - very healthy, and surprisingly for me - no spicy (you can add the spicy sauce, if you like it). The famous Jeju green tea is absolutely amazing! I had the impression to lose weight even after almost one week in Republic of Korea (my clothes became too big).
The transportation is easy (the Limousine bus from the airport is cheap - about 5 USD, it takes about 50 minutes; the buses arrive every 20-30 minutes, you can ask on the reception). The nearest small living area is about 10-15 minutes by walk, with the small markets and restaurants and funny museums - like Teddy bear museum - I haven't time to visit it in my short trip). The possibility of travel around the isle of Jeju - is easy - the buses or the guided tours.
About the room service - just one advice - be careful about the things near the tea and coffee facilities! The are NOT FOR FREE! (The perfume, the brand-name underwear, the big soap and even the toothpaste, toothbrush (!) et cetera - read carefully the price list!). It was a little bit strange - the first minute after seeing that, I just thought it was an incredible 5-star "first class" free stuff. Do not be mistaken and do not open it before reading the price instruction!
Yes, the prices in the hotel are high, but if you decide to choose this hotel for the special occasion (or business trip), you will not regret and will remember it.

Room Tip: I can't say anything about sea view and garden view rooms (they are more expensive, than mine wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EkaterinaA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.2 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#3 of 86 in Seogwipo
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#8 of 86 in Seogwipo
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kensington Jeju Hotel
Kensington Jeju Hotel
#7 of 86 in Seogwipo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
17.2 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#2 of 151 in Jeju
258 reviews
17.4 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shilla Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Jeju

Property: The Shilla Jeju
Address: 72beon-Gil | Jungmungwanggwang-Ro, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-807, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Business Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Family Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Jeju 5*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Shilla Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Jeju Hotel Seogwipo
Shilla Cheju Hotel Seogwipo
Shilla Cheju Seogwipo
The Shilla Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing